looking at buying a nissan patrol

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 23:06
ThreadID: 26251 Views:13610 Replies:13 FollowUps:22
Hi. You guys have been so helpful in the past that I thought I would ask for a bit of your expertise again!
We are looking at purchasing either a nissan patrol 3 litre or a new hilux dual cab turbo deisel.
We have seen a DX 2005 patrol with just a few ks on the clock and it looks very nice and drives well . We also like the new hilux and have driven one while away ( our other car broke down) when we hired one for a couple of thousand kms.

Just how reliable is the 3 litre nissan patrol motor and how does it tow ? We tried it breifly, but would love some input from experienced owners. What do you think?
We know the hilux is powerful and the nissan is not a common rail deisel, and realise that there will be some differences there. However we like the space in the nissan and the engine in the toyota!! Confusing isnt it!!!
We welcome any input and advice on the reliability fuel economy etc of these. Also what are resale figures like for the nissan 3 litre? I think the new hilux would be pretty good.

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 23:30

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 23:30
Are you sure about the Nissan 3.0 not being a common rail?
AnswerID: 128973

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 23:37

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 23:37
The GU 3.0TD is not common rail, but is electronically controlled direct injection.

FollowupID: 383493

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 23:36

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 23:36
Hi Lenni,

I have a 2003 GU 3.0TD with a Dtronic and regularly tow my 1.6T van. I have found the 3.0TD to be a great tow vehicle, heaps of grunt (420Nm with Dtronic) and great economy. It has significantly more power/torque than my 80 series 1HZ, hills that were 3rd gear in the 80 are 5th gear in the GU.

As far as reliabilty goes, I have done 45,000kms and haven't had any trouble. The early 3.0TD's were a worry, but since the series 3, Nissan seems to have the motor well sorted. But, like any mechanical device, there is the odd report of the occasional hiccup, but no more than any other modern motor (unlike the early 3.0TD's that still represent a large proportion of complaints).

I haven't driven the new Hilux 3.0TD, but by all reports its a great motor. Its a later design than the Nissan so i would expect it to have better power/torque. As for resale of the 3.0TD, check www.redbook.com.au and you will see it holds its value very well, especially with the price of petrol these days.

AnswerID: 128974

Follow Up By: lenni - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 23:46

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 23:46
Thanks for your response captain.
How powerful is the nissan on hills towing without the dtronic?
I like the nisan, the dx was nice inside though the extra airbag aand abs brakes would be good.
Thanks again and by the way what fuel consumption do you get on your nissan?
Regards Lenni
FollowupID: 383494

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 00:04

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 00:04
I put the Dtronic on more for the bottom end increase in power (was a bit suggish below 1200rpm before). Towing without the Dtronic is fine power wise, but you need to slip the clutch too much IMHO when taking off, the dtronic fixed this. Note that I had 285/75 (33") tyres fitted when i bought the vehicle, the standard 265/70 (31") tyres may lower the gearing sufficiently that take-off is fine without the Dtronic.

As an example of the bottom end torque increase, when reversing my van up my drive in low range, I needed to use more revs and slip the clutch or the motor would stall. With the Dtronic, I can now simply idle up my drive in low range when backing the van in.

I have the 2nd airbag and ABS, simply would not buy a vehicle without ABS as they are MUCH safer IMHO (ABS in my wifes car saved her and the kids once- would not look at a vehicle without it now).

Around town I average 11.3 l/100kms and get the high 10's when in the country. When towing i average 15.7 l/100kms, but thats sitting on 100km/hr, others report better economy when towing but I am normally pretty loaded up (bikes, Kayak, ect...).

FollowupID: 383498

Follow Up By: Patrick - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 04:25

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 04:25
The Captains comments absolutely mirror my feelings on the Patrol. They are a wonderful vehicle both around the City and when towing our 1.8 ton van. Excellent fuel economy and pulling power. Definately use a D-tronic as it certainly does offer bottom power increases.

