Throw it down or lower it?

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 07:35
ThreadID: 29352 Views:2558 Replies:17 FollowUps:15
How do you get a 50kg spare down from a roof rack?

And then how do you get a flat one back up?

Anyone know a good way to do it for someone with a grumpy back.

Looking to save $1000 by getting a Kaymar rear bar with only the single wheel carrier. The twin is $2850!!

Safe travels

Reply By: Nudenut - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 07:40

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 07:40
the same way you got it up there I guess.....
throwing it down will only let it get out of control.
AnswerID: 146499

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 07:43

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 07:43
Try opposite lock....
My rear twin carrier was $2200.... But Kaymar was $3300....
AnswerID: 146500

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 14:27

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 14:27
Geez....big difference in price. Could you post a couple of pics of your carrier?

Leroy
FollowupID: 400053

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 23:06

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 23:06
FollowupID: 400157

Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 11:55

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 11:55
thanks for the pics, looks great!. I called Kaymar and got a quote and it was $3129 + $340 fitting. Called the local opp lock dealer and $2352 + $150 for fitting - didn't try to crunch them on price. A bit of a difference in price but surely a Kaymar is not $1000 better ??

Leory
FollowupID: 400250

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 12:14

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 12:14
Mine's the same as Voxsons and a mate and I fitted it ourselves in a couple of hours and a 6 pack. Tyres look a bit bigger than mine; probably 285/75s? Do they foul/touch each other when you open 1 swing arm mate?
FollowupID: 400259

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 22:25

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 22:25
Hi Leroy...
I am glad you had luck with your shopping around...
I am not sure what you get for the extra $1000...
These bars are good for using high lift jacks and also for keeping your rear lights from being smashed out when you scrape your bum hard...

Hi Roachie,
Yep..285x70's...
They miss by quite a few mm when opening one door and only just catch the inside of the mudflaps by a poofteenth...
FollowupID: 400364

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 07:53

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 07:53
I have done it once helping out 2 girls get a spare off the roof rack on the GRR - Not too bad with 3 people. Funnily enough I drove past the 2 blokes just up the road struggling getting theirs off---------------
AnswerID: 146503

Follow Up By: Jeepster-WA - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 11:40

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 11:40
G'Day Davoe, you mentioned the other day you did some pistol shooting, was that in Broome and did you ride a Harley?

Jeepster
FollowupID: 400024

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 11:59

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 11:59
not I
FollowupID: 400026

Reply By: Peter 2 - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 07:59

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 07:59
You only ever throw it down until the day it lands the wrong way and comes back and stoves the side of the vehicle in. I've never done it with a wheel and tyre combo but tyre only (carried the second spare case on the roofrack).
I did see a bloke chuck one down years ago when he was stuck on a hill, was funny as the wheel went up hill as he intended then chucked a Uuie and took off down the hill through the scrub, took them an hour to find it and had to get the truck to it as they couldn't carry/wheel it uphill.
AnswerID: 146504

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 08:10

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 08:10
G'day John,
I had the same problem and solved it several years ago with one Opp Locks dual wheel carriers.
Even though I'm 6'1", I had trouble hoisting the 265/75+ steel wheel high enough to get it onto the roof rack of my 4" lifted Patrol.
However, I used to have a set-up on my previous GQ Patrol that worked okay.
I had a short piece of pipe welded vertically into the inside rear corner of the roof rack. It was about 5" long and was flush with the top of the rack. The inside diameter was the same as the outside diameter of a length of water pipe I'd salvaged from the Bank (where I worked in Cooma) after some renovations. It had been a handrail leading up the front steps and had a convenient bend of about 135o. It was about 2" diameter. I had a small collar of pipe welded to the handrail about 5" up from the bottom (the same pipe as was welded to the rack).....this stopped the handrail going through the roof rack too far and hitting the roof of the GQ.
I bought a simple rachet boat hand winch and bolted that to one end, above the welded collar. On the other end I bolted a pulley. I now had myself a jib/crane. It was simply mounted into the roof rack, swung around so the spare was below the cable, which was drawn out from the winch and hooked up to wheel on ground. Stand on rear step and wind the winch up until the tyre/wheel is above the height of the roof rack. Rotate the jib so the tyre is now above the roof rack and lower tyre on to rack. Remove the jib and store on roof rack.
AnswerID: 146506

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 21:09

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 21:09
You need to eat more weetbix, Mr Roach...hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 400121

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 08:32

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 08:32
I have read, here and on other forums, about this dilemma.

On my 3 week trip into the deserts last year, I was faced with the same problem, many times.... bugger.

The rack we had was a brand new ARB, all steel.

I got thinking.....

Why not make a davit, which pivots on the rear ends, and simply loops along the sides and front. pull back the davit so it is 45 degrees over the back of the vehicle, and hoist the spare, and anything else, up or down, using nothing more than a rope & pulley... 1 to 1 ratio, with a cleat. When hoisting up, the object in question stops at the top of the davit, and the rope force simply continues to raise the davit over centre onto the rack, all very simple really.

