Nissan Patrol Model Differences

Submitted: Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 03:33
ThreadID: 28248 Views:12517 Replies:9 FollowUps:25
So I'm from California, coming to Oz for my first time (Iknow, stay home seppoyank). Family of four, wish to buy a larger diesel SUV and am trying to familiarize myself with your gear overthere. We'll be travelling west oz for six months, 3in the southwest and 3 renting a camper trailer.
Question is Nissan or Toyota don't sell diesels here. Although I'm familiar with Landcruiser's, I know nothing about Patrols, so could I get a little info on them, they seem to be less expensive than Toyotas, on the used sites. And difference between TI, ST,.....

Reply By: Member - John - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 03:47

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 03:47
Dagoboy, this link may help you. http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Patrol4WD

AnswerID: 140193

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 04:15

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 04:15
Have you driven a diesal before? Either will probably be very slow in Non turbo form if you are used to driving those 7+ litre v8s we picture all yanks driving. In non turbo form the prices are very simular it is the turbos where there is a price disparitythis is for 2 reasons
1) In the 80s cruiser vs the GQ (1990s approx) turbo the 80 turbos were darn good in a darn good vehicle but fairly uncommon - good vehicles but now overpriced for their age
2) later model 100 series td even better TD than the 80 in a not so good vehicle (better on road not so good off) now with intercooler not available in base model and Toyota well and truly charge for the TD.
In the later model Nissan GQ you get a choice of TD motors - the Hi tech 3.0 litre 4cyl - very common 2nd hand and probably the (actually definitly) the cheapest way to get into a late model full turbo diesal size 4by
then there is the the 4.2 litre turbo diesal which are less common as they are dearer new then the 3.0l and only available in manuel. They are fairly desirable 2nd hand as they are the only factory turbo diesal full size 4by still sporting a ridgid front end and old school simple donk. Although this is not what the majority of city bound 4by owners want ,demand from the rest keeps prices at a premium to the 3.0l. Someone is also bound to mention the earlier 3.0l and perhaps the later ones have a bad habit of expiring - but I will leave that alone.
For trim specifications of the Patrol (DX, St, TI) Patrol owners will have to answer that
BTW what budget do you have?
DISCLAIMER: I am unashamedly a yota man so any innacuracies in the above discriptions please feel free to make corrections Nissan Brigade

Disclaimer
AnswerID: 140194

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 06:39

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 06:39
Ho Davoe, Great description Davoe, i just hope he can handle all the aussie slang you replied in LOL.... Michael
FollowupID: 393880

Follow Up By: Dagoboy - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 06:57

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 06:57
I gotta learn the Aussie slang sometime, I learned to speak spanish from travelling in Mexico. I do own a great big diesel truck, 2003 Dodge 3500 4X4 (one ton with 8 ft. bed), it has a 6.0 liter, straight six, 24 valve, Cummins turbo-diesel with intercooler. I'd like to take it over with me so you guys can all shake your heads at the crazy yank, but it looks like too much hassle for a temporary import.
as for my budget it looks like $12500 for my vehicle, hoping I can get most of it back when its time to go. I've been checking autotrader.com.au, ninemsn, and of course Explor Oz trader, Any other good used car sites, hopefully for West Oz.
FollowupID: 393881

Follow Up By: Dagoboy - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 07:06

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 07:06
Davoe,
I got most of that, I'm figuring by rigid front end you mean, Leafs vs Coil springs, or do you mean a "wishbone like my old 88 toyota pickup?
And I gotta admit you totally lost me with "donk". I'm sure its a technical term, but I didn't go to technical school!!!
FollowupID: 393882

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 09:30

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 09:30
Dagoboy, "donk" is Aussie slang for engine i.e. donkey as opposed to horsepower. Just to chuck in a wobbly one, investigate the idea of bringing out one of your monster trucks, get it converted to R/H drive and sell it when you have finished with it. The price you get might just pay for your holiday. BEWARE the fuel price ripoff when you get here though. We currently pay around $1.25 per litre for unleaded fuel and you will pay more in outback locations. (It is cheaper in major centres)
FollowupID: 393889

Follow Up By: Exploder - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 18:03

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 18:03
Ridged front-end> means sold Axle up front, no IFS
Sort of like the TTB front end on the first generation Explores.
FollowupID: 393955

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 07:40

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 07:40
donk = engine...
http://www.carsales.com.au
AnswerID: 140197

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 08:47

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 08:47
This is a a wind up.

Poster purports to be from California and knows nothing about Aussie slang but uses a screenname which is particular to Australia harking back to the 1950's.

