Utes vs Wagons......for touring

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 20:54
ThreadID: 26751 Views:6217 Replies:10 FollowUps:17
My wife and I intend to do a round trip up to Darwin and back through WA and the Nullabor.

We have a dual cab ute with a canopy that we plan to go in but I'm interested in hearing from those that have done long trips in wagons and utes with their pro's and cons.

Most folk seem to go on long trips in wagons so I'm wondering is it just "horses for courses" or is there an advantage of going in a wagon.

A friend recently bought a 100 series and he was dissappointed with the space in the back for gear and the load carrying capacity compared to his older Hilux dual cab

Reply By: gramps - Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 21:09

Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 21:09
Did a three week trip in a Hilux ute with SWMBO ( around 8,000ks). Comfortable enough for the two of us and all our gear without having to resort to roofracks etc.

A wagon would be more comfortable but as you've said, storage can be a problem
AnswerID: 131749

Follow Up By: Tony F - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 21:06

Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 21:06
banjodog
Sorry to differ, but it is much the same as the maritime regs, you can only carry the same amount of persons as you have lifejackets to the vessels stated capacity. If you want to only take 2 people and load up with gear all is good as long as there are two lifejackets, same applies to the road, as for getting a certificate because you removed the other seats sounds like a bit of bull to me. Anyway happy camping or boating whichever.
FollowupID: 386891

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 21:32

Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 21:32
sudsy, we recently bought an 05 Hilux dual cab specifically for big trips. The new daul cabs are just as comfortable as the wagons (IMO) and have the additional carrying capacity, both volume and weight. Another advantage is that they use less fuel than the big wagons.
The only restriction is they are not really suitable for older kids in the back (although the Hilux has more room than most). They also have a lower towing capacity.

It comes down to personal preference, but for us, the dual cab does the job. Apart from the space, we like having a totally separate cargo area.
AnswerID: 131751

Reply By: Utemad - Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 21:48

Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 21:48
You might think that a ute will take more than a wagon however I reckon you would fit just as much if not more gear into an equivalent sized wagon with the back seats removed since you are only travelling with two people. The best thing you could do is install some sort of organisation system in the back such as drawers. It's a pita when you have to remove heaps of stuff to get to something. In our Rodeo I remove the back seat now and put the fridge there on long trips. Frees up the back for other stuff.

We'll be changing to a wagon soon but for other reasons.
AnswerID: 131755

Follow Up By: sudsy - Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 22:33

Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 22:33
Sorry.......forgot to mention that the son is probably coming too.

bleep e! If I forgot that I might forget to take him and leave him home alone!

Will have made a rear drawer system before we leave. That's a must have!

BTW my mate cannot fit in the back of his 100 what I can fit in the back of my dual cab Rodeo with a canopy on but the 100's very comfy and roomy for five adults

Gets up sandhills in a flash too with auto.
FollowupID: 386118

Follow Up By: banjodog - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 06:11

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 06:11
Probably true with the seats removed to store as much or more than a dual cab ute but it's technically illegal to remove the seats even if it is for a few weeks holidays.

To be street legal the vehicle has to be inspected, then plated to say it's only a 2 seater and the seat belts for these seats removed too. Then if you want to re-instal the seats - another inspection, then another plate to say it's now a 5 seater.

It's the same deal if the wagon has factory fitted rear seats at the back that make it a 7 seater - if they are totally removed. not just folded up, then the same rule applies - otherwise the public servants that patrol our roads can book you.

But I'm sure it happens alot and generally overlooked.

FollowupID: 386125

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 06:57

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 06:57
Banjodog
there was some discussion on this point recently and the advice from at least one State was that you can remove and replace seats without bureaucratic interference but can't carry more people than there are seats.
FollowupID: 386127

Follow Up By: banjodog - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 07:28

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 07:28
Point taken - so long as all "bureaucrats" nation wide have the same view. The point of contention will be how long is too long from the seats being removed - a 6 week holiday or a 6 months holiday. I guess if you greet them with a smile and your suitation explained.
FollowupID: 386131

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 17:23

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 17:23
As someone that would pack the utes up for exploration - and then fit the same gear (well not all the gear cant do it) in a 100 I can assure you - Not a chance and not even close. And that was with the utes starting with 2 spares in the back, 150l fuel tanks and 100 litre water tanks
FollowupID: 386335

