Long range fuel tanks - big $$$

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 05, 2005 at 23:51
ThreadID: 27856 Views:33100 Replies:21 FollowUps:21
Keen to increase our range in the GU so went to ARB this morning for a quote on supplying and fitting long range fuels tanks. By replacing both main and sub tanks we could carry an extra 80L of fuel but at a cost of $2000! Is it just me or does this seem awfully expensive. This works out at $25 per litre and makes the inconvenience of fitting the roof rack and carrying 4 jerry's suddenly look very attractive. I guess I need to shop around and/or try to source 2nd hand tanks. Anyone else found a better deal around Perth?

:o) Melissa

Reply By: gramps - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 00:05

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 00:05
I got quoted $1k+ to add an additional 40L for a Hilux so the price appears in the ballpark. Since they would be stored in the tray under a canopy separate from the main cabin, I decided to go with jerry cans until I win Lotto :) Ridiculous pricing but it appears it is what the market is prepared to pay. Good luck.
AnswerID: 137984

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 00:25

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 00:25
Hi Melissa,
Yep it is in the ballpark but maybe just a little over the top.
I upgraded my sub tank from 30 ltr to 85 ltr and have been really pleased that i did.
The added benefits are imeasurable as you can plan your fuel stops at larger places and gain up to 20c ltr saving.
I believe that in the GU the current popular replacement sizes are 85 Ltr Sub and 145 Ltr main which would give one a gain of 105 Ltr capacity thus increasing long range travel by approx 700 k's.
There is a mob in Perth called Outback Accessories or something like that & they make tanks.
Second choice is to go on all 4x4 sites and do as you have here ask if anyone has 2nd hand tanks for sale.

Regards Dodg
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 137986

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 02:09

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 02:09
Thanks Dodger. We're not in a hurry so we have time to shop around or maybe pick up 2nd hand tanks. After our recent Kimberley/Pilbara trip we thought the extra range would be handy and yes, give us the option to plan fuel stops to buy at cheaper price. But at $2000 outlay to save up to 20c/L we'd have to purchase 10,000L of fuel at the lower price to recoup our money. Since the GU is a guzzler this would probably take 3-4 years.
FollowupID: 391650

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 02:00

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 02:00
I looked at them for years but couldn't justify one for my 80 series Landcruiser. I can easily carry 60-80l in jerries which can be unloaded if I need to dig my way out. They make an excellent stand or seat in an emergency. If one splits then its only 20l lost, if an aftermarket one splits (and they do...some brands with amazing regularity) then its a different matter.
AnswerID: 137996

Reply By: Member - Kimberly Kruiser (WA) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 03:29

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 03:29
Hi Melissa

What's this. Need more fuel to by-pass Kununurra next time your up here!!
Or ya going to bring extra up to flog off on the side to make some extra dosh at our highway robery prices???

Seriously though, agree that long range tanks are an absolute rip off. Unless your lucky enough to be touring on long frequent occassions I think the old jerry can is the way to go, or as someone else said, Lotto.

Wal.
AnswerID: 138000

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 18:27

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 18:27
Hi Wal, no way we'd bypass lovely Kununurra. Probably just won't be able to afford to go within a bulls roar if we have to spend much on LR tanks. Looks like you've been having a hot time of it up there lately. Been getting out in the van much?

FollowupID: 391731

Follow Up By: Member - Kimberly Kruiser (WA) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 00:54

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 00:54
G'day Melissa

Yeah, it's been a tad bit warm the past few weeks. Plenty of build up cloud but no rain.
Had a couple of weekend jaunts in the van. Starting to think about where to head off to next year for a decent run.
Good luck with the LR tanks.
Catchya Later.

Wal.
FollowupID: 391798

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 06:45

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 06:45
Has anyone looked into getting an engineering firm to knock one up...??? I have no idea how the cost would compare but perhaps it's worth the look.
AnswerID: 138003

Follow Up By: Richard & Leonie - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:01

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:01
There is a lot more to just knocking up a petrol tank than you might realise. It is a fairly specialised job having regard for safety and the effects an extra load of petrol can have sloshing about in a big tank under the car. I had an extra 75lt tank fitted to my Frontera costing $1100 supplied and fitted by Out of Town 4WD in Newcastle. Firstly Fronteras are not a common vehicle so they do not make a lot and that must have put up the price but secondly it had to be strong enough to withstand a rear end collision. As the company makes a lot of special vehicles, eg buses and trucks it was comfort to think they knew what they were doing and did not just "knock one up".
FollowupID: 391661

