Which Winch?

Submitted: Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 09:38
ThreadID: 28358 Views:4232 Replies:12 FollowUps:42
Thinking of buying a winch,having read disturbing reports about well known brand name winches letting folk down..I thought I would draw on the experience of the people of Exploroz,as I only have one chance of getting a good one...so what do you recomend?.
JD

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:34

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:34
Whatever brand you get, buy the biggest that you can afford and maintain it regularly. Nothing like burning out the winch because it won't pull the skin off a rice pudding !
AnswerID: 140932

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:52

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:52
Hi Footloose,
Thanks for your advice.
JD
FollowupID: 394597

Reply By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:39

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:39
Hello JD,
If I was in the market for a new winch I'd be seriously looking at the Ox Hydraulic from TJM.
Some will say the hydraulic won't work without the engine, this is true. The bottom line for electric is the same, you really need the engine running to put a small percentage of what you are taking out back into the battery.
Years ago I had a couple of different Landcruisers with Toyota genuine PTO winches, terrific winch.
Every time I've used one in anger its been for what I'd call long periods of time (anything greater than 30 minutes to me is a long time), something the electric winches are somewhat allergic too.
I remember one memorable weekend in Barrington Tops back before it was tightened down, we'd gone into a very remote area on the Saturday. It bucketed down on Saturday night.
We sent 9 hours on the Sunday winching six vehicles out!
Had a couple of electrics that where gone in the first hour. They recovered Ok after a cool down and battery charge period.
They really are horses for courses. If someone else chooses something different to my opinion and it works, I say go for it.

Geoff.

AnswerID: 140935

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:01

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:01
Hi Geoff M,
Thanks for you advice,have seen the hydraulic winch and was impresed..It will probably be a couple of week before I make my move..Ijust want to cover all bases before I shell out my money.
JD
FollowupID: 394599

Reply By: glenno(qld) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:40

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:40
Warn high mount .
You can pull everything apart and put it back together .
http://www.pirate4x4.com/tech/billavista/8274/
AnswerID: 140936

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:10

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:10
Hi Glenno,
Thanks for your input,I had a look at the link very interesting.
JD
FollowupID: 394601

Reply By: ThePunter - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:41

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 10:41
I went down the cheap (Repco - $800 at the time, but cheaper $700 now I think) winch route. Before I installed it, I sent it off to S & G Leslie in West Heidelberg in Melbourne and they waterproofed it etc. for $100. If it breaks I am sure that I can send it back to them and they will be capable of fixing it for me. I have used it a couple of times mainly just testing it and it has performed well.

You will get lots of different comments on this forum but I am happy with this set up for $800 - $900.

The Punter.
AnswerID: 140937

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:15

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:15
Hi ThePunter,
Hmm,yes I have seen these winches aswell..definately like the price..but I remember a forumite had to turn his upside down to fit it! doesn,t appeal to me...I want to just bolt the the winch in and go!.Thanks for your input.
JD
FollowupID: 394602

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:26

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:26
JD,

Having to rotate the clutch is common in most of these winches, and easy to do.

Every install is slightly different, and different people need the clutch to be accessable in different places. The winches come with the clutch on top of the unit, 180 degrees from the feet of the winch.

I know in a standard patrol bar, the winch bolts in on it's side, with the feet pointing forwards, so the clutch will be pointing towards the radiator of the car. A couple of nuts and bolts and a few allan key bolts to undo, and the whole thing rotates easily.

When you do end up buying one, I can send you the instructions if you need.

Chump
FollowupID: 394606

Follow Up By: Peter McGuckian (Member) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:06

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:06
Chump

Can you please send me the instructions? have mine fitted but would be good to rotate the clutch handle.

FollowupID: 394614

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:16

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:16
All very well but try putting your vehicle in 1st low with the handbrake on - Does it drag your vehicle along? if not it shure as heck wont pull it out of a bog
FollowupID: 394618

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:15

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:15
Peter,

Email me at chumpion at tpg dot com dot au, and I'll spec out something tonight.

I've got one in pieces in the shed, so I'll take some happy snaps if I can.

