Qld Transport Headlight Regulations

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 08:04
ThreadID: 27838 Views:12628 Replies:7 FollowUps:12

I have just been reading through the Code of Practice with regards to vehicle modifications on the Queensland Transport Website.

Below is a copy of one of the pages on headlights. According to this it seems that it is now legal to fit lights above the old height limit of 1.4 metres which means mounting on the roof is OK.

Here is the page:

"Headlights
Some new factory fitted headlights may appear to have a blue or yellow tinge. Advice from
the federal Department of Transport and Regional Services (formerly the Federal Office of
Road Safety) is that these colours can sometimes be seen on some of the new technology
lights when viewed from the side. However, these lights do emit white light in the required
angles and comply with the ADR’s.
Note that a main (high) beam headlight under the ADR’s, and now under TO(RUM-VSS),
may be fitted at any height above the ground compared to the previous height of 0.6 m to 1.4
m in the Traffic Regulation 1962.
Motorcycles, including motor tricycles, with twin headlights side by side may have one light as
low beam and the other as high beam. That is, the high and low beam do not need to be
symmetrical about the longitudinal centre line of the motor cycle, including motor tricycle(s).
Blue Headlights
"Blue" halogen bulbs are a recent innovation in vehicle lighting technology. They operate at
higher temperatures and provide superior illumination to the conventional halogen bulb.
Historically, the white light emitted from headlamps on motor vehicles has been generated
from incandescent light sources and contains a predominance of red/yellow frequencies.
This has become the accepted norm for white light. The new bulbs, which are actually
"whiter" than the existing bulbs, contain less of the red/yellow frequencies and more of the
blue end of the spectrum. The bulbs may be perceived as a very light blue.
The envelope around the filament of these bulbs is dyed blue, primarily to reduce the
red/yellow frequencies that are always present in light produced by incandescent filament
bulbs.
Motor vehicles have been required to comply with Australian Design Rules (ADR's) for
lighting since October 1991. ADR 13 mandates the number and position of lamp assemblies,
ADR 46 prescribes the photometric requirements of the lamp itself and ADR 51 is the
standard for filament bulbs.
ADR 51 accepts ECE regulation 37 as an alternative standard for filament bulbs and
prescribes the dimensional and photometric requirements for filament bulbs (including
headlamps). This ensures inter-changeability and correct functioning when installed in a
complying lamp unit.
All complying bulbs sold in Australia would be marked with the "E" mark and possibly the
words "Suitable for European Use". The packaging may also indicate compliance with ADR"

Just thought some of you may be interested in this.

Brett

Reply By: Member - Paul P (Bris) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 09:24

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 09:24
G'day

Always interesting reading. But you should be aware of what " ADR 13 mandates the number and position of lamp assemblies" says in relation to positions of lights before assuming that it is legal to mount accessory lights in positions such as the roof.

I wish any person the best in obtaining a copy of the ADR's for FREE ( despite the fact that you and I as tax payers funded, the legislation) from the Federal Government. If any body does please inform me of how!

AnswerID: 137898

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 09:38

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 09:38
Paul,

I can certainly agree with that. When my son was building up his FJ40 we had to end up buying the ADR's which are supplied on CD.

Given the money we all add by way of one tax or another I don't think it would hurt to supply these free. I think from memory they charged him abvout $40.00.
FollowupID: 391522

Reply By: ev700 - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 13:45

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 13:45
One of my sons is now old enough to start thinking about a Learners Permit. I was surprised to find that the road rules have to be bought as a publication.

We have too many levels of government in Australia and too many politicians. It is reflected in the tax that has to be collected.

Some of those blue lights mentioned in the ADRs are dazzling on low beam. Would not like it if all vehicles had them fitted.
AnswerID: 137917

Follow Up By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 20:59

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 20:59
hi
if you are in NSW the RTA HAVE THE LATEST on line and also they have all the questiones on line so you can practise the questions you will have to answer on the test for your permit
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

FollowupID: 391591

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 13:47

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 13:47
In Victoria there is a maximum of 4 extra lights.

Also I have no idea what the advantage is in having them on the roof, would somebody care to enlighten me?
AnswerID: 137918

Follow Up By: gramps - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 14:09

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 14:09
" enlighten me?"

Not bad Shaker :)
FollowupID: 391550

Follow Up By: Member - Paul P (Bris) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 14:23

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 14:23
Perhaps it is a need to increase fuel consumption :-)

Some of the country lads utes must use at least 20% more fuel due to the size and number of lights let alone the larger alternator needed to run them all. Roof mounted lights and a roof rack would not be very fuel efficient.....

FollowupID: 391553

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 14:38

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 14:38
I have often wondered what it would be like to have a couple of lights on the roof rack too. I'm not concerned about the wind resistence factor, as I already have the rack on 100% of the time.

The main advantage (I would imagine) would be that the increased angle of the light hitting the ground, would give the driver a better field of vision of the road ahead......just a theory on my part......Try to imagine a chopper travelling just above you, shining it's lights on the road ahead. There wouldn't be too much that would escape your vision, I wouldn't think. When you think about it, the headlights are BELOW your field of vision and there is always going to be certain areas of the road that your eyes can't see, purely because there is no light shining on them (eg: slight undulations etc). As to whether any of this is of any consequence in practical terms, I have no idea.