Prove me wrong!
AnswerID: 140204

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 08:56

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 08:56
Could very well be, however, "dago" is not uniquely Australian as the Yanks have used it for quite some time.

origin of dago
FollowupID: 393888

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 09:35

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 09:35
G'day Donut muncher,
Dago boy posted a week or so ago and in a follow up, he said he was from San Diego and from Italian root stock (No pun intended. OK yes i did mean it but what the heck)
cya
Berri Donuts

FollowupID: 393890

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 09:38

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 09:38
Gramps

Well there you go. You learn something every day. The term has also been used in South Africa as I recall.

Onya Donuts

How is the Cross8 ute doing? Bogged it yet lol

FollowupID: 393892

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 09:53

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 09:53
Fair go, I don't want to get it dirty yet LOL Incidently, it's only a 6, didn't want to push my luck on an 8. LOL
FollowupID: 393893

Follow Up By: Dagoboy - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 11:34

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 11:34
Good on ya ( see I'm picking up the aussie already) Des, you may br lexic but have a memory. Dago fits the bill for born in San Diego (dago) and two generations off the boat from the boot of Europe (dago, wop, greaser...all yank terms of eneardment and affection).
FollowupID: 393903

Reply By: garrycol - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 09:51

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 09:51
Dagoboy - do yourself a favour by bypass thye jap crap - they are so unreliable, blowing engines, 5th gear in gearboxes packing it bin , front suspension cracking - recalls - it goes on and on -

Get a nice diesel Landrover Discovery instead :-)

Gazzz
AnswerID: 140214

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 09:54

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 09:54
Gazzz, he's coming out here for a holiday, not a nightmare.
FollowupID: 393894

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 10:44

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 10:44
Or an Austin Champ.....or an International Scout.....or a Dodge Cummins ....or two Lada Nivca's LOL

Jap crap might be faulty and go bang but there are parts everywhere.

Landrover goes bang...whooohoooo....no parts locally. Has to be imported........... hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 393896

Follow Up By: Dagoboy - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 11:51

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 11:51
Sorry, Gazzz but my impression of landrovers are kinda like really plush golf carts, maybe thats just the way they come off here in the states.
But again we don't get the diesels here.

Willem, you guys have Scouts over there, it was my first 4X4, but your point on parts availibilty is well taken, its why you don't take a Mazda to Baja, or a subaru, or a land rover, or a Kia, or a whiny chick with lots of makeup and a manicure!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 393906

Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 12:27

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 12:27
Oh and for god sake don't do a Simpson crossing towing a trailer either, you'll never make it.

thats sarcasm by the way, in case you were wondering
[ View Image]
FollowupID: 393909

Follow Up By: garrycol - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 13:34

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 13:34
Nah - just feelin naughty this morning and lookin for a nice rise, which normally happens when Landrovers or Jeeps are mentioned.

Didn't really happen today just got people who play the game but don't bite.

Look, get what you feel happy with - as long as it is in good nick you should be right but I would be a bit wary of 3 litre TD Patrols of about 2001 vintage (not being provocative now). Do a search and you will see what I mean.

Otherwise enjoy - you will have fun no matter what you choose.

Garry
FollowupID: 393923

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 15:43

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 15:43
Nothing wrong with a trailer in the Simpson and take a boat as well!

See,

!MPG:8!
FollowupID: 393933

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 17:14

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 17:14
Hey Baz

What wrong with the View Image bit. All I got was a hammer and a pair of baloons(or thats what it looked like). Under construction? lol

Anyway you were proudly going top show us how the Disco towed the camper over Big Red,eh?

FollowupID: 393943

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 18:10

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 18:10
my impression of landrovers are kinda like really plush golf carts,
Geez Yankeeboy,you idea of plush is a bit off target isn't it. I wouldn't even give them that much praise. Best use I can come up with is for a tinny anchor.
FollowupID: 393957

Follow Up By: Dagoboy - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 12:38

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 12:38
Okay, how about overpriced golf carts, the LR and range rover over here are all luxury models, and very rarely used as "real" off road rigs.
FollowupID: 394051

Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 11:13

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 11:13
Hi, with a budget of $12,500 I'd say a GQ Nissan Patrol would be the way to go. Tough as guts, coil springs, fairly comfortable etc. Sold from 1988 to 1997 I think. Go the 4.2 diesel. A proven performer (and I'm a Toyota driver BTW). The 60 series Toyota Landcruisers are fantastic, but have leaf springs so they're not as comfortable.

Any particular reason you want a diesel? How far out of the way are you going? A lot of modern petrol powered 4x4's are cheaper to buy and in my opinion have the edge for reliability and servicing costs. I'd rather spend an extra grand on juice and travel in a more modern vehicle with half the km's. In Australia we unfortunatley inherited the English taste for seriously underpowered vehicles and tend accept fairly anaemic and lame performance as OK. Crawling up hills at 60kph irritates me.

