Cape York Camper Trailers

Submitted: Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 13:49
ThreadID: 28362 Views:16456 Replies:9 FollowUps:5
Have narrowed my choice of campers after much angst and advice to a soft floor trailer. I am interested in the Cape York Adventurer Deluxe. It is rear fold and has all the features I'm after in a trailer. Also made within an hour of home unlike most other makes. I toured the factory and came away impressed.

I am after rear fold as I like the full slide out kitchen. The family (wife and 2 kids) will be spending 3 months plus (long service leave) with it in 12 months time.

Also has anyone ou there got prado 17 inch rims fitted to their camper? They are very expensive! Was wondering I would be better off carrying the spares on the roof rack?

Anyway my main question is....anyone out there own one? Anything you are unhappy about or anything you would add/change as they seem happy to customise.

Can't find a second hand one anywhere so will be looking at a newby.

Any comments both positive or negative happily accepted.

Tez

Reply By: flappa - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:41

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 14:41
I like them. Top pieces of gear.

Exceptional well made.

I had the pleasure of meeting up with Paul from OzRoamer (Seller and Hirer) , a while back , and had a good look around one.
AnswerID: 140978

Reply By: Paul - OzRoamer Camper Trailer - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 15:16

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 15:16
Hi tdv

There a couple of options maybe worth considering!

Give me a call when you get a chance
0414-522-295

AnswerID: 140985

Reply By: big red car - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 17:00

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 17:00
Dear Tez
We went through this same process a couple of months ago, and ended up buying a Cape York Extreme Explorer. I know this is the hard floor version of the camper that you are looking at, but we have been extremely happy with ours so far. The build quality is excellent. We went to Carnarvon Gorge in Sept. 05 - trailer tracked well and we had zero dust find its way into the camper, everything about the set up was a joy to use, we also went to Mud Bulls & Music a couple of weeks ago in the pouring rain and mud, and again everything was great - no leaks. The only addition I have made is a one piece full width mud flap under the trailer where the draw bar joins onto the body of the trailer (just to stop stone chips on the galvanised control arms, shockies etc etc.
Please read the post below as it was one of the replies we received when we asked a simular question as yours on the forum a couple of months ago.
The trader section on this forum has a 2nd hand cape york for sale.
Regards, John .

G'day Big Red
We have an Adventurer with TJM 2000 suspension, heavy duty brakes, water tank, awning, toolbox and stone guard on front. This is a seriously well built trailer. Extra heavy duty and pretty well bomb proof. We live in Central Oz and nothing we have been over, or have been game to go over, is a problem for it. Really, and I mean really, solid.
Some design issues however. The locking system on the back swing out tailgate is strong, but the twin bolt action is a pain to use, especially as the door almost always fouls on the tent covering and you are trying to slide upper and lower bolts in(against spring resistance) while pushing tent cover up clear of the door. Needs three hands.
I reckon the stone guard at the front is too vertical plus the tool box and spare carrier need a rethink as the wind resistance is considerable.
The plastic cover over the tent top when travelling billows too much. I'm going to copy another owner who I saw who had a piece of shadecloth cut to size of folded down tent top with eyelets in each corner and half way along each edge. They pulled this down tight with big OKKIE straps and reckon that solved the problem.
The lifter springs that assist in raising the camper top to access storage work very well and I think are essential.
The tregg coupling on ours requires the pin to be pushed down though a poly block and this can be very hard to push though. Must be kept clean and lightly greased.
Check the metal protection around the tail lights on the model you are getting. I wouldn't have minded some protection below the lights as well as above.
The weight on the front draw seems a bit high. I could be wrong about this, but i feel the water tank underneath should be a fraction further back. More on the water tank, we got a lot of stones and mud lodged between the plastic tank and the steel bash protector. We gave sealed the gaps up and that seems to work. There is no way of telling just how much water is left in the tank. This is an issue because for H/way running you probably want to minimize weight by not carrying more water than you want.
Be aware of the weight of these units. This thing is heavy. If you need that sort of strength, it delivers. If you don't, it's a lot to drag around. Get a decent sized Jockey wheel on the front, it helps when manouvering by hand, especially on uneven ground
It tows, reverses and brakes beautifully. Stabilty on really rough stuff and corrugations is outstanding. Things just don't get shaken up inside.
The canvas quality seems excellent (we have had ours 4 years. Waterproofing, ventilation are excellent.
I have looked at many campers and I haven't seen another model that is stronger.
We'd get another, but I think it will outlast me.
AnswerID: 140995

Follow Up By: tdv - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 09:48

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 09:48
Cheers for digging that out......even after my search of the forum I didn't track that one down.