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 21:58

Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 21:58
I think DC utes are less easily overloaded... LC100 has a carrying capacity of 580kg(before you add BBar, roofrack, rear bar), including occupants. My Triton has 1120kg(down to 995kg after BBar, rear step & canopy) including occupants. Guess it depends on how many people and how much crap you want to take away.
AnswerID: 131756

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 22:20

Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 22:20
Aside from the obvious space considerations, wagons are popular because most have long travel coil sprung rear suspension which aids in the comfort factor for long distance touring. Most dual cab utes share the nickname of the MU Shortie - Piledriver. JMHO.
AnswerID: 131759

Follow Up By: gramps - Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 22:24

Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 22:24
Only if you've got a really boney butt :)
FollowupID: 386115

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 22:28

Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 22:28
..and I do :)
FollowupID: 386117

Follow Up By: gramps - Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 22:37

Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 22:37
You must be working too hard to get those items in your rig profile off your wishlist LOL
FollowupID: 386119

Follow Up By: sudsy - Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 22:41

Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 22:41
Actually mines quite a comfortable ride even though it's 6 leaf heavy duty Rodeo
FollowupID: 386120

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 18:44

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 18:44
My 79series rides better than the Prados I had before - the longer wheelbase helps a lot.

phil
FollowupID: 386209

Reply By: Allan-Pilbara - Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 23:24

Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 23:24
One real good point why utes are better than wagons is that you can't smell or hear the smokey cooking gear banging around.

AnswerID: 131768

Follow Up By: sudsy - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:07

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:07
......and rotting fish bait, fuel, the laundry from the trip.......feel free to add
FollowupID: 386165

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 07:02

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 07:02
Does much dust get in to the tray of the ute through the tonneau cover? I know the trailer can get pretty dusty but it is exposed to a lot more dust than the back of a ute.
AnswerID: 131775

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 07:31

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 07:31
Bob,

Don't know about a tonneau cover but using a canopy with one of those roof vents (pop up type) very little dust gets in at all. Positive pressure seems to do the trick very well.
FollowupID: 386133

Follow Up By: sudsy - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:14

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:14
The dust and water gets through the gaps around the tailgate.

Most canopies have little sliding front windows on them and opening them, or a roof vent as gramps said, will create positive pressure inside and keep the dust out.

With a tonneau you could try to seal up the tailgate gaps with self adhesive seals or try your local rubber outlet for some extruded moulding that fits but.........good luck.
FollowupID: 386171

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:19

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:19
Another poster on this forum suggested that with the gaps in the tailgate, he applied a liberal dose of sealant all round, roughly moulded it, covered it with gladwrap, or such, then closed the tailgate.

Once the sealant had set, with the added moulding of the closed tailgate, he then opened it removed the gladwrap and trimmed the excess for a near perfect seal. Have'nt needed to go that far yet.
FollowupID: 386173