FollowupID: 383506

Follow Up By: angler - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 21:30

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 21:30
I concurr with the Captain. I have a series three 3 litre patrol auto and find it really excellent in every way. We tow a 2 tonne plus van and get around 15 to 16L/100 and similar to Captain round town The only thing I noticed with the Dtronic is the better low end power. There was plenty at higher revs anyway so you don't use the extra much there. There were very few early models that had engine failures and these were mostly government vehicles anyway.

bycompass.com
FollowupID: 383658

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 23:48

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 23:48
My auto 3.0 patrol (no dtronic) eats hills, even with the camper on!!
AnswerID: 128977

Follow Up By: lenni - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 23:55

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 23:55
We are just worried about buying another car that dosnt like hills. Our Discovery 1995 tdi tows well but it is slow... and we dont want that again!
Sounds as though the patrol is pretty good though. I have read a lot about patrols being too heavy for the motor size however people seem pretty happy with them.
FollowupID: 383496

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 00:12

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 00:12
Its funny how many people say that the 3.0TD is too small for the Patrol, but its only non-owners who quote this. My brother-in-law has an 80 series 4.5 petrol and we were both suprised when my 3.0TD had noticeably better roll-on acceleration, both on the flat and up hills. When we compared performance on the beach, I was able to leave him behind, especially when we got to the fuel station!!!!

There are others on this site who have owned both the GU 4.2TD and the 3.0TD and they prefer the 3.0TD for towing. I have never owned the 4.2TD so cannot comment on this, but compared to my 80 series 4.2 na, the 3.0TD leaves it for dead.

I do not want to get into a debate about a 4.2TD vs 3.0TD, just saying that the towing ability of the 3.0TD belies its cubic capacity.

FollowupID: 383499

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 10:27

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 10:27
i test drove the new pathfinder, the diesel gets 400nm at 2000rpm, 10L city driving and is rated at 3 tonnes towing. I thought it drove really well, it has 130kw, 20 more than the diesel hilux i think. I also drove the hilux but thought the interior quality was sub standard to pathfinder. The petrol pathfinder is a rocket ship but heavy on juice i suspect and less nm than the diesel.
FollowupID: 383528

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 00:12

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 00:12
Just how reliable is the 3 litre nissan patrol motor and how does it tow

if u try hard and search, you may only get 2000 hits to the search
AnswerID: 128980

Follow Up By: DARREN - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 12:17

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 12:17
........yawn
FollowupID: 383537

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 13:39

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 13:39
Good answer. You must have studies all day to come up with that.
FollowupID: 383554

Follow Up By: DARREN - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 17:25

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 17:25
Stop it, I'm falling asleep
FollowupID: 383600

Reply By: Blaze - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 00:13

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 00:13
Only problem I have heard about that is pretty common on the 3ltr Nissan is the Air Mass Sensor going which makes them loose all pulling power, not a problem getting it replaced under warranty as long as your dealer will except it is the problem. Have heard of dealers doing stacks work on vehicles before having them dyno tested only to the Air Mass Sensor is the problem. Have a mate with one that had the Sensor replaced then we did 13,000k's through Tanami, GRR and Savanagh Way towing a Camper and boat with an all up weight of over 4 ton, over loaded in my mind, but he had no problems.
AnswerID: 128982

Reply By: Tuff60 - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 00:20

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 00:20
To start with I am a die hard Toyota fan. But I found the 3lt Patrol motor fine when towing my boat(1700kg) with 4 guys and gear on long distances. Good economy and reasonable overtaking power. And it hurts to say that the Patrol leaves the new HiLux's for dead in the bush in stock form. The Patrol is now the tougher work horse, and less likely to leave bits of itself behind when the going gets a bit rough.
AnswerID: 128985

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 03:01

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 03:01
I havnt seen any new hiluxes around on minesites So just tonight I asked my mate from Kalgoorlies largest mine if there were any there and the reply wasd they had just managed to run the last of the old P.O.S out of town and it was unlikely that those new ultra soft whatevertheyares would be getting a look in. Many a mine manager has tried to cut costs by using Hiluxes only to limp back to a real vehicle and with the new ones not being a patch on the old they have well and truly lost the Mining and Exploration dollar
FollowupID: 383502

