Engel's are great, Waeco's are just junk.

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 21:26
ThreadID: 27801 Views:12047 Replies:10 FollowUps:7
Well, I've owned both and what I put in the topic is just for fun.

Just for the record they're both great and we currently own a Waeco.

The thing I really want to know is how do they go if they get wet? On Cup Day I had the fridge on the verandah keeping the beverages cold.

Unfortunately very late in the afternoon I got very "tired" and left the fridge out. Sin of Sins, I left it out all night. Funny how it happens when you get "tired". Anyway, luck was with me and it didn't rain.

My question is this: Are portable fridges affected by rain or water? Or are they designed to take it?

Tired Jim.

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 23:25

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 23:25
Hi Jimbo
Great way to get people to open the thread!! I'm not sure of the answer, but looking at my Waeco, I'd say that a shower of rain wouldn't bother it as the water would just run off. As long as water didn't get inside the works, such as if it was sitting in a pool of water, it should be OK. Not that I plan to test my theory LOL.
Those who say something cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it.

AnswerID: 137692

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 23:27

Thursday, Nov 03, 2005 at 23:27
Although not recomended I drowned my Engel in the Jardine river & it continued working semi submerged for 10 minutes. After I dried it out it had a slight hummm for about 8 years then for no particular reason it went quiet again.
Somehow I doubt the electronics on a waeco would take such a punishment ;-)
Cheers Craig..............
73 litre Autofridge. (just for the record the best fridge built;-)
AnswerID: 137693

Follow Up By: brett - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 00:33

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 00:33
Even the very early Engels have electronics in them, the swing motor does not run off 12V DC.
FollowupID: 391353

Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 10:26

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 10:26
So, dunking your Engel = Waeco wouldn't take it?

Very scientific.
FollowupID: 391382

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 10:42

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 10:42
Brett I don't believe in my response I said that Engels didn't have electronics only that I didn't believe a Waeco would take the same punishment. I based this on the fact that a Waeco has a printed circuit board in the controller which to my eye doesn't appear fully sealed for submarine work. Nothing scientific, just an observation.
Cheers Craig.......
FollowupID: 391383

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 00:27

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 00:27
Was driving to work the other day and saw a bloke with either an 80 or 110l waeco on the tray of his ute, doing 100kph in the rain... He didn't seem to worried...
AnswerID: 137702

Reply By: hoyks - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 01:32

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 01:32
A mate of mine has a flood damaged Engel. He picked it up at an auction after the Katherine floods for $20. It was found floating in an office and had been there for 3 days.
He was using it as an esky until a mate borrowed it and plugged it in. Worked fine and has been going strong ever since.

AnswerID: 137706

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 07:44

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 07:44
floating means it was submerged in water?
FollowupID: 391366

Follow Up By: hoyks - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 09:57

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 09:57
Only the motor and thermostat end ;-)

The rest of the fridge was OK.
FollowupID: 391377

Reply By: ev700 - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 09:06

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 09:06
There are a number of EvaKools anchored in fourby utes around the industrial area where I go to for expensive bits and pieces for the boat.

I assume they must operate in all weather because it is not uncommon to see the hardworking lads partaking of the blue, green and yellow cans of holy waters to prevent dehydration (and doubtless to prepare them for their home duties).

So maybe other brands can do it too.
AnswerID: 137723

Reply By: Jack79TD - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 09:23

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 09:23
Jim, I have a 40LT engel mounted on a tray with only the transit bag on it. It has been left uncovered overnight in light to medium rain (I was also "tired" at the time). So far after 3 months there doesn't seem to be any damage.

Jack
AnswerID: 137726

Reply By: Leroy - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 09:45

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 09:45
Now who's trying for 'TROL' of the year award with a subject like that!!!!!!!

Leroy
AnswerID: 137731

Follow Up By: Rosco - Qld - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 14:58

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 14:58
Exactly cobber

He should be flogged mercilessly with a bag of his own excrement.

Onya Jimbo ... ;-))
FollowupID: 391418

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 22:04

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 22:04
Most unkind.

I feel agrieved.

You two have interfered with my softer side.

Unless you can understand my DEEP feelings, you should deal with your own problems.

LMAO.

Cheers Chaps,

FollowupID: 391455

Reply By: Utemad - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 10:57

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 10:57
We've left works 80L Engel Combo S/S model operating in the rain in the back of a ute a few times. Never seemed to bother it.

I would be hesitant to do the same to my Waeco CF-80 (other than because I paid for it). Reason being the panel with the LEDs and buttons on it does not appear too waterproof to me. However it only gets used in the garage or inside my ute so if it does get wet I have bigger things to worry about LOL
AnswerID: 137744

Reply By: Diamond (Vic) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 12:18

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 12:18
our 90ltr copped a flogging in the wet on the weekend.
big lid on the tool box was left open and the rain filled the top where the temp knob is.
the battery was flat at the time so i told the kids the weaco is dead from being in the rain because they didnt close the lid.
next morning put a charged battery in and all was well.
AnswerID: 137759

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 12:27

Friday, Nov 04, 2005 at 12:27
We've got a Chescold that has run (on gas) in monsoonal weather on Fraser and wet wet wet in the Flinders, maybe we should stay away from "F" places, like Phuket, or maybe I spelt that wrong.

Both times the chessie ran great

AnswerID: 137763