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 12:00

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 12:00
Well you'd think there would be some regulation in regard to collisions... I had a Long Ranger in my Daihatsu Rocky(rear mounted). It came with no information on relevant safety codes or anything else for that matter. I installed it, went to VicRoads for an inspection(as recommended by the seller for self installation) only to be told "did you do the bolts up tight?", I said yes and he said "Well what are you doing here then?" I started to laugh and was informed that no inspection was required so I left. 12months lated I T-boned a bloke who ran a red light(frontal impact to my vehicle) and the tank split open with about 80l of diesel hitting the deck. So who do you trust...??? I think I'd rather consult an engineer next time and get them to knock one up for my money.
FollowupID: 391676

Reply By: Member. Rob M (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 08:06

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 08:06
Melissa,

I had a 159Ltr fuel tank from 4WD Systems in Adelaide fitted to my GU, by my local 4WD store a couple of years ago. Sorry can't remember the price but I don't think it was too horrific. The company seemed very disorganized to deal with but the product has caused no problems so far. I think it has almost paid for itself by being able to top up when the fuel price is high and fill up when it is down. As this tank carries very close to 3 jerry cans more than the standard maybe you don't need to upgrade the auxilary tank. I recall that they often have specials where the freight for free, so if your not in a hurry maybe keep an eye on their adverting or web sight.
RoB M
Rob M

AnswerID: 138004

Follow Up By: rolande- Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 12:56

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 12:56
G'Day Rob,

These tanks are often MUCH cheaper than the competitors, just wondering about things like

1/Does is look / feel solid

2/Does the fuel gauge still read as if it was an 80ltr tank

3/Any other positive / negative comments you may have

Rolande
FollowupID: 391687

Reply By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:02

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:02
The problem these days is that fuel tanks have to meet all the regs and standards, never mind the complexities of modern vehicles, doing what we did 20 years ago and just getting a sheetmetal shop to bend one up which we fitted it ourselves is no longer possible (or legal). You can probably get away with it for a diesel ute or traytop where a simple box can be made and put in the tray, connect up a transfer pump to pump the diesel into the main tank when required but most vehicles need a ver odd shaped, specialised mountings etc etc to fit either a larger or extra tank due to space issues.
AnswerID: 138013

Reply By: kev.h - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:17

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 09:17
Hi Melissa
Keep a watch on ebay i picked a 147lt replacement tank for $125.00 it had been used for the big trip then removed they didn,t like the extra weight
Regards Kev
AnswerID: 138015

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 13:25

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 13:25
Hi Melissa

I was able to replace the sub tank on the landcruiser and got about a 170 litre tank to replace the 45 litre sub-tank. I think I paid about $1000 about three years ago. I said to myself that if I saved $150 per year by being able to fill up at cheaper fuel outlets, then that was a 15% return on my investment which was a pretty good investment I thought. Sorry about the figures .....hard to understand I guess if your not good with figures!

Though I reckon $2000 is pretty hard to justify - seems a rediculous price.
You should see my drawers - might send you a private pic.

AnswerID: 138044

Follow Up By: Member - Kimberly Kruiser (WA) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 14:49

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 14:49
Hi Big Kids

So your not going to share your drawers with everyone??

Probably a good thing aye!!

The "Moustache"
FollowupID: 391691

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 16:40

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 16:40
Oh OK - your copy is on the way but you get the censored version!

FollowupID: 391712

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 18:41

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 18:41
Those drawers look ah, umm interesting Andrew but I'm not sure how they're going to help Jenelle with storage/accessibility in the LC. Oh, sorry wrong pic - you're talking about those other drawers aren't you. They sure look like some DIY's that I kept seeing in a GU up in the Kimberley. Do you reckon those people might have copied the design ;-). Now about the LR tank..it took me awhile to get my head around the figures but I think your saying you got an extra 125L for about $1000 which makes the ARB quote for 80L for $2000 for the GU seem even more ridiculous.