FollowupID: 394630

Follow Up By: Utemad - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:25

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:25
I have the 10000 pound Ox hydraulic. I had it on my Rodeo but now on the garage floor awaiting my next vehicle. I have never had any trouble recovering myself with it (dry bogged only due to belly outs). However my Rodeo would weigh heaps less than your loaded Patrol and camper. I have had to recover others with it and sometimes it prefers to drag me to them. Even on a hard surface with my foot on the brake! I'm happy with it.
FollowupID: 394635

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:29

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:29
Utemad,

You've got it in one. The winch is simply a device that will pull in one direction at a maximum force. Thats it. If the bogged weight is enough to exert a greater force in the opposite direction, it would be time to start digging.....

There are so many factors to a recovery.
FollowupID: 394638

Follow Up By: ThePunter - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 15:10

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 15:10
Davoe,

About four months ago, with three vehicles, we spent about 15 hours HAND winching up the side of a mountain. No bog-holes just clay and wet rocks. We all had mud tyres but none of us could get any traction. After that I went out and bought an electronic winch.

I know this will not always get me out of trouble but we will alway carry at least 2 snatch blocks, extension ropes, a hand winch and a high lift jack. The electric winch will just make the job a little bit easier next time.

P.S The other two vehicles had winches. The first one with an electric which finaly got some traction and went straight to the top. The second one had a PTO winch but the shear pin broke. Never leave home without a hand winch!

FollowupID: 394645

Reply By: WheelTravel - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:08

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:08
Ox for sure... they don't need serviceing...unlike warn
AnswerID: 140942

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:45

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:45
What do you have WheelTraval , an electric or hydraulic ox .
FollowupID: 394596

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:19

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:19
Hi WheelTravel,
Thats two for the hyd unit..I would say they need visual inspection which in a way is serviceing..but less work is allways good.Thanks for your input.
JD
FollowupID: 394604

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:19

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:19
JD,

We are going to start bringing over some hydraulic 15000lb units soon. If thats the way you want to go, let me know, because we will be looking for a first group to buy them at a good discount, but keep us informed of their progress.

We are thinking around the $1500 - $1700 mark at this stage. Depends on the final product.

Kinda like market research...

Chump
FollowupID: 394632

Follow Up By: WheelTravel - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:49

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:49
Yeah hydraulic...

Slower, but who cares... winching is not something you wanna do fast anyway...usually you're in a precarious situation.

As I'm aware, their gearbox is fully sealed, so if you drown it, it doesn't matter, where as the Warn, you have to repack the grease or they will seize up over time.

FollowupID: 394640

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 15:01

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 15:01
Hi WheelTravel,
waterproof definately a concern,but I have seen elect ones waterproofed aswell,as to what they waterproof I havn't enquired about it yet.speed of winch not really a concern.I mean who wants to pull a tree over fast exspecialy when your in the direct line of fall,,in some case.Thanks for youe input.
JD
FollowupID: 394643

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 22:40

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 22:40
"Slower, but who cares... winching is not something you wanna do fast anyway..."
So wheel travel you're recovering a rolled car, the fuel is spilling out. NOT in a Hurry?
You're in a stinking bog & the muds coming in through the doors, not in a hurry?
You're in a river & getting swept away..................yes I know, you're still not in a Hurry which is just as well as you have a hydraulic winch!
Lets not under estimate the advantage of a quick winch :-) I'm yet to hear of anyone with a fast winch who wants to slow it down.

Best winch for a recreation 4x4er IMHO: Warn 8000lb high mount if it will fit in the bar. Best low mount. Ramsey 9500lb platinum.(Excellent weight Vs line pull Vs speed) Both very reliable.
Cheers Craig...........
FollowupID: 394722

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 22:52

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 22:52
Hi Crackles,
thanks for your input..I can see your piont..I have been to the ramsey site and watched their video..another bloke I know recomended the ramsey winch..I have to go low mount because thats how my roo bar has been made.Thanks again.
JD
FollowupID: 394727

Reply By: davros_who - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:59

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 11:59
This One looks good.....
If you beleive the blurb, it is the one that TJM is flogging at the moment. It is 24v, but I see in the specs that 12v is mentioned as well. Might be worth a look, as the specs are spot on IMO.