Reply By: Davo - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 07:59

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 07:59
G'day Sudsy,
I used to own a V6 Triton 4WD Dual Cab, and now own a 100 Series Landcruiser T/D. I have done a few trips in both now, and here are my observations.
The Dual Cab can swallow more gear, but getting access to the stuff towards the front can be a real pain in the D/C (I didn't have drawers installed, since I used it as a ute whilst not travelling)
The T/D L/C is a more relaxed vehicle when loaded due to the T/D (I would be interested to ride in a Rodeo T/D, or a Hilux T/D for a performance comparison)
More internal cabin space in the Landcruiser. This makes a difference when you're on the road for a while.
Economy: The Triton was an excellent vehicle, and returned about 14-15L/100km cruising at 110-120km/h. The L/C T/D does about 13-16L/100km at comparable cruising speeds, dependent on headwinds, in my experience.
I will say that the L/C is a MUCH safer vehicle for overtaking. Mine has a D-tronic EMS fitted and the torque for overtaking those long road trains is a godsend.
This makes driving less stressful = more enjoyable driving. It's good to know that you've got it there if you need it.
Cost: Triton (or most D/C, except for T/D Hilux) purchase price is much cheaper than the L/C. After you fit them both out you have more "travel cash" available if you get the D/C
Offroad ability: I don't buy a $40K+ (or $50K+ with the cruiser) vehicle to rock-hop in it, so for soft sand, and general offroad stuff, both vehicles are capable enough for my purposes. The L/C has better suspension fitted than I had in the Triton, plus I think the extra weight of the L/C helps a little with the corrugations.
The width of the Landcruiser is a concern on tight tracks. Mine's scratched to buggery already.
The Landcruiser swallows a fair bit of gear, and as time has progressed we have continually re-evaluated what we take away. I also like the security of the Landcruiser versus the canopy setup. As mentioned previously, a good set of roller drawers will make loading, and general access to your gear a lot easier. Being able to access your load from the back seats is a big plus. You can still achieve this by packing your gear smarter.
Towing capacity: Probably not that important now from your query, but I will say that having the extra towing capacity is important to me. We hired a camper trailer about two years ago, and it was great. The Triton will still tow okay, but you just can't beat a T/D/ for towing in my opinion.
Because we're not travelling 365 days a year, and only travel for 2-3 weeks at a time, the requirements for "the ultimate touring setup" are always a compromise between a good car for everything and getting away.
It's hard to beat the D/C utes for this flexibility.
At the end of the day, so long as you're out there doing it, that's all that matters in my opinion. As you travel more, and see what other people travel in, you can then decide on what suits what best, and if you decide to upgrade.
Just check out the backpacker, and students doing the lap in a HZ Station Wagon, or 40-series, or 75-series troopies. It's all do-able, it just depends on what comfort levels and "fruit" you want.

Davo
AnswerID: 131781

Follow Up By: sudsy - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:26

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:26
G'day Davo,
I've got a Triton as well (87 S/cab 2.6) and has a fiberglass canopy with lift up windows all round which makes it easier to get stuff in and out, but I know what you mean about access cos my Rodeo d/cab canopy only has sliding side windows and as you know it's a pain in the proverbial.
Thats why I'm making drawers AND getting lift up side windows.

I'm hearing ya about the ride of the Tritons but hell they can take a load and still handle well.
Went fishing in it with my son over the Great Australian Bight in January and would have had close to a ton in the back (7 days of water, food, ice, bait, fuel, camping and fishing gear etc. and went through all tracks and sand without a hitch.
FollowupID: 386176

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 19:01

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 19:01
I got sick of the poor access to gear in the wagons. That was despite having well setup vehicles with custom made drawers, removing rear seats, and fitting rack setups.

So 12 months ago I made the move to the traytop. The canopy I had built is fully sealed and because there is no back door, no dust wants to get in. The side doors are each about 6 foot wide - so I have a total of 12 foot of unobstructed access to the rear - so much better than the 4 foot of access the station wagons give you. The side doors lift up to provide shade and shelter - better than the barn doors I've used before. And theres a million options to fitting it out - had to change my thinking - simple things like fridges don't need slides - just secure them inside, and leave the space above them vacant. Plastic water tanks go nicely under the tray.

Main downside is the cost, but your setup can be moved to the next vehicle.

And when it comes to camping, its relaxed - there is pretty much nothing to unpack - just stop, get the chairs and a beer out and enjoy the evening. We roll out swags.

And the other downside is that you can't take the in-laws or the kids :-((
Mmmmm maybe thats not a downside :-)

phil
AnswerID: 131877

Follow Up By: sudsy - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 20:02

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 20:02
depends on your inlaws and kids I suppose... hehe.

I like that full opening canopy on your truck Phil......would also be great for people who love to tour but have back problems etc.

Well it looks like the "ute's vs. wagons for touring" thingy is definitely horses for courses.
Everybody has their needs and preferences and budget etc.......and I guess we all just do what works best for ourselves.

It is very interesting for me to see what other set ups are around and what pro's and con's they have but as for me.......I'll be sticking with the duel cabs for a fair while yet......works for me
FollowupID: 386221

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 20:15

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 20:15
Hi sudsy

we've compromised, we had a LC 100 wagon, that Al converted to a dual cab ute, so we have the same cabin space, which is great for the kids, and for those people with longer legs - for both back and front seat passengers, and it carries heaps of stuff.

Lyn
AnswerID: 131891