The big disadvantage (again, it is only in my imagination) would be that the bonnet of the vehicle would be lit up from the overhead light and could be a distraction. Of course, with the utes/dual cabs that have the lights mounted at the back of the cab, the cab roof would act as a base to stop the light hitting the bonnet, I expect.
FollowupID: 391555

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 17:55

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 17:55
I was wondering how much could be attributed to the wank factor?
FollowupID: 391570

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 20:17

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 20:17
Hi Roachie, your theory is just about right on the money and shaker, try them out before you call it the “ wank factor “

I’ve run roof lights on different vehicles for more than 20 years and there is no other set up that improves night driving safety like the addition of some roof lights and these additional lights also dramatically reduce long distance night driving fatigue.

I run 2 IPFs on the bumper and 4 Hella 181s on the roof. All are fitted with Philips Crystal Vision globes and the lot draw far less than three standard 130w globes so there is no great load on the alternator.

My roof mount is designed to be easily and quickly installed and removed and the main reason is that there is a noticeable increase in fuel consumption at speeds over 60 to 70 kph and removing them during daylight hours also reduces the police attention factor.

As for lighting up your bonnet, if you fit them far enough back along the roof, you won’t light up the bonnet. Also make sure they are far enough in from the sides of the roof so they don’t light up your side mirrors. I struck both of these problems when I fitted my first set.

Try them, you will be hook and never want to drive at night again without them.

FollowupID: 391583

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 23:47

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 23:47
drivesafe ........ your very name is in fact a misnomer, as you readily admit that you use illegal lights & then remove them during daylight hours, to "reduce the police attention factor"
I am sick of idiots with roof lights refusing to dip them because they didn't see me dip my lights.

BTW, I didn't call it a wank factor, I said I was wondering, but now I'm not.
FollowupID: 391638

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 06:23

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 06:23
Hi again shaker, I dim my lights as soon as I have any idea of an on coming vehicle.

There may be a number of reasons why in your case, on coming drivers don’t dim their lights so quickly.

It may be, as YOUR name implies, your shaking may mean that you take longer to be able to dim your lights or maybe you are one of these people that think your better than everybody else so you won’t dim your lights till the on coming vehicle dims theirs.

We can all come back clever remarks, but my original post was simply pointing out that you should try something out yourself first before you jam labels on other and as I also posted, this is an improvement in safety or are you against that too.

FollowupID: 391654

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 13:50

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 13:50
Surely if it was safe, it would be legal.

And, I usually dip mine first, most people don't know the law in regard to dipping of lights, 300 metres or when the oncoming driver dips his, no matter what the distance!
FollowupID: 391688

Reply By: blown4by - Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 18:01

Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 18:01
In WA it is legal to mount driving lights on the roof as long as they are in the front half of the vehicles length. Also in WA you can have a maximum of six (6) high beam lamps. i.e. If the vehicle has two headlamps you can have four spotties, if it has four headlamps which all operate on hi beam then you can only have two additional lamps. If it has four headlamps and the outer two stay on lo beam or are not on when you select hi beam then you can have four spotties. Presumably the reason for them having to be in the front half of the vehicle is to reduce glare in the drivers field of vision caused by the reflection in RV mirrors, coming through the back window (on utes) and side windows, bonnet, etc. Personally I have never tried it but there are plenty of times when adjusting good driving lamps that I have felt confident if I could just get them a bit higher I would be able to see just that bit further. Obviously when you adjust your spotties so the beam just starts to leave the road surface (read head skywards) at some point up the road, if you start with them higher then the point they leave the road surface will be further away and as long as the lights have enough output you should be able to illuminate more distance of road. The above rules don't deter the V8 Mongrel Ute brigade and B & S boys from having anything up to about 8 or 10 spotties mounted allover the roof and bull bar. Must run two alternators or a 5 Kva gen set in the back of the ute maybe:-) The thing that worries me about them on the roof is that you are looking through those beams when driving the vehicle so if there is any dust or rain about it must be like trying to drive looking through a sheet of corrugated iron or driving in fog on hi beam which just doesn't work.
AnswerID: 137941

Reply By: ev700 - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 01:03

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 01:03
Having a heap of driving lights must make it a bit of a shock for the vision when low beam is selected. You would be reaching for a white stick??
AnswerID: 137991

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 06:06

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 06:06
Hi ev700, back in the 70s I lived out west and any driving out there was done in the majority of time on long straight sections of road.

A mate’s old man imported parts for small aircraft including 12v, 250 watt GE landing lights. These were spoties and great for lighting up long the straights, but, as you put it, they definitely left you reaching for the white stick when you went to low beam.

With the roof set up now, I have the IPFs lighting up long distance straights, the two centre roof mounts are used to light up the road up to about 100m immediately in front and the two side roof mounts are set about 20 degrees off centre and are used to light up the road on either side. These side lights make driving through curved road areas a treat as they allow you to literally see around corners.