FollowupID: 391733

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 13:50

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 13:50
goodday melissa
we replaced only the sub tank it gave me /us an extra 40l but kept some of the extra weight off the back for when we are towing the van.
try lra in lilydale its only a phone call ,but the cost of transport may negate any savings and you would have to arrange your own install

AnswerID: 138047

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 14:09

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 14:09
G'day Melissa, I'm not sure of the placement of the GU but on the GQ that I have, I replaced the main tank with a Long Ranger 146 litre tank. This was not very difficult and only took a half day. With this tank and a couple of jerry cans I have 206L and a decent range, even when towing the camper.
andy
AnswerID: 138050

Reply By: Grungle - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 15:03

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 15:03
Hi Melissa,

I bought a 159 litre main and 81 litre sub from 4WD Systems about 18 months ago for our GU Patrol. I have still yet to fit them (they are at a mates place waiting his help) but their quality look and feel good. Come with comprihensive instructions and all the fittings needed to do the swap. I paid $1300 for the 2 tanks ($650 each) but that was a special they were running. The only extra work need to fit these is welding an extension onto the sub tank level float and drilling a mounting hole in the chassis for the sub tank. The main tank is a straight forward fitting (according to the manual they supply).

AnswerID: 138056

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 18:47

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 18:47
Thanks David, that's more like it - an extra 105L for $1300. Will contact 4WD Systems and see what they can do for us.

FollowupID: 391735

Reply By: Member. Rob M (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 17:13

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 17:13
Rolande,
Tank looks and feels solid, I have had only one problem, which I think was fitting related and that was a leaking fuel line. The fuel guage is not as accurate as original, but the fitting was a bit hit and miss. It is nice though to cover the first 200 odd klm's before the guage starts to move.
Rob M.
Rob M

AnswerID: 138077

Reply By: Terryfied - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:57

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 19:57
Mellisa,
I am sure if you call K&N engineering in Canningvale you will find the prices to be more reasonable.I find the big 3 in Perth (ARB TJM and OL ) seem to have very similar prices which I believe to be to inflated.

Terry
AnswerID: 138104

Reply By: Peter - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:14

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:14
Melissa
Been asking the same question. Have a couple of quotes here for a 2003 GU
Ballina Truck Align Pty Ltd
145 litre - $1070
70 litre - $914 (sbu tank)
Opposite Lock (Brisbane)
145 litre - $1275
160 litre - $1465 (both supplied and fitted)
Hope it helps
AnswerID: 138124

Follow Up By: Peter - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:24

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 21:24
Sorry that should read a 170 litre for $1465, and a 70 litre sub tank (dyslexia cut in for a minute)
FollowupID: 391757

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 23:10

Sunday, Nov 06, 2005 at 23:10
Yes the price is a rort, but what isnt with 4wds? Everything starts at a Grand...

They know they have you over a barrell, and they really play it

YMMV
AnswerID: 138157

Reply By: glenno(qld) - Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:31

Monday, Nov 07, 2005 at 09:31
Just in case anyone is interested i noticed a pair of stainless steel long ranger water tanks on ebay quite cheap for a 100 series cruiser .Type in LONG RANGER .
AnswerID: 138182

Reply By: dommo - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 04:05

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 04:05
Melissa.
I hope you are still reading replies. I have replaced both main and sub tanks on my 3l Patrol- 159 main 81 sub. Both were purchased from 4wd systems in SA. A mate fitted the same tanks to his Patrol at the same time. My advice to you is to shop somewhere else. The rear bracket on my sub tank cracked (had it reapired by very helpful people at Metaland in Kununurra) after the Canning Stock Route. We continued our trip heading along The Gibb River Road, about 250k's in the sub tank fell out of my mates Patrol. 81 litres of fuel sitting in a useless tank on the road. The tank itself is quite strong, it wasn't pierced by the rear axle riding over it and only showed a small dent on the top. It took a nice chunk out of the control arm bracket on the diff. The problem is with the rear brackets. We had a design engineer look at it when we got home and he said the bracket was just strong enough to hold the tank when empty. The real insult was dealing with Tom Hewitson the proprietor. First he refused to accept that there could be a problem, then tried to blame fitting (one motor mechanic, a mechanical fitter and myself followed his intructions), then he had trouble contacting his suppier, the maker of the tanks. Eventually (4 weeks or so after returning home, 6 weeks after first contact) he decided he would like to see the tanks. Nearly 3 months later we received new sub tanks from Tom, who had told us during the delay that he had other things to do so we would just have to wait. The new tanks use the factory rear bracket just like the other tanks on the market.
The new tanks are in and havn't fallen out yet. But we've only been on the beach at Esperance since.
The price seems right at the time (I paid 650 each) but with the resistance to any kind of after sales service I recieved I wish I had paid a little more and bought something a lot better. Tom Hewittson had almost no interest in backing his product, he couldn't even return a phone call. Don't do it to yourself!
I have been told that K&N in Perth make a good tank at around the same price, they make the Strongarm wheel carriers that seem to have an excellent reputation. I've got one and have had no problems
Not that I want to be, but to be fair we have had no problems with the main tanks. They fit well and stay in(so far). The guage reads full for 400km then seems to drop as fast as it did with the standard tank. The fuel light comes on at 1/4 tank, and 1/4 drops to empty within 60km. I get 1000km from this tank driving in 4th (5th blew up) but haven't tested since repair.
I would not recommend 4wd Systems.
AnswerID: 138389

