fraser island

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 19:06
ThreadID: 28041 Views:4622 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
Gday peoples,

I trawled through the forums but couldnt really find anything on driving a jimny at fraser.

Mines pretty stock standard (though I have tow points on it - not a standard)

I know that you can rent them on fraser, just wondering how they'd go on some of the inland tracks where sand softer?

I used to have a GQ patrol with 2" lift but sold it to me brother out west, just wondering if need to drive jimny much differently (apart from the small engine) cos ground clearance is pretty poor.

I done a fair bit of trail driving and it handles it fine, just wondering if neone could let me know?

Reply By: glenno(qld) - Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 19:43

Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 19:43
Extract from a 4wd hire mob "The Suzuki Jimny is perfect for a comfortable get away for 2 people on the Island(fraser). The vehicle is similar in size to the Suzuki Sierra however will provide a little more comfortable trip."
AnswerID: 139117

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 21:13

Saturday, Nov 12, 2005 at 21:13

I would think you will get around pretty well. Nearly everyone at one time or another gets bogged on Fraser. Just drive to the conditions.

One of my sons takes his stock Sierra over when we go and he gets everywhere most of the time without a hassle. As far as driving differently in the soft sand he sometimes has to use low range when others may stay in high but otherwise he just lowers his tyre pressures to around 20psi, and keeps his vehicle moving especially in soft sand and he has a great time.

The only hassle he has at times and it doesn't stop him, is that a lot of the wheel ruts are made by vehicles with a wider wheel base than him so he finds himself sort of straddling the tracks a bit differently to bigger vehicles, but he still manages to get there.

I would say go for it.
AnswerID: 139124

Follow Up By: craig - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 02:01

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 02:01
A Sierra's standard tyre pressure is 20psi.

Light weight 4wds like the Sierra and Jimny are perfect for sand or Fraser Island.
FollowupID: 392897

Reply By: kiss'n'dirt - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 11:35

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 11:35
We've had heavy rain up here in the last few weeks.
The rain was suppose to compact the sand but with the 4WD tour buses going through, they've actually dig them up a bit in sections.

You shouldn't have a problem on the inland tracks. But if you see deep rutts, you better give it a bit to plough through it.

The only other place that's always a problem unless you're in a Patrol, is Indian Head Bypass. 2 sections with soft sand. hard pack inthe middle for a stop.

Low tyre pressure, have someone walk up, look and stop on coming traffic. Pick your track and go. Don't stop until you're on the hard stuff. You'll need to do this twice to go one way. There's always dumb arse back packers in there.

If you're going up the island from Inskip... The inland track is almost done. They were still cleaning it up not too long ago. This is for high tide runs only.

Low tide on the beach - you have 1 1/2 hrs either side of Low to get through hook point. I was 2 1/2" of low and half my Pajero at the time was in the pacific with water over the roof. Wife wasn't too impressed.

Want more info, just post me..

I'm always there. one of the most peaceful places you can go and hide.

Enjoy.. Steve
AnswerID: 139164

Reply By: zook - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 12:20

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 12:20
thanks peoples,

yer i figured it'd run alright just have to drive it heaps harder i guess ;)

Thanks Steve for the update after the rains, pretty useful.

Do you reckon is the best way is from Inskip, heard its bit more 'exciting'.

Anyways, thank you peoples for answering!

AnswerID: 139170

Follow Up By: kiss'n'dirt - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 15:58

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 15:58
It depends which way you're coming in. Coming up the is boring. 34km to reach Eurong.

Your alternative is from River heads across the bay to land at Kingfisher Bay and come across the island. 45 mins on barge. through middle of island. Track can get very soft just outside of kingfisher bay because of their tour buses. You'll be using the loud pedal a bit.

Are you going to camp or staying in house??? Where you coming from??

can give you a better answer with them info.
FollowupID: 392917

Reply By: zook - Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 23:37

Sunday, Nov 13, 2005 at 23:37
I'd be coming up from Brisbane. I noticed a couple of people said going up rainbow beach is worth it?

I'll be camping, so the suzi will be pretty low till i get to a spot to dump the heavy stuff (esky etc).

Yer last time I went over (bout 6 yrs ago) was via kingfisher but was no trouble cos had a patrol and had rained recently, but I noticed a couple of wranglers were bogged after trying to snatch each other out, was pretty funny - the type of people who if you offer a hand say they're fine and get the shovel out and start digging :P(they're pretty low as a standard model - i guess?, could just be the drivers ;)

The other thing is when is the island the busiest cos i'd like to avoid that time :)

AnswerID: 139242

Follow Up By: kiss'n'dirt - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 12:35

Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 12:35
Definitely go Inskip... much quicker. Fuel up at Shell at Rainbow.
Support the Manta Ray. Green and yellow. The new barge also belongs to Kingfisher.

Manta Ray has 2 barges usually which means less waiting time to come back on main land. The KF/Bay barges are fast taking you over to the island but a bastard of a wait to come back. I waited one time for so long that the Manta had 2 runs while i just sat there waiting for the KF Barge.

I always go bituman to Gympie and out to Rainbow.

I've done the cooloola thing up the beach and cross over to Rainbow.
Gives me the sh*ts. To some it's a novelty. I prefer the cruise control on black top.

Mate went that way one time and some wanker was bogged in the bypass track. He nearly missed the last barge because he couldn't get around.

Busy times.. from 2nd week of school holidays. Usually 17th onwards.

That's why i go late Nov to mid Dec.

Enjoy your trip

FollowupID: 393004

Follow Up By: rocketsalad - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 11:30

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 11:30
I am no way connected to Manta Ray but always use them when I travel to Fraser Island via Rainbow Beach. The other barge is owned by Kingfisher Bay Resort. (mostly Japanese owned by Recruit Cosmos)

(Posted from their news letter)

Manta Ray Barge News
dear valued customer, please take a moment to read this-

{YOUR CHOICE FOR THE FUTURE}

Thankyou for using the Manta Ray Barge today. We are an independent local family run business that has been operating for 5 years.

A number of retail outlets sell tickets for our competitors barges and they might try to tell you that you must have tickets in advance ... so they try to get all the cars before they get to the barge.

With MANTA RAY BARGE you don't need to pre-book or buy tickets in advance ... simply drive on and pay on our boat. If too many people are persuaded to buy tickets for the other barge or the other company before they reach us, Manta Ray Barge will no longer be able to offer you a choice.

So please remember the name MANTA RAY BARGE and tell your friends to come down to the barge and buy their ticket on the barge.

credit card facility now on board

END

FollowupID: 394761

Follow Up By: rocketsalad - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 11:32

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 11:32
Manta Ray web site
http://www.greenbarge.com/
FollowupID: 394762

Reply By: zook - Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 22:49

Monday, Nov 14, 2005 at 22:49
Thanks for that!

heaps of help, i will have a great trip don't worry bout that, be hard not to!

AnswerID: 139417