If you get one, please give it a really good workout, and post results here. I want to get a good/cheap one as well. :)

AnswerID: 140949

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:32

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:32
Hi Davros_who,
The price of these,I think they are chinese winches are definately appealing..and one sits and ponders are the dearer brand name winches badge engineered..I remember when anything made in japan was was junk...err..cought...not there cars but other stuff..but now they seem to have act together..so then it was taiwan was junk...have they sorted out ther quality? so now China has recently been produceing products for our markets ...makes me wonder about the the quality..as I rarely by the best but look for quality balance with price.Thanks for your input.
JD
FollowupID: 394607

Reply By: chump_boy - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:03

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:03
Let me say upfront I sell winches and recovery gear.

I would say it depends on what you need it for. For the average urban warrior, an electric unit would be fine. Most of us would be lucky to use a winch more than 5 or 6 times a year.

A hydraulic would set you back, i would say $2500. I don't think you can get a PTO for a patrol. A decent hand winch would be about $600 (i think).

I'm not saying anything about my company name, but we sell 12000lb electric units, with rollers, remote, mounting plate and a dust cover for $770. Add a 9M extension / tree trunk protector, a snatch block and a drag chain and the cost is $880.

The prices have dropped dramatically in the past couple of years, so much so that a winch is no longer one of those magical pieces of equipment urban warriors (ermmm...i mean city based 4WDer's) aimed to one day own......(like ARB Air Lockers, or a huge Engel fridge, etc....)

Chump
AnswerID: 140950

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:18

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:18
Sorry, just a bit of a follow up.

On a patrol weight shouldn't be too much of an issue, but there seems to be two types of winches being sold at the moment.

Some are 60kg plus, while others are around the 35kg mark. If you are installing one by yourself, or having to stuff around trying to fabricate a cradle, one of the lighter ones may be better....

FollowupID: 394603

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:56

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 12:56
Hi Chump_boy,
I remember a post where you stated you owned a 4by place..but as you know if dont call a spade a spade with us 4by owners your name gos by the way side..so any thing you say will definately be listened to and taken on board..I think the the 40 kilo winch is heavy enought..looking at maybe a 10.000 pound one..enought to pull my truck and camper out if I get stuck..me I like to have more capability than I really need..while we seem to get by with our snatch straps( god bless them) and I probably wouldn't use it enought to justafy it, my gut is saying it is worth the weight..nothing worse than getting stuck out bush.Thank for the information on the rotation of the clutch on your other follow up.
FollowupID: 394612

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:12

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:12
Hey Chump,

You said once sometimes there was a sense of satisfaction when you signed off with that name as it could be seen as a statement about the party you were addressing, but it doesn't work as well when you're the addressee. Sorry I digress! Is there any way that you know that these 35kg, 12000lb electric winches can have a mounting plate made up which allows them to be fitted to an alloy bull bar?
FollowupID: 394617

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:21

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:21
If you thik a 10,000p winch will pull you and your camper out from a half decent bog - think again I have failed on 2 occasions> In my experience winches are fine for fail to proceed type boggings but hi lifts work wonders when you are sitting on your belly
FollowupID: 394619

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:37

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:37
Hi Davoe,
Yeah I know,we have members who have been 4wdriving for 20 years plus and wouldn't have a winch,,they say there never needed one..and I must say neither have I but alas I carry spinal injurie and to much thysical stuff gets me reaching for pian killers..so with me it all helps,and They have said a high lift jack is just as good..and there advice has held me off until now,Its just starting to become clear that its definatly a recovery item worth having,and if I don't move on it life will take the money anyway..still making my mind up?.Thanks for your input.
JD ps for Chump_boy I hit the enter button before I signed off
FollowupID: 394621

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:13

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:13
JD,

I don't own a 4by place. I actually work for the Chinese government, and am heavily involved in imports and exports. My wife and I import recovery equipment as a sideline. It is turning into a little more than a sideline, but thats another story. I'm also a civil engineer, and an IT manager.

Truth be known, a patrol, fully loaded, could be around 3000kg. thats about 65000lb. In the right situations, a 15000lb winch will not get you out of a bog, let alone a 10000lb. Mud can be sticky bloody stuff! Nothing but to dig / use a high lift / use a hand winch to go backwards / etc....

BUT, only you know the type of driving you'll be doing. I find now I have a winch installed, I tend to aim a little deeper into the mud, and climb the slightly steeper hills....lol

Davoe,

It will all depend on the bar. The mounting channels are a piece of steel, in the shape of a U-Beam. The winch sits down inside the sides. The hard part is finding a point to bolt the channel to on the chasis of the car.

