80 series fuel capacity??

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 15:00
ThreadID: 27353 Views:19810 Replies:16 FollowUps:11
Well anyone can read the book it says 50 l sub and 95 main. I got back the other day with the sub run dry and the main gauge below empty and the low fuel light had been on for 70k
Filled up and the sub took 52l yep fair enough but total intake was 132l
So have i got another 10-15l floating around somwhere ?
What are you getting into yours?
BTW 132l + 20l jerry got me 1100k with about 500k being dirt road and about 600 being track driving (not difficult)

Reply By: LBartlett - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 15:10

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 15:10
My first question would be, was the pump you used accurate?
AnswerID: 135058

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 15:12

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 15:12
yes mine too, the pootrol's subbie is 30l. i have put between 26 and 35 in it. happy with 26, not so with 35.

FollowupID: 389017

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 15:29

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 15:29
you would assume so but if it isnt ill be having some of that seeing as that would mean it was in my favour by a substantial margin
given that T claim 50l for the sub and i put 52l (bit up the neck) my queery is with the main tank especially as i put 80l in it and it is meant to hold 95
FollowupID: 389018

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 15:34

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 15:34
Is it dented?

FollowupID: 389019

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 15:36

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 15:36
not yet
FollowupID: 389020

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 15:39

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 15:39
G'day Davoe,

Mate, my first question would have to be "were you sweating on getting home or what?". If I was cutting it that close I'd be more than a little on edge, visions of death on a lonely track would enter my mind or WORSE a confession to this forum that I had run out of fuel. I recall an earlier post of yours today about running a little low and am convinced that you are daredevil. Can I humbly suggest a couple jerries as I like your company and don't want to hear that you got lost in the wilds of WA.

AnswerID: 135061

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 16:06

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 16:06
No ,thanks to phil i still had a jerry in teserve and as well the final 300k was along the well travelled transline which i maintained a healthy speed - if I had no reserve I would have done 70 all the way
It was however a total brainfade as all the other trips I have done i have easily came back with my reserve fuel I didnt work out the fuel and distance which is reeely dumb as I have an extra jerry sitting in the shed and plan to buy a few more as the need arises. As for getting lost in the WA wilds already been there done that when I got bogged out at Turtadine rocks and had to walk 40k to get some help. See post above to see the solution
FollowupID: 389025

Reply By: BenSpoon - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 16:24

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 16:24
I reckon the book is right- Its the figures I get on most counts. sounds you are squeezing an extra few litres in the fuel filler. I generally manage 51L in the sub.

That fuel economy is pretty good- you are 2km/L better than mine- I use almost both full tanks just to get to perth (orange light comes on just as I get into town- 75km left) on the 600km run with an empty roof rack on.
AnswerID: 135066

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:25

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:25
Diesal mate Diesal last trip i did i got 600k from the main which included 4wding in the die hardy ranges and helenal Aurora ranges and i still wasnt that happy
FollowupID: 389046

Reply By: nuboy - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 16:40

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 16:40
Hey Davoe
You might know this. My105 has had the sub removed and a big sucker put in its place at some time. Havent had the pleasure of filling it yet but would you have any idear of capacity. Its necesitated fitting of the spare wheel on the rear bar.
AnswerID: 135071

Follow Up By: tojo - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 16:16

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 16:16
nuboy,
A long range tank from arb to replace the sub tank holds 180 ltrs , l think the opposite lock one is the same.
about $250 to fill her up.
tojo
FollowupID: 389219

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 17:36

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 17:36
No dents , ran sub "dry" 50.5lt then ran main "dry " 91lt , first click on bowser so no extra up filler pipe , h/way cruising 2400rpm =110k per hr , 1234 klm ,, 92 factory turbo diesel automatic, now has 350thou klm.
AnswerID: 135077

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 17:55

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 17:55
Be careful.... when you select sub, some goes into the main while u r pumping it in.....to get a good indication, you need to fill the main full then swap over and fill the sub...this is in reverse to how Toyota recommend it to be done in the book though!
AnswerID: 135083

Reply By: steve21 - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:03

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:03

I got 65l in my sub once, never filled the main with the pump so inacurate.
complained to staff but they couldn't give a rats....so i bouycott that station and/or pump.
AnswerID: 135084

Follow Up By: muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 22:59

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 22:59
ALL fuel bowsers in Australia are governed by very strict laws which come with very heavy penalties regarding accuracy. The reason you got more than 50l in your sub tank is, as stated above, some fuel goes into you main tank as your filling. This is common with 80s cruisers.