Give me a call when you hit Perth. I know quite a few 4x4 people around the traps who can help with your new rig. I've got a reasonably well equipped workshop if you need to fit or repair anything.

I also have a heap of maps and useful stuff that'll keep you pointing in the right direction.

My e-mail is v.8@bigpond.net.au
AnswerID: 140223

Follow Up By: Dagoboy - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 14:15

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 14:15
We don't see any small or non turbo diesels over here (not since the late 1980's). My Dodge has the 6.0 liter, in line six, with turbo-intercooler, 5 speed automatic with tranny cooler. Its a 24 valve with 3-inch exhaust, so it breathes easy in and out. 350HP and 505 torque. Thats because the Cali smog restrictions, the "49 state" versions have the "high output" engine, even bigger numbers.
So you guys with your local knowledge is a big help. My preference for diesels is based on "over here", better fuel cosumption, engine life, ease of repair, and TORQUE.
How far "out there"? I've been known to make rather long diversions, irregardless of original destinations ( made it home over 250 miles with a smoked front diff yoke bearing, stopping to pull out metal chunks and refill gear oil every 25 miles or so, no I couldn't get the drive shaft out, but I have that size,1 5/8", socket now). So, ease of repair (patch up and limp home) and parts availibility are a factor
FollowupID: 393926

Follow Up By: Exploder - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 18:00

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 18:00
Agree would try for a GQ 4.2Turbo diesel if you can. 2.8 Turbo Patrol= Gutless, 3itre turbo= To risky

Nothing wrong with the 4.2 non-turbo but it would be a big shock >Power wise after driving around with a Cummins under the Bonnet or HOOD.

I would stay away from the 3-Litre GU patrols (No offence to owners of them) But you are hear for a Holladay and the last thing you need is a Turbo or engine blowing half way between Meekatharra and Newman, no matter how remote the possibility.

Also one more positive about choosing a Nissan, is no EX Miners to try and sort throe. By Ex miner I mean Ex mining compony vehicles I.E Thrashed and bathed in hi mineral concentrated water full of stuff like salt, from Pit floors and roads. Mining companies don’t run Nissan’s.

FollowupID: 393954

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 07:22

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 07:22
Yeah, in your price range what the Australian market regards as acceptable may be a frustrating dissapointment. Having spent a bit of time with the Chev 6.5 & 7.3 Navistar V8, and a lot of time behind the wheel of Nissans and Toyota's, there's no contest.

I'll e-mail you when I can. Gotta go.....
FollowupID: 394016

Reply By: Turbo - Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 17:03

Monday, Nov 21, 2005 at 17:03
dont forget thats $12.500 U.S=$$$$
AnswerID: 140264

Follow Up By: Dagoboy - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 12:41

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 12:41
Actually I meant $AUD 12500, or about $USD 10000.
FollowupID: 394053

Reply By: chips - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 03:27

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 03:27
what a load of c..p I have a 1999 patrol DX 4.2 nonturbo X griffincoal bought it at auction at 13months old 106000 on clock snorkel and cargo barrier fitted spent $500 paint and panel smart bar steps$1500.one set front brakes oil& filters every 5-6000k.now has 207000 on clock and still getting in "old language"22mpg city driving.with camper in tow perth to exmouth last month 21.8 mpg engine and gearbox never missed a beat at any time. love my PATROL. All this for inital out lay of $25000 so eat your harts out
AnswerID: 140376

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 07:08

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 07:08
Your point being...??????
FollowupID: 394015

Follow Up By: Dagoboy - Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 12:48

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2005 at 12:48
Chips, that about the same mpg I get with my Dodge. Do you think it averages out with better mpg vs higher price for diesel?
FollowupID: 394055

Reply By: Tex Mac - Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 22:46

Tuesday, Nov 29, 2005 at 22:46
G'day dago boy, I know you will enjoy OZ even if you do limit yourself to the west. In regards to your questions regarding Nissan or Toyota 4wd's. All I can say is, "dont let all the bull bleep and waffle baffle you" You will get heaps of that both in U.S. and here and there is no shortage of loud mouth know all Aussies, you better believe it. Having said that, I'll simply add this. Nissans tend to be cheaper than Cruisers for a reason. The late model Nissans are good but the earlier you go the less good they are. Toyota landcruisers are more expensive for a very good reason. They have a proven track record in Australia. If you can pick up a well looked after Cruiser regardless of age you should be O.K. As long as they have been serviced regulaly they will just keep on going. There are still very good 60 series out there. A good early 1990s 80 series turbo diesel will rarely let you down. One further point. In some outback areas Diesel can be more readily available than petrol. And dont forget to budget for the possibility of near $2.00 AUD per litre.

Now that I have had my loudmouth Aussie opinion I'll simply say enjoy OZ when you get here. But you may not want to leave!

Adam.
AnswerID: 141612