Everyone say hard floor.....but the cost!!!! AHHH!

Might order in the new year. Wet season up here anyway so no camping until April.

Tez
FollowupID: 394828

Reply By: Gunnell - Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 22:21

Friday, Nov 25, 2005 at 22:21
If your still interested I have 5 factory Prado GXL Alloy rims for sale. $750 the lot.

Im based in Adelaide.

AnswerID: 141050

Reply By: PBob - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 08:24

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 08:24
You probably have not looked at a Sundowner camper at Mudgee NSW. My research says they are one of the best built and are the configuration that you are looking for. I have one being made at present for my use, as I too looked around and reckon these are the best value for dollar. They are beautifully made.
The problems with these are:
The advertising of these is pretty poor, nobody much knows about them.
Because they are individually made, delivery can be 6-10 weeks.
Their website needs upgrading - it sort of shows their campers, but the colours are all wrong (they are now silver with blue and tan canvas.).
Apart from this, it is a very good camper. They make three grades from about 15k, 21k, and 28k. i have ordered the middle one.
AnswerID: 141075

Reply By: ferris - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 11:59

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 11:59
Hi Tez,

I've gone through several family tents, and had both a soft floor camper and now a hard floor. I wouldn't go back to a soft floor again, even though the hard floor has less room inside. The hard floor is just sooooooo much easier. Like yourself, our family does an extended trip every 2nd year. We also try to get away one weekend each month. Setup and packup every day or so, can be a real chore with the soft floor camper, especially with kids. By the end of 3 months you will hate it!

We bought a Cape York Explorer Deluxe direct from the factory in Cairns earlier this year. I traded the old trailer on our way back down from the Cape. Since then we've used it regularly. We bought the hard floor model. To say it is bullet proof is an understatement. Everything has been over engineered to the max, which is why we chose this one over a Kimberley or anything else. The chassis, wheel bearings and suspension are just huge, and with 12" electric brakes which is an overkill. Short of pushing the camper over a cliff, I don't think we could break it. From what I can see, they have used the best available components right through the trailer.

Setup time is literally 2 minutes, and packup is under 5, even doing it by yourself. On our 2nd night out after buying it, we setup camp, had the fire going and beer in hand in under 20 minutes.

A few negatives though. While the product is excellent, the after sales service is woeful. He just does not return phone calls.

One issue we had just after buying it. We were packing the trailer up, and had the top half flipped over. That is, it was sitting straight up, perpendicular to the trailer, right at the balance point. A slight gust of wind and the top blew over, landing heavily on the ground. There was no damage, but had one of the kids been standing behind the trailer I'd hate to have seen the outcome. We now don't let anybody stand behind the trailer while setting up / packing up and learnt that we don't rest the top at the balance point. We haven't had any further trouble since that one incident.

We've had to change how we organise the kids bedding as you can't fit 4 lots of bedding in when it's closed up, and we are getting the side awning extended to join up with the rear awning, because the side door is inadequately protected from rain.

Everybody loves to personalise their trailers, and I've changed the jockey wheel and handbrake setup, because they foul on the barn door of the Patrol. I also took the battery off the drawbar and put 2 agm's down the back of the trailer to counter some of the tow ball weight. You may need to look at heavier springs on the rear of the Prado.

It may sound like I'm bagging the trailer. I'm not, I'm actually very impressed with it, just a couple of glitches we've changed or learnt to live with. My wife loves the kitchen setup, and I love the engineering underneath.

The front storage box has had a lot of thought put into it. The lids are offset to make the kitchen side more user friendly, and the overall finish is excellent. The cargo basket which sits on top has been a very handy option.

The trailer tows well, it is easy to set up and totally dust proof. We looked at heaps of different trailers to buy and the Cape York Explorer was an easy decision in the end.

Sorry I can't really comment on the 17" Prado rims, as I went for 16" to match the Patrol. It may pay to do a little research as alloy rims can be bad news in rocky terrain, and expensive to replace if you happen to break one.
Cheers Ferris.

ps: The handbrake has just walked in while I was finishing this reply. All she said was "Don't get the soft floor."
AnswerID: 141100

Follow Up By: ferris - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 12:18

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 12:18
Just to clarify when I criticised the after sales service, I was referring to the factory, not the distributor who is a regular and valuable contributor to this forum.
FollowupID: 394767

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 15:30

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 15:30
Hi Ferris , Re : Not returning phone calls .