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 09:17

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 09:17
I think it's hard to find anyone that will back up their product with good customer service. Here is my experience with my long range tank.
I had a Long Range Automotive tank installed in my Rodeo. I bought it for my Cape York trip and it was good because of the extra capacity but on the way back down around Musgrave the factory tank mount snaped and the tank dropped down almost dragging along the ground. The front mount was only just supporting it but fractured the tank when it dropped. It also ripped out the wiring to the fuel pump. For the rest of the trip I couldnt fill my tank to more than half (it leaked out the fracture) and I had to use ratchet tie downs to support the tank. I spoke to LRA upon my return and they reckon I abused the tank (there were scrapes on it's belly but according to their dealer in Cairns I saw they said that was nothing compared what they'd seen) and didn't warrant the tank. I had to pay $200 to get it all repaired and apparently that was a special price. In Weipa I was talking to a local mechanic and he said nobody uses them up north only us down south.....go figure!

Leroy
FollowupID: 392016

Reply By: flappa - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 09:55

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 09:55
IMO , it really depends on how much extra you need , and how often you need it.

Lot of cost and weight if its not required very often.

Roof rack and 4 or 5 X10litre jerry's filled when required and emptied ASAP is an attractive alternative.
AnswerID: 138416

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 15:00

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 15:00
except most roofracks are around a grand... and you then get the top heavy issues...
FollowupID: 392064

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 15:45

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 15:45
Point taken , almost.

A lot of people have roofracks anyway , and are useful for other things. Chances are , if you are going bush enough to need extra fuel , then you will have a RR anyway.

Top Heavy , again , yes point taken , except, use smaller jerry's , ie , 10l rather then 20l , only fill them when needed , and empty at every opportunity , then its not that big a problem.

As I said intially though , IMO , it depends on your ONGOING requirements
FollowupID: 392082

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 15:48

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 15:48
hmmmm 4 x 10l or 2 x 20l....that is the question!

Leroy
FollowupID: 392084

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 15:58

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 15:58
See , you shouldn't lie them down , so the 10's are lower then the 20's. Also , you may or may not need all the 10's , so are likely to sloosh around a lot less then say a half empty 20.

Thats just my preference.
FollowupID: 392087

Follow Up By: Leroy - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 16:17

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 16:17
Hmmm cleaver thinking 99! But I supose there is no reason why you couldn't lie then on the back edge witht the filler up. That's better than sitting up I spose.

Leroy
FollowupID: 392094

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 16:46

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 16:46
Yeah , they say not too , dont really know why , but probably no real reason you couldn't (I have done it before).
FollowupID: 392098

Reply By: BamBam - Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 16:14

Tuesday, Nov 08, 2005 at 16:14
FYI - I have just put a replacement tank in my GQ $980 supplied and fitted at K & N in Perth.
AnswerID: 138478

Follow Up By: dommo - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 11:26

Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 11:26
How did you find the people at K&N? I've only heard good reports but haven't dealt with them directly. $980 fitted sounds allright. Did you get one tank? Sub or main?
FollowupID: 392310

Follow Up By: BamBam - Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 17:57

Thursday, Nov 10, 2005 at 17:57
K& N folk were very good. I got a replacement main tank.
FollowupID: 392596

Reply By: dommo - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 11:37

Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 11:37
Hi Leroy
Shame to hear I'm not the only one to be done over by a tank supplier. When I worked in retail sales I found the best way to keep a customer with a problem happy was to solve/fix the problem rather than try to get out of it. A happy customer tells around 7 others, unhappy cust. tell 20. I'm telling who ever I can. You'd think they would realise that people talk.
AnswerID: 138632

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 12:11

Wednesday, Nov 09, 2005 at 12:11
Working in a customer service role of sorts I find it easier to fix the problem straight away. The customer is happy, I'm happy that it's fixed, I get a good wrap from the customer it's good all round but some don't see it that way.

Leroy
FollowupID: 392320