talon chain saws

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 12:50
ThreadID: 27002 Views:5829 Replies:18 FollowUps:22
i know people will say you only get what you pay for ect.
ive seen a couple of theese chain saws in use and they seem to do a great job if your just after small amounts of fire wood.
this week big w(in vic)woolies elsewhere i think have them on special for $164.
cheap.Ill go buy one tommorow.
cheers.

Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 13:03

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 13:03
Big W here too

Perfect for what you need it for, except if your cutting big trees to use as floaties for your 4b ;-)
AnswerID: 133131

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 13:08

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 13:08
just an observation... My 16" McCullock is identicle to the Talon 16" except the plastic is a slightly different yellow. All the switches, handles, filler caps, adjusters etc are in the same place and have identicle markings.
AnswerID: 133132

Follow Up By: GUPatrol - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 14:07

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 14:07
McCullock sold the old designs to Talon, McCullock went out of business for a while and then someone brought it back up.

I bought one of these little talons (after owning a McCullock for years without troubles).
I bought it mainly for firewood on camping trips and for clearing tracks and it has been fantastic so far.
FollowupID: 387354

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 14:25

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 14:25
That pretty much clears it up then...
FollowupID: 387359

Reply By: hoyks - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 13:55

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 13:55
My Dad bought a McCullock years ago for cutting up some firewood. Some people said that it wouldn't last but so far it has been doing the job since 1980 and now on it's third bar and about it's 15th chain. He runs extra oil that may help too.
I have a Polan and it is almost all plastic but is also nice and light. I got it for $100 as the muffler bolts had stripped the thread out of the cylinder. A thread repair kit and a carbie kit and it starts when I want it too and cuts wood, what more can you ask.
If you use it for a while the vibrations make your hands hurt which is a major -ive, but I only use it occasionally and don't even have a fire at home so I can't justify the price of a Still (well I can but the holder of the cheque book disagrees).

For that kind of money though, you can't go far wrong.
AnswerID: 133135

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 14:03

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 14:03
Do it Diamond, theyre not too bad for the light work youre talking about

AnswerID: 133136

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 20:19

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 20:19
geoff,
have you checked out Garmins Quest? and compared to yours (model no escapes me for now)
in your opinion which is better considering road nav and foot nav?
FollowupID: 387391

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 08:20

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 08:20
Yes they look the goods, more memory than mine (60CS), voice commands, good value as it incl the maps, its like mine car oriented rather than mine is like hiking oriented, but both the same.

No compass or altimeter, but still a good chioce IMHO.

FollowupID: 387444

Reply By: Moggs - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 14:50

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 14:50
Yep, I reckon they are pretty good. I have had a Talon 38cc Treehawk (40cm bar) for a fair while now. Starts first time every time, runs well and does the job. Comes with it's own carry case as well which is good.

Also have a Talon 650 watt hedge trimmer and a petrol blower/vac which are good.

Actually, the petrol blower vac is the first petrol one I've owned that doesn't leak 2 stroke everywhere when stored. Also is easy to start and pretty light.

The Talon gear comes with good warranties, is aggressively priced and if you get it from Bunnings I am sure you wouldn't have any issues with warranties.
AnswerID: 133137

Reply By: Haza - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 15:18

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 15:18
I brought a McCullock a couple of years ago for cheap, The only problem I've had is alot of the nuts and bolts come loose, I suggest you remove them, add some lock-tight to them and put them back in.
AnswerID: 133138

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 15:25

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 15:25
We got the electric McCullock earleir this year from Bunnings for $116.10 with their "we'll beat another store's advertised price by 10%" promise. They had unknown brands even cheaper. We'll just keep it under the caravan bed in case we need to cut any small branches to get the caravan through. Worked well when we gave it a try at home, so it would be fine for camp fire wood as well as clearing minor debris off tracks.

AnswerID: 133139

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 18:22

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 18:22
For light occational jobs they work OK & would certainly beat a bow saw or axe. The engines on the cheapy's are normally underpowered for the size of the bar & repair men hate them as parts are difficult or impossible to get, so once they have a major problem you just toss it away. (Ever seen an authorised Talon repair workshop?)
Not totally familiar with the exact model you're looking at but the cheaper brands normally cut costs by having smaller chains, minimal anti vibration, poor air filters, no inertia chain brake or special features like turbo air induction or quick release bars.
The ironic thing is the safety gear you'll need (chaps, ear muffs, gloves, face sheild helmet, overalls & boots) will cost you twice as much as the saw ;-)
Cheers Craig.................
AnswerID: 133159

Reply By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 20:10

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 20:10
Jim,

Glenn rang me today, he's already bought one and was putting it together this arvo.

Gotta love that 2 year warranty.

I worked out since I got mine for $160 in January it's done 25 nights camping. That means I/we have had a decent fire each night for under $7 including fuel. If I lost it tomorrow I'd say it has paid for itself. It's also cleared a few tracks to let us enjoy a drive.

You sure do get what you pay for.

Only problem now that you and Glenn have one is I'll have to carry wood rather than cut it LOL.

AnswerID: 133166

Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 20:15

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 20:15
you only need a pair of sicatuers to cut up ducks...good greef, no need to get so violent...hehehe
AnswerID: 133169

Reply By: Wombat - Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 20:24

Wednesday, Oct 05, 2005 at 20:24
I can vouch for the longevity of the small McCulloch chainsaws. My Little Beaver is over 20 years old and still going strong. It loves to rev its tits off and I've given it a hell of a time over the years including cutting over 200 second hand, bluestone impregnated railway sleepers. I have a larger Poulon for the bigger jobs now, but still love using the McCulloch because of its flexibility.
AnswerID: 133173

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 08:20

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 08:20
Wombie, this is just begging for a response.....
FollowupID: 387632

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 08:32

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 08:32
Wombie, I cannot let this juxtaposition of innuendo go unreplied, it is a true reflection of the omnifocussed trance we enter into once online that this pearl of replyfication can remain up. I never thought I would see the english language used as such an incisive and illuminating tool for the elucidation of us all by one so persipicacious. Bravo

FollowupID: 387634

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 11:29

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 11:29
I used to think it was an Eager Beaver but I have been corrected by H. Apparently it's actually a Little Beaver!