Reply By: madCrow - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 02:14

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 02:14
Hi lenni
OK a Nissan Patrol or a Hilus.
Things to consider when buy/choosing your new truck.
How well does it tow?
How well do it go up hills?
What types of surfaces are going to driven?
How long do you intend to keep it?
The cost of repair parts & labour?
Reliability, strength, fuel economy?
Most important speak to mechanics about what they repair, what they drive & what they recommend.
Resale value?
Do you really need the newest one on market? OK they come with a warranty.
But consider one, say 18 months old, it's still got the remainder of it new car warranty, plus you can get (if you go through the same type vehicle dealer) an extended warranty, a further 2 years on top of your warranty. That's pretty cool.
Plus also if the trucks fitted up with some of the extras you want an added bonus.
If its been used mainly in the country areas good, country miles put less wear & tear on a motor than city miles, start, stop, start, stop, start, stop.
All of this & you can save 15 to 20 thousand dollars. Part of this saving will come from some pretty hard bargaining with the dealer. Just think of what you can do/get with your savings!
So it means you can look comfortable at Patrol ST's.
Buying brand new means that you are prepared to loose $5,000 as soon as you drive out the dealer’s gates with you new vehicle. If you don't believe me try it out.
I sound a bit cynical but I just want you to make the best deal for yourselves that you can.
On the motors though the Patrol 3.0L is cool those who drive series 2, 3, 4 love them, personal I'm a Patrol 4.2L diesel man.

Best of luck with your search, discovery & purchase of your next beast.

madCrow
AnswerID: 128989

Reply By: Chaz - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 07:47

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 07:47
Hi Lenni,
Although there is a far bit of criticism about the 3.0L Patrol, due to their early problems with reliability, I would have to say the 3.0L Patrol so far is the best vehicle that I have ever towed with.
The 3.0L doesn’t have to work hard to pull well up hills and surprisingly, it doesn’t rev very high when cruising. (See bottom pic) I haven’t yet found a 3’0L Patrol owner that was unhappy with his cars towing ability.
I regularly drive a 100 series (non turbo) and have used many other company cars for towing, but none of them come close. I would imagine only 1 would be better, but it’s around $20k more.
Comparing the Patrol to Hilux is chalk and cheese, easy choice if you want comfort and space.

Chaz
AnswerID: 129001

Follow Up By: G.T. - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 15:34

Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 15:34
Chaz --I see that you have a manual lock up fitted to your torque convertor. Can you please supply me with more info re this like :-
A. How much?
B. Who fits them?
C. Can all autos have them?
D. Any other relevant info you can think of.

Thanks in advance. Sorry to hi jack this post. Regards G.T.
FollowupID: 384144

Follow Up By: Chaz - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 18:58

Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 18:58
Hi G.T.
To answer your questions first,
How Much?
I think, around $50 all up. The relays were about $11ea and the switches about $10ea.
Who fits them?
If you don’t think you could do it yourself, then you could take the circuit to an auto electrician, and I’m sure he would do it for you.
Can all autos have them?
Certainly all or most autos with electric lock up converters should be suitable. I have fitted them to Nissan and Turbo700 transmissions, and I know you can get a kit for the Landcruiser also.
Any other relevant info?
If your considering fitting it to a 4 speed GU Patrol, then most of what you need is HERE.
If you are after a kit, you can get one HERE, but believe me, they are easy to make up, and all the parts are readily available.
The kits that you buy from Wholesale Automatics are a bit basic in that they only allow you to turn the converter lock on and off through a dash switch. The one that I have is switched on with your left foot and off by touching the brake pedal. I prefer to do it this way because it allows you to lock and unlock while shifting gears, as well as unlocking every time you use the brakes to stop, so you don’t stall the motor.
There is a bit more info on Post 26261 and if you need any more help, you can call or email. My details are on my website.

HERE,z</a
FollowupID: 384179

Reply By: Member - The Crow (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 08:08

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 08:08
I am on my second 3ltr patrol 05 series iv this one the last one 02 series 3 have had 3 lancruisers before I wouldn't go back to a cruiser. I had the 1hz motor in my last 80 series cruiser turboed by DTS and the patrol is a lot more responsive than the cruiser ever was.
200 Series V8 Diesel
Thanks for the Rest Flying West and Flying Very Low along the track not coming back. The Crow

AnswerID: 129007

Reply By: Leroy - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 12:35

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 12:35
I'd buy the Hilux if you need a ute. Hard to clean the cow manure off the interior when you get a load for the garden lol

Leroy
AnswerID: 129046

Follow Up By: Patrol Freak (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 13:19

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 13:19
Yeah hilux make good sh*t carts
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 383544