FollowupID: 389086

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:08

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:08
Davoe,

What you should do now is to run the main tank dry and see how much it will take to fill it.
When I had a 80 Series I was able to get 150km after the orange light come on. When you try running the main tank dry note when the orange light comes on and then you will have an idea how far you can go on the main tank.

AnswerID: 135085

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:21

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:21
yea but thats the hard way. Also rotary fuel pumps just hate to be run dry. All the same I think its worth doing once to get a proper indication on range etc. Interesting you say you could get 150k after light went on as that would indicate perhaps around 20l left
FollowupID: 389045

Reply By: BigPop - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:25

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:25
Usually you will find that when your Orange Fuel light comes on you have around 20L left in the main tank - quite often I have switched over to the sub when the light came on and then later when I filled up, the main would take around 75l.

BigPop
(I never get lost because everyone tells me where to go)
AnswerID: 135088

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:31

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:31
I have found the first 3/4 goes slowly and the last 1/4 quickly but when I thought it was getting down it never took as much as i thought, I suspect the orange light comes on fairly early (i would have thought 10l left but what you say makes sense) possibly it will "run on empty " for alot longer
FollowupID: 389048

Reply By: Banjo - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:36

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:36
I don't have an 80 but with the Troopy I have 17 litres left when the light comes on. I can almost guarantee that when I fill up will take 73 litres into the 90 litre main tank.

Banjo (WA)
AnswerID: 135091

Reply By: Member - John Thomas B (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:57

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 18:57
Hi all won day I disided to run my 80 series dry to see I waited for the fuel light to stay on as I figured that the fuel was bouncing around and the light would flicker on and of I got 80 Klm out of it at that point.
Keep on keeping on.
Regards JOHNO. Ps that fuel economy seems a bit to good Whats your GVM.
AnswerID: 135098

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:31

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:31
regards the economy it is a diesal and by my reckoning the economy was about 14l per hundred which is no better than ok as it was pretty easy going with alot of the track driving being 4th gear 50kph rather than a less economicle 3rd and 2nd gear 20 to 40kph gvm is around 3 tonne
FollowupID: 389057

Reply By: Member - John Thomas B (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:45

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 19:45
For a deisel that sounds about right My 80 is 2673Kg with 145Ltrs fuel plus Loaded with the kids and me to cross SD 3340Kg.
AnswerID: 135109

Reply By: adsum - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 22:48

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 22:48
I have LR tank as a sub, however I have found that I usually put 75-80 lt in the main tank when the light comes on, and usually have 20lt unusable in the LR. I usually average around 6km/l, unless using mixed high/low range driving (averages 4-5 km/lt) Little difference if vehicle is fully loaded or not. Roof rack costs me around 0.5km/lt.
My vehicle is a manual 4.5lt petrol, 1987 model if it makes any difference.
You need to fill the main tank before filling the sub otherwise fuel syphons through to main anyway.
Cheers, Tony
AnswerID: 135147

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 23:04

Tuesday, Oct 18, 2005 at 23:04
Davoe, as mentioned above, my mate tells me same thing about his 80s diesel, he has around 15l left in his main tank when refilling, but he has done the runout test and usaully drives a bit while the orange light is on.
AnswerID: 135150

Reply By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 10:57

Wednesday, Oct 19, 2005 at 10:57
With the 1990 80 Series TD I owned last, a couple of times I ran the main tank to the point where it was surging sucking the last drops of fuel and then switched to the sub and ran that until the light came on and even then I could only put about 130-135 L in it. I am not sure about the sub, but the fuel pick up on the main tank is not right on the floor of the tank it is 1-2cm off (from memory of pulling it apart once), it is probably the same in the sub, so even if you run both tanks dry you are still going to have a bit of fuel still in the bottom of the tank.
AnswerID: 135200

Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 13:33

Thursday, Oct 20, 2005 at 13:33
G'day Davoe
I wonder whether the orange light comes on at the same level of "emptiness" for all vehicles. I used to own a diesel and it went further that 70km on the orange light no worries.
AnswerID: 135412