Because the light is actually spread out over a large area and not concentrated in one small area, there is nowhere as much of a blinding effect when you go to low. It is about the same as going from high to low when you have just two driving lights wired to high.

FollowupID: 391653

Reply By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:16

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:16
Hi Guys,
Interesting reading here. Few things i would have been caught out on if i ever decided to fit roof lights, One interesing point was the fact that you should have them far enough back so as not to shine on your own bonnet....very good point that and also making sure they dont reflect off your side mirrors which would be a real pain.
But 1 thing i know from driving interstate alot at night, I usually run my IPF's which sit on my nudge bar and work very well for me. I usually keep an eye out for semi trailers comming towards me. Hill crests usually indicate their high bean before the driver is hit by my lights. This is my indicator for dipping my lights back down to low beam.

I am not sure though if that theory would work while running lights above your head..can someone tell me if the oncomming lights can still be seen bright enough so you know when to dip. Also being higher than normal, id be concerned that these lights would in some cases actually hit the oncomming truckie even before you realised he was there and it was time to dip.
Personally i take care in oncomming vehicles, especially at night time as there is nothing more annoying that spotties blinding you.

Would these lights be hooked up to high beam or would they be run seperately off a switch? I think they have to be wired up to high bean to be legal...anyone know for sure?
Ange
AnswerID: 138014

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 11:05

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 11:05
Hi cokeaddict, last question first, as far as roof lights being legal, that seems to be more up to an interpretation of the police than anything else. But as I posted, I try not to draw attention to them.

I run Philips Crystal Vision globes in all my lights. These produce a VERY white light. This white light actually cancels out the yellower lights of on coming vehicles and can make it hard to see them until you see their lights. Note this occurs whether the roof lights are on or not. Note, as more vehicles are coming out with these whiter lights, more people will have the same situation, again having roof mounted lights won’t make that much difference.

I have three way switches controlling my driving lights in sets of two. The switches are wired up so that with the switch in the centre position, the driving lights are off at all times. With the switch in the down position, the driving lights work when ever the high beam is on. Switching the switch to the up position will turn the driving lights on, no matter whether high beam is on or not.

I use my driving lights for night video work and as the RR does not allow the headlights to operate while the ignition is off, I need to be able to manually control the driving lights, but this manual position also makes it easier to adjust the position of the individual sets and to test them.

FollowupID: 391670

Reply By: blown4by - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 15:51

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 15:51
cokeaddict they must be wired via the hi beam that's the law. It's in the ADR's so it is a legal requirement in every State. It is also strongly recommended, in WA anyway, to have them wired via a separate switch but you won't find that in the ADR's. If wired the above way the spotties go out the instant lo beam is selected. The danger of not going via the hi beam is some day dreaming (read night dreaming) bleep suffering from highway hypnosis who forgets to operate the separate switch will come towards you oblivious to the fact he has still got his spotties on. Also on long undulating straights, say 10km or so, you can just flick the separate switch first to turn the spotties off but leave the h/lamps on hi beam so you don't get that feeling of "who turned all the lights off " or "reach for the white cane" as some aptly put it. There are plenty of such roads in Northern WA, the Goldfields and Nullarbor for example and I know a lot of truckies adopt this practice especially if they are running HID's. I have seen more and more trucks in WA running as many as five Predators and whilst I shudder at what they would cost I suppose in the scheme of things if a prime mover, dollies and trailers cost say A$1M approx plus the value of the payload and if you spend more time in it than in your home (read it is your home) then $3000.00 to $6000.00 is not a lot to make your life a lot safer and less stressful at night.
In WA you have to dip your lights within 200m or when the other guy does. Personally I think 200m is too close so I dip mine whenever I see the glow of the other guys lights. This is especially important regards truck cos the driver sits a lot higher so you risk dazzling him sooner than an oncoming car or 4WD. Every person who owns a vehicle with a set of decent spotties should be made to stand on the road at night while someone else drives the vehicle about a kay away then turns around a heads back towards them with all beams blazing. All you will see is one freaking big mass of white light and if you focus on it for more that a second or so it hurts like hell and you will still see the image of it for 5 minutes or so. If you experience what powerful weapons a good set of spotties are no responsible driver will ever again flash his spotties at an oncoming vehicle "to teach the other driver a lesson" if they think his lights are too bright. Personally when I know an oncoming vehicle is on hi beam or if I think their lights are just too bright I turn my lo beam headlamps off then on again a couple of times if necessary until he gets my drift. There are number of good reasons for not dazzling an oncoming driver. The first being if he loses the perception of where his vehicle is positioned on the road it might be you that he hits or a tree on the roadside and if he is killed or injured and has witnesses you are in deep poo poo apart from having to live with the knowledge that your lack of professionalism caused an accident. Secondly if he already was on lo beam but his lights are just too bright through poor adjustment or a heavy tow ball load due to pulling a heavy trailer/ boat/horse float, etc and if he happens to also have good set of spotties, maybe more powerful than yours, and gets a dose of the darks with you for dazzling him he just might give you your own back and who knows what the outcome may be.
AnswerID: 138058