Reply By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 18:22

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 18:22
lenni i have a nissan 6wheeler my 2nd, it is a 2004 4.2 but as a boat builder 2 of my clinets NSW fisheries & nsw maritime both use 3ltrs nissan to tow our crafts Average weight 1800kg & they certainly tow well & tow better than the standard 4.2ltr untill the weight is greater than 2200kg. the early ones had trouble but the last year i have herd of no one have anything but great comments & they give them hell. Lenni remember that when you tow its not only how much power you have. I picked the nissan again becasue every toyota ive had has had gear box & transfer box problems & the nissans have had none the last one did over 600,000klms & i tow a lot, the patrol with up to1500 kgs on its back & up to 4500kgs towing behind (legal 6x4). the kids or workers have leg room try that with a hilux & any one in the back kids or worker get grumpy quickly
AnswerID: 129121

Reply By: DavidT - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 18:36

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 18:36
I hope it is not to late to ad my bit

Yes i have a 2002 GU 3.0 litre Manual

Well it has been great, we have towed our camper trailer to innaminka and Birdseville via walkers crossing it is a great TRUCK good on fuel comfort is excellant.
we did a couple of mods on it i would not go past putting a good set of springs and shocks we went the 2" lift this is ample for touring the ride is terrific compared to the factory set up we have just clocked up 100000 kms and yes we have just replaced the clutch ouch a bit expansive. Apparently that amount of k's is good out of the clutch. It is a bit clunky driving it around the city and because i use it for work it will be up 4 sale soon because i depreciate it. It has always been well serviced and loved.

Now my next dilema what do i get to replace it, shock horror i have been looking at a TD prado and adding a lift plus more goodies but what i am worried is the insurance i have always watched the value of the GU and what i owe on it because i lease it, it has always been valued more than what i ow which is great incase of an accident but the price of the prado wich would work out more than a new GU surprisingly talking to insurance companies when you querry the value of a 1 year old TD Prado it drops quite a bit more.

Food for thought still not sure which way i will turn did think about a GX tricked up

Dave T
AnswerID: 129124

Follow Up By: DARREN - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 08:55

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 08:55
Dave, what's a clutch worth? I am up to 65,000k's and starting to wonder.
FollowupID: 383700

Follow Up By: DavidT - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 22:24

Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 22:24
Hi Darren
I had mine replaced by a clutch specialist, he said that the dual mass flywheel had to much play in it so we replaced this as well in the end it cost $3000 so being a bit miffed
and had extended warranty i took it up with nissan head office, they reffered me to a nissan dealer, they said that if it was them they would not have replaced the flywheel so i am stuck with a spare flywheel . the clutch specialist swears blind it is outside the tolerance, so if i was to do the exercise again i would take it to nissan and get them to do it they had quoted me roughly $1350, but if you price the genuine flywheel i got it at a good deal.
I have heared about people fitting solid flywheels in their 3.0 litres which is a cheaper alternative, but i dont know what they would be like.
FollowupID: 383966

Follow Up By: DARREN - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 09:32

Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 09:32
Thanks David, very handy info.
FollowupID: 384105

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 10:06

Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 10:06
Hi Dave,

Interested to know what symptoms you had that the clutch was going/gone?
$1650 makes for a very expensive flywheel.

Darren,

Chatting to a bloke with a 2.8td GU and he put in a solid flywheel and reckons he vehicle has never been smoother.

Leroy
FollowupID: 384113

Follow Up By: DavidT - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 18:46

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 18:46
Hi Leroy

When you are driving say up a hill you will feel the revs go up but you are slowing down believe me when this happens you will know
I suppose if your car is not covered by any warranty then maybe put in a solid flywheel but i was worried re ext warranty so i bit the bullet and stuck the dual mass flywheel in it take the chance and give it to nissan they will probbly put in just the clutch.
I could just see if i put in the solid flywheel in then had other issues they would point to the flywheel who knows

any way i have a pretty good dual mass flywheel in the garrage if any wants to buy it??????????????

Dave T
FollowupID: 384732

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 20:27

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 20:27
Thanks for that Dave. I have heard when it gets to that stage where the clutch is slipping the flywheel is stuffed! Leeking oil, can't be machined etc. Will see in the future I supose!

Leroy
FollowupID: 384743

Reply By: snailbate - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 21:22

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 21:22
hi lenni
look else where
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 129173

Follow Up By: muzzgit (WA) - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 23:40

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 23:40