Starting Camp Ovens

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 14, 2001 at 00:00
ThreadID: 279 Views:2719 Replies:2 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
What is the best method to "start" a Camp oven and how should they be cleaned? Are the Chinese made ones OK?
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: David - Thursday, Jun 14, 2001 at 00:00

Thursday, Jun 14, 2001 at 00:00
Hi John, i've been using the same camp oven for over 15 years, it's an import ( China, Taiwan, japan), something like that, i can't remember now, however, when you first purchase one, give it a thorough clean in hot soapy water to remove any oil & grease, then once it is clean heat it up on the stove or in the oven at home & give it a good oiling all over in vegetable oil, peanut oil, etc then wipe off any excess.
After you use it , give it a clean in a very very mild detergent, rinse in fresh water & give it a very light oil again, do this each time you use it & eventually it will form a non stick surface.
You can use your camp oven on a bed of coals, over an open fire, on the stove at home, even in the oven at home, you can make some fantastic meals in them, also if you are looking at buying a camp oven , look at buying a second smaller one that fits inside the other, that way you can cook your damper to have with that lamb stew, my advice is get a couple, you won't be diappointed.
Cheers, David, A-TREK CAMPER & CAMPING HIRE, Brisbane.
AnswerID: 633

Reply By: Joe - Saturday, Jun 16, 2001 at 00:00

Saturday, Jun 16, 2001 at 00:00
I agree with the previous comments about having two camp ovens - it is well worth while.

As for starting them, well I started mine in the following manner: