AC Delco deep cycle batteries.

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 08:36
ThreadID: 27172 Views:13094 Replies:7 FollowUps:2
A bit of info required on this battery .
Originally chased some prices for a mate that wanted AC Delco MF50 "Voyager"
I think they are about 600 CCA . The question is , are they any good as a main cranking battery (the cca suggests they are) as well as an auxillary , some say that they are not a "real" deep cycle battery! My mate wants them as he says he gets upto 10 years out of them in a vehicle ! If indeed one gets 10 years the economics are there . Price was around the $175 , this compares with $100 for the usual 700cca Cal/Cal that I get around 4 years out of , What do you think?

Cheers Dave L.

Reply By: Volante - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 20:07

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 20:07
"My mate wants them as he says he gets upto 10 years out of them in a vehicle"
If you believe that you will believe bull manure is gold
AnswerID: 134178

Reply By: Rigor - Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 20:32

Tuesday, Oct 11, 2005 at 20:32
Thanks for that gem Volante but can you answer the question , are they any good as a main cranking battery.

Dave L.
AnswerID: 134186

Reply By: Old Bushie - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 00:13

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 00:13
Gday Rigor

I have used Delco Voyagers in a Troopy and a 100S and they are fine as a starting battery and excellent as an aux (deep cycle) battery for fridge lights etc.

They were "sold" to me as value because of their long service life. The four I have had all lasted approx 4 years compared to 2-3 years from the cheaper batteries such as the Century/Yasua Overlander for starting and Century Deep Cycle as an aux.

Three of the four died due to hairline cracks (seeping electrolyte) in the outer case. Admittedly I do heaps of kms on rough, corrugated roads which is a battery killing environment.

I will revert to mid price batteries, as above, as soon as my new vehicle's (100S TD) batteries die because 4 years vv 2-3 years for approx 50% more is not "value".

Regards OB
AnswerID: 134235

Reply By: Rigor - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 07:04

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 07:04
Thanks for that old bushie ,I appreciate constructive criticism thats why I posted this in the first place . I must be getting old and cranky as the first reply burred me up as it was simply a crtiicism with nothing constructive .
The original claim by my mate (farmer) of upto 10 years may or may not be accurate but that is what he told me , he uses the voyager in his LC and tractor and says he gets the long life out of them.
Thanks for the reply

Cheers Dave L.
AnswerID: 134248

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 10:45

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 10:45
Dave,
Check out an AC Delco dealer to understand what the initials "MF" also the number "50" actually refers to, and you will have your answers, as I believe the 'MF' refers to ‘M’aintenance ‘F’ree and the 50 could be either the CCA (500CCA) or A/h ratings (50a/h), as I say I don't know, it’s just my thoughts as I looked on the AC Delco web site and it didn’t tell me anything about the MF50 battery.

However if you read any website that has technical merit and knowledge of batteries in general, you will soon realise that a genuine Deep Cycle battery and a Starting battery are two entirely different types of batteries, and made for two very different purposes.
They both look the same externally but that is their only similarity, a major difference is the weight of the two batteries with the DC being far heavier due to it's thicker internal plate construction.
One is a draught horse (continuous and slow all day) and the other is a leopard (a quick sprinter) made specifically for two different reasons, a "Marine" battery is a compromise of the two types of batteries.

I think, a battery that will last for 10 years would be very well known to anyone driving a 4WD and you would have had a definitive answer by now :-)
AnswerID: 134281

Reply By: Rigor - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 14:37

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 14:37
Thanks for that Mainey , this is what happens when you do a favour for someone , gets out of hand. You are probably right about the 10 years but being on the wrong side of 50 I can remember 6 volt FJs and VWs where the battery did in fact last almost for ever , but the trade off for those thick robust plates with small surface area was low CCA and capacity, not what we expect from a battery today . Purpose built stationary batteries (solar ) also have an extended life but would weigh a tonne with the capacity we require.

Cheers Dave L.
AnswerID: 134297

Reply By: BenSpoon - Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 23:38

Wednesday, Oct 12, 2005 at 23:38
They do well as a deep cycle too- I have them in a solar installation and they get a work through all year in a sea container in the sun- not a problem yet and they were much cheaper than alternatives.
AnswerID: 134417

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 09:01

Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 09:01
Are they a conventional "Starter" battery or a genuine Deep Cycle battery, as have them in a SOLAR installation and they get a work through all year in a sea container in the sun, I would imagine they are a genuine Deep Cycle battery specifically designed for Solar use and to be cycled continiously, as Solar systems tend to do this with batteries.

Can you explain the "MF" and the "50" as the web site does not have the information.
Mainey...
FollowupID: 388623

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 10:55

Friday, Oct 14, 2005 at 10:55
They are plugged as a combination of both starter and deep cycle. On the top of the battery it has the CCA rating on it. I was sceptical at first as I thought they'd be crap as a pure deep cycle when installing them but they do the job really well. I tried AGM (starter) batteries but they could not come close to cutting it.
I have not tried the AC Delcos as a cranking battery though. The MF I assume is Maintenance free as they are sealed units. 50 may be 50Ah, though that seems pretty small for a 4by battery- I installed 90Ah ones and they were significantly smaller than the standard N70ZZ batteries cruisers use.
FollowupID: 388639