Undercar protection

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 31, 2002 at 01:00
ThreadID: 2749 Views:3883 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
We are looking at travelling around Australia (mainly in the north and west) for 6 months next year in a Subaru Forrester. The Forrester has relatively low clearance (obviusly) and a plastic sump guard. Has anyone got an opinion on whether it is advisable to get a metal sump protector installed? We are complete novices with limited funding so don't want to be spending unnecessary money. Thanks.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: OziExplorer - Tuesday, Dec 31, 2002 at 01:00

Tuesday, Dec 31, 2002 at 01:00
Really depends on how you drive. Because the speed sign says 100km, does not mean you have to go at 100km/h. Spending the majority of my time on country roads, and just returned from 1,000k's on country roads, you see the fruit cakes doing 100k's or more on a road that is safe at 85k's. Even in the bush off-road, I travel at a speed suitable to the conditions. If there is a rock or obstruction that may not pass under my vehicle, I get out and do something about it. I don't rely on steel bash plates to do the work for me.

Depends on how much bush bashing you are going to do, and how intelligently you do it. You have to know when it is time to back off and say, 'this is far enough for my car to go and time to turn around'.
AnswerID: 10345

Reply By: Joe - Tuesday, Dec 31, 2002 at 01:00

Rowena,

While you hope it would never be required on a touring trip a bash plate could well save you from sitting by the roadside somewhere with a cracked sump and it good insurance.

A company called SubaXtreme make strong aluminium sump guards for the Forester. Look up importers for them on the net.

Also, make sure that you have good tyres and shockies before you start. Bridgestone D693 A/T tyres will fit and I have seen a very favourable write up.