Most bars can be modified, but it is a cost / benefit thing. I just paid $650 to have my TJM steel bar modified to accept the winch, and that included cutting all sorts of holes, and mounting the winch itself. A new bar would have looked nicer, and I could have done the install myself, but I had it modified to see how the whole process worked.

Wombat...

I'm a chump.

Chump
FollowupID: 394629

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:23

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:23
"It will all depend on the bar. The mounting channels are a piece of steel, in the shape of a U-Beam. The winch sits down inside the sides. The hard part is finding a point to bolt the channel to on the chasis of the car." This appears to suggest that it would be necessary to purchase the winch and then take it and the vehicle to an engineer for advise on the compatibility. Is this what you're saying?
FollowupID: 394633

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:26

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:26
Wombat,

It would all depend on the Bull Bar. If it wasn't designed to have a winch installed, then it may not be possible.

FollowupID: 394636

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:28

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:28
I figured that would be the case. Thanks for that.
FollowupID: 394637

Follow Up By: flappa - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 15:06

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 15:06
Quote:

Truth be known, a patrol, fully loaded, could be around 3000kg. thats about 65000lb.

That would be an extra "0" in there wouldn't it.

3000 kg's is about 6600 pounds ?
FollowupID: 394644

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 15:11

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 15:11
LOL.......Sorry bout that.

Although, I'm sure if my wife was allowed to pack the car, 65000lb would be achievable.....
FollowupID: 394647

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 15:15

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 15:15
Hey Chump_boy,
So true my missis would throw in the kitchen sink if I let her!..but being the softy I am I made her one that stays with the camper..funny lookin dummy thought.
JD
FollowupID: 394648

Reply By: Member - JD - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:35

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:35
Hi Chump_boy,
OK,you own a promising side line,nothing derogative was ment by it,so true only I know what sort of driving I do.and make no mistake I have no misconceptions about the ability or the lack of ability of winch of a winch to get you out of trouble..as i have seen less capable truck go where more capable truck cant go because of operator inexperience..and I to will have to learn how to use it properly..and I have experienced the draw to more challeging stuff because of experience..but common sence keeps me safe..I once bumped into this bloke who had his truck setup for hard core and I said to him you could probably go anywere in that ..and he replyed to me no just takes me further to get stuck...I thought OK must had been a stupid thing I said to him..but now I no why...he said that..anyway Chump_boy thanks for your input..interesting.
JD
AnswerID: 140974

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:55

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:55
True true. Previos job we used tough tyres that had ruck style tread - hopeless in mud but they didnt dig down so whenever we failed to proceed winching was quick and easy. Now i have tyres with thick side trad blocks they almost instentaneusly dig you down to the diffs and belly when hitting soft stuff and ---- well the winch wont get you out without additional work (warn 10,000p)
FollowupID: 394641

Reply By: glenno(qld) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 15:09

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 15:09
Theres quite a few winches in the trading post .
http://www.trading-post.com.au/
AnswerID: 140984

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 16:15

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 16:15
Hi Glenno,
Thanks for that I didn't think of that.
JD
FollowupID: 394654

Reply By: brian - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 17:43

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 17:43
I have 10000lb ox winch on patrol biggest problem is anchoring the patrol,with a short roll out no snatch block it drags the patrol across concrete with all wheels locked my mates electric warn wont move his on the same driveway,water hasent effected it yet,and it works first time every time.Safety is the priority not speed.
AnswerID: 141004

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 18:37

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 18:37
Hi Brian,
Thes are comparisons that are good to hear..you start building an understanding form these,and I agree safety is paramount..how long have you had your winch ? is this comparison under controled circamstance?is it just as good in the thick of things??Thanks for your input.
JD
FollowupID: 394675

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 18:38

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 18:38
Thats funny , i tried to pull a palm stump out with my warn (8000lb high mount) with a single line pull . I had the handbrake on , bricks under the front wheels and it still dragged the troopy along the cement driveway . So there !!!!! la da dee da .
FollowupID: 394676

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 19:18

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 19:18
Hi Glenno,
Both these winches sound good,but both these comparisons seem to be under controled circumstance,how would they go were it counts?? out bush where the only way home is not as you left a few hours before..this is the real test..I would say by the souds of things either winch would be better than no winch..I think its coming down to personal choise..interesting anyway thank you both for your input.
JD
FollowupID: 394684