Bonz, your polysyllabic response is one that fellow sesquipedalians and I treasure and I'll demand a retraction from anyone that suggests that our colloquium is, in any way, shape or form a floccinaucinihilipilification.
FollowupID: 387651

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 11:44

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 11:44
lol...crazy stuff, floccin what!
FollowupID: 387653

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 11:57

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 11:57
As long as its eager it matters not a zot what size it is.

FollowupID: 387655

Reply By: Member - Ed. C.- Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 17:30

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 17:30
G'day all,

Does anyone have the power (Kw) rating on these??

I believe they are 38cc, yes??
TIA

Ed. C.
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 133308

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 19:58

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 19:58
Diamond, I've had the electric Talon for a while now. Great unit but need to watch the trigger as it bites, ie it takes chunks of skin off you if you depress the trigger the wrong way. Chain housing can get clogged but is easy to clean. The chain oil reservoir is a bit slow to fill and is prone to air bubble blockage. Completely pruned a neighbour's palm tree so it now looks like a 12ft tall pine apple without missing a beat. Will work of an inverter so no issues about 2 stroke fuel.

Cheep and cheerful.

AnswerID: 133325

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 20:55

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 20:55
Got one today, now looking for an 8 inch bar ,dont think will need any bigger and easier to store in c/t ....
AnswerID: 133338

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:01

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:01
I've been trying to get an 8 inch bar for years :-)
FollowupID: 387552

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 11:51

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 11:51
i've got one

FollowupID: 387654

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:00

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:00
If any of you need any questions answered on the subject of Talon chainsaws, or any other Talon product - just ask. My wife Jenny is the import/export manager for Talon.

We have a couple of saws and I've found them great over tha past couple of years. They actually get quite a flogging at Omaroo cutting firewood nearly every night. One advantage for us is that it's pretty cheap to get any service or parts we need ;)
AnswerID: 133340

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:05

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:05
Mate,

Didn't you open the floodgates LOL.

Just a simple one; where do you get a spare chain? Bunnings, being Bunnings, sell the saws but do not sell spare chains or have any idea where to get one.

FollowupID: 387556

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:10

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:10
Hey Jimbo :)

Bunnings WILL order a chain in for you, but they don't carry them as standard line items. Talon will get a chain to your nearest Bunnings store asap for you at their request, but if you may want to try KMart, BigW, Home Hardware, Thrifty Link or Mitre10 first - they may have them on the shelf.
FollowupID: 387560

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:35

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:35
And an 8 inch bar ,, chain to suit ??? Jimbo u giving up the dreaded weed has not improved ur humor LoL ,,Keep it UP.
FollowupID: 387573

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 22:09

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 22:09
Alloy - you mean for the 20cm pruner attachment? Jenny'll get you the part number tomorrow.... stay tuned.
FollowupID: 387579

Follow Up By: Member - John (QLD) - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 21:31

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 21:31
Jimbo can you ask the boss what the deal is with the seconds being sold on ebay.

talon
FollowupID: 387740

Follow Up By: Member - John (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 07:17

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 07:17
Sorry that question was was meant for Chrispy not Jimbo
FollowupID: 387770

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 08:03

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 08:03

Talon does NOT sell their seconds, or "factory re-works" on eBay. They sell these items to a couple of companies who do with them what they want.

The "talontools" seller on eBay is NOT Talon Tools Australia, and in fact has been told to cease and desist by Talon last year for using their name and (blatantly) their graphics. They are doing it again - so thanks for your tip. They will likely be taken to court over it now.

FollowupID: 387776

Follow Up By: Member - John (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 12:19

Saturday, Oct 08, 2005 at 12:19
Cheers for that - I thought I smelled a rat.
FollowupID: 387803

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 12:50

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 12:50
Yes, well they are still operating on Ebay. They claim to be operating on behalf of Talon Tools.

This auction is managed by Extrastock on behalf of Talon Tools
FollowupID: 388198

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 12:54

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 12:54
Extrastock:
We focus on selling extra stock of leading brand names products on eBay. By working with manufacturers, distributors, and retailers, Extrastock is able to select the best deals and make them available to our customers.

Visit our site to find out more about us and how we can help you.

Some of the categories we specalise in include:

* Wine
* Photography
* Watches
* Coffee Machines and accessories
* Home Entertainment
* Car Audio
* IBM Computer Equipment
* Quality Used Computer Equipment
FollowupID: 388200

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 13:57

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 13:57
According to SWMBO they are NOT meant to be operating "on behalf" of Talon Tools (they are operating on behalf of themselves) and in any case are not allowed to use logos and graphics.
FollowupID: 388202

Reply By: Jimbo - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:32

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:32
Thanks Chrispy
AnswerID: 133345

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 15:06

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 15:06
I got ya picture ready Diamond JIm.. email me ya addy
AnswerID: 133460

Reply By: flappa - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 13:05

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 13:05
These Talons are to chainsaws what the GMC is to Gennies.

Cheap enough to give them a crack , with reputable Sellers , with decent warranties.

If they fail , get a new one , outside warranty , chuck it away and get another.

For someone like me , who may use it , half a dozen times a year , makes good economic sense.
AnswerID: 134116