I went out to West Pennant Hills to look at these trailers because that was the address on the website . when I got there it was just a house , so I rang the guy . He said he would ring me back and arrange an appointment to show me the trailers . He never did , so I bought a Trak Shak .The only problem with the Trak Shak is the time it takes to put it up and down - that is a bummer .

Regarding your camper , does the ball weight get really high when you load up that cargo box ? Also with that box on there , you have a long draw bar . How does thia affect your exit / entry into steep creek beds etc .

Cheers ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 394780

Follow Up By: ferris - Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 16:06

Saturday, Nov 26, 2005 at 16:06
Hi Willie,

The ball weight is quite high on the trailer, because the axle is set a long way back. I am careful with how much weight I put in the cargo box, and only use it for food, and lightweight storage where possible. I keep anything heavy as far back as possible. I've got a 2" lift in the Patrol and heavy duty springs. It pushes them down a fair bit, more even than a tandem trailer loaded with firewood. I've never weighed it, but wouldn't be surprised if the ball weight were 150 kg or more. This is a heavy camper at 990 kg empty, especially with an aluminium body.

I haven't had any trouble on creek crossings, because at the front of the draw bar is a really good bash plate that has been designed to stop damage to the rear of the car and trailer hitch. The rear of the trailer also bottomed out on one steep washaway, and I suspect will be prone to damage - I'll have to keep an eye on things when existing. The benefit of a long draw bar of course is the great towing and manouverability.

I had a look at the Trak Shak and was impressed. It's huge inside. In the end we just wanted something we could set up very quickly, for mobility reasons, and we only go inside to sleep. Heaven help us, when we get a heap of rain and the kids are stuck inside for a week.

Ferris
FollowupID: 394785

Follow Up By: tdv - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 09:43

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 09:43
Thanks for the advice re hard floor. I would love to have the funds to stretch to that option....however I can't justify the extra 7-8k plus the extra 150kg and lack of additional space for kids bedding etc.

I have got say I spoke with Paul from Ozroamer about them and he had some excellent advice and I'm sure you could call him with any issues re Cape York trailers.
FollowupID: 394827

Reply By: big red car - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 10:07

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 10:07
Tez,
the original post number of our question on the forum was 25963.
That way you can have a look at the whole post. As most people are saying hard floor campers are the go, years ago we had a campomatic ranger hard floor, and found it to be great, we have quite a bit of experience with soft floor campers, because we have a number of soft floor campers in our hire fleet at Overlander Camper Trailer Hire Pty Ltd.
Our own Cape York Extreme Explorer is simply the best build quality I have ever seen, Yes it is alot of dollars, but on the bright side you only have to spend it once.

When ever we purchase equipment we try to stick our neck out and buy the best possible equipment we can, that way long term, it seems to always serve you better. All the best in your search.
regards John.
AnswerID: 141183

Reply By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 12:02

Sunday, Nov 27, 2005 at 12:02
Hi Tez
I have owned the Cape York Explorer (hard floor) for about 5 years now and agree with most of the previous replies.
It has done at least 7 trips to the Cape without a proplem and as Ferris said it is over engineered in some regards and I find this to be problem only with the boat loader, it has 8 gas struts to assist in loading the tinny and I reckon it was a waste of $1700 as it is still hard work ( even replaced all gas struts)
I purchased mine direct from the factory and agree with after sales service
"there isn't any"
It is heavy on the drawbar as stated earlier but with a 50mm suspension lift we have no worries behind the Patrol
Overall, we absolutely love it and will be keeping it for a long time yet
P.S My wife had some input into the kitchen, eg: tea towell rod and fold back extra bench
Mate if you can stretch the buckaroonies go the hard floor
I am in Townsville if you wish to ring 0429 889375
AnswerID: 141192

Reply By: tdv - Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 15:36

Monday, Nov 28, 2005 at 15:36
Thanks for all the comments! My wife has now said "take their advice" get a hardfloor!"

However I don't have the money.....but as fate would have it a 2nd hand Aussie Swag was in the paper here over the weekend. Hardfloor with kids room, full annex with screens, Full kitchen, Fridge box with Chescold 3 way fridge etc etc. Have had a look and it is a little untidy (read red dirt stains) on the outside but canvas and internals A1. Have made an offer....they want 16k but I want less of course. It is 4 years old.

Sound fair?

Cheers Tez
AnswerID: 141337