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 21:56

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 21:56
If i was buying a new winch it would be
1/. warn XD9000 (need dual batteries)
2/. ox hydraulic (dont need dual batteries)
FollowupID: 394714

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 22:20

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 22:20
Glenno,
Ican see what your saying,both have their merits,I have the dual battery system already but I use it for my fridge..so I spose ocasional wincheing wouldn't hurt..but the hyd unit is appealing also...but more expensive..the one thing I know for sure until I make up my mind and thouroughtly thru reseach and forum opinion whitch winch is best for value and quality reliability I will sit tight and not get it..So I have to say thankyou to all that have replyed...did you get your stump out?..five minutes with a stump grinder and she'll be gone.
JD
FollowupID: 394720

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 03:33

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 03:33
glenno(qld) I have tried to pull a light truck out of a fail to proceed bog and fair dinkum it wouldnt pull a gay sailer of your sister and the 10,000p are only marginally better but still wont pull out a properly bogged 80 even with a snatch block you should really try these things out bush before posting
FollowupID: 394749

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 18:13

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 18:13
Brian often a winch will not pull for a variety of reasons. Not wanting to make excuses for your mates Warn 8K but a battery on it's way out, poor connections or corrosion on the terminals or the motor, worn solinoids or even winching off a different layer could all contribute to a reduced line pull.
Just out of interest how does a higher line speed compromise Safety anyway ????

Cheers Craig..............

FollowupID: 394793

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 00:32

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 00:32
Most winches are just a macho accessory. It is akin to the fabled Toorac Tractors.

As someone has said...they don't like winches because .......... But as you may need one then get one

I have a Brawn 9500(Chinese jobby) and have used it three times in three years getting other people out of the mire. This year I successfully winched my mates fully laden GU out of a swamp. The GU was down to its chassis. So the Brawn is quite capable of winching 3000kg+ dead weight.

The Brawn is supposed to be sealed. I test it once a month to see if it is operating OK. In the past I have had issues with Warn winches, especially the Low Mount ones, but the High Mount ones are virtually indestructable.

The older one gets the more an electric winch seems to be the answer as a Tirfor or like is out of the question.
AnswerID: 141063

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 10:19

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 10:19
Hi Willem,
Thanks for your input,I have checked out the Braun,ZR 10000 and I must say it apeared to be what I wanted,but how many times have you brought something just to go around the corner and see something as good for a couple of hundred dollars less...but I have not wrote them off just doing my research first;) as with the Tirfor if nothing else is available
i'll definately be going clickety klack,Hindsight..20.20 if I had of known that high mount was the way to go well my roo bar would have been designed differant..anyway Willem,thanks for your out there doing it post.
JD
FollowupID: 394757

Reply By: willow2400 - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 09:36

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 09:36
G'day JD,

I know others poo poo them as being the poor relation but we have a Black Rat hand winch and are very happy with it. We are not 'hard core' four wheel drivers or Duco Sensitive softies, but as we often go exploring solo, found there were tracks and obstacles that were scaring us off and cutting our days short. We decided that for the number of times we would actually have to winch out that the cost of an electric was not really justified.
Now when we come to a bog hole, as long as there is a tree and enough hours left in the day we are able to proceed. Most times the hole or ruts or rock step we are able to drive over anyway but it's nice to know the hand winch is in the back just in case. We still drive so as to avoid getting stuck!
They're harder work than the demonstration at the 4B shows would like you to think, heavy, slow and not compact. Ours was originally sold to us without a snatch block which made winching an empty 80 almost impossible. Granted. But we have actually winched backwards out of bogs etc more often than dragging ourselves further into them. This is usually more of a problem with an electric winch. And we have never drained our battery or burn't anything out. It would be great to have the room and money to take both on every trip but that's not for us just yet.
If you have the room and don't plan to need to winch too often then don't write off the hand winch.

PS Yes I know that if we winched out backwards then we probably didn't need to go that way in the first place, but sometimes the challenge is too tempting!!!
AnswerID: 141081

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 10:29

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 10:29
Hi Dave,
I have permanent spinal injury which I manage with pure determination and pain killers,but most of the time it does not stop me..the tirfor type winch has its place in recovery and I think allways will,and if I have to I will, you's them and pay later,your driving methods sound similer to what we do,tread lightly,so I know what your saying,Thanks for your input.
JD
FollowupID: 394758