It doesn't have to be heavy, I was contemplating using 40 x 40 x 1.6 SHS, which is strong enough for any lateral moment.

So, to re-cap....

The davit, is simply a big "U" shaped frame, which is EXACTLY the same size as the top perimeter of your roof rack. It is bolted at the rear, on the left & right hand sides, so the "U" can raise, and travel right over to 45 degrees off the rear... 135 degrees of travel in total. It is all operated with one rope & pulley, with a clam cleat mounted on the roof rack.

Wolfie
AnswerID: 146507

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 09:00

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 09:00
give me a drawing...
FollowupID: 400009

Follow Up By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 09:06

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 09:06
I'll have mine powder coated in black thks.
FollowupID: 400010

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 14:04

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 14:04
that'll do for me too thanks wolfie
FollowupID: 400051

Reply By: Nick R - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 08:57

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 08:57
How about an outrigger to clip onto the roof rack with a pulley on the end, have the ability to hinge the outrigger for ease of lowering and raising. then simply lower with a rope. once you have just started lowering or raising the wheel you will need the ability to lock the outrigger in the horizontal position if you are holding the rope from the roof rack, otherwise the thing might go vertical and belt your car anyway....
good luck,
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 146510

Reply By: Original Banjo (SA) - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 09:41

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 09:41
Good ideas above in my view Dyssey - the smart / modern / investment in good health / thing to do would be make a collapsible winching device of some sort. With my dicky back, I would have no alternative ! I currently carry an extra spare tyre as a case only - easy enough to lift it up on the Campomatic (about 1.5m up). IF I had to carry a wheel, I'd make something - even a light ramp to slide it up. Not practical up to a car's roof probably. A light duty winch that could lift the wheel from the centre appeals to me as an idea.
AnswerID: 146519

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 12:58

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 12:58
I have seen, on the rear of Telstra type 4 x 4 vehicles, a simple lowering & raising system. Some of these work utes, have a enclosed 'box' unit on the traytop. On the rear are two of these units, for two rims mounted with tyres.

Do Opposite Lock have a sytem like this?

I am pretty sure there is already a commercial applicatoin in the market place already........just have not remembered the pertinent names.

FollowupID: 400040

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 21:49

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 21:49
Rick,

I think Rosco make the swing down carrier (and canopies) used by Telstra. Its very simple - I'm sure any fabrication place could make one up.

FollowupID: 400357

Reply By: kimprado - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 11:35

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 11:35
Hi John,

Both John (OutBack Ideas)and I have been working on this problem since June 2005 and come up with a couple of proto types.

I'll give him a ring when I get back to work next week and get an update.

Kim
AnswerID: 146540

Reply By: Peter 2 - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 11:52

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 11:52
I use a boat winch with a webbing strap on the swingout carrier on the rear of the Humvee.
The winch is mounted on the vehicle side of the centre upright, the starp passes up and over the top on a U shaped saddleand then down. It will lift the wheel high enough to wiggle it onto the studs.
Or you could get one of these or even make one.
http://www.tire-lift.com/products.asp

someone will have to make one locally purely on an OH & S need.
AnswerID: 146542

Reply By: Bilbo - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 13:01

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 13:01
If your'e gonna throw it down, firstly make sure the ground is flat so it doesn't roll to far. Secondly roll it off the roofrack so that it lands perpendicular to the vehicle. That way it doesn't bounce back at the vehicle. It'll roll when it hits the ground.

If ya throw so that it lands parallel with the vehicle there's a good chance it'll bounce back into the vehicle.

Did it once on me old Patrol and got it wrong. It bounced back and took out the drivers side mirror and mounting.

Getting it back? Hard work or a winch.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 146559

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 17:05

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 17:05
Well I throw mine down, try to get it spinning and land flat, not rolled off like someone said above, it'd bounce a mile!

To get it up I lift up and over the spare wheel but geez its a hard job, I'd like a jib like Wolfies designing above

AnswerID: 146608

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 21:16

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 21:16
Pick the wheel up and on to your shoulder and gently lay it on the side of the roof rack....then slide it over. Always bend your knees and not your back when lifting heavy objects

To get it down do the reverse of above. Hold the wheel in both arms and while bending your knees slightly lower it to the ground. Never let it bounce as you don't know where it will go.

If you are of small stature or have a bad back, then buy an extra spare wheel carrier.

Or eat some more weetbix!!! LOL

AnswerID: 146665

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 00:45

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 00:45
Hi me again
I'm with you

Maybe I need to weigh my wheels 50kg ?????
I must be stronger than I am
can lift a wheel and place it on carrier P of P
with the Playdo could lift wheel up to the side of roof rack then flip it over the top
when getting it off just lowered it down to the misses and she placed it on the ground?????

Any way that was packing them and unpacking them don't seem to need them when we travel

My way of thinking is if you cant do it don't

I will watch out for the low blows

FollowupID: 400195

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 20:31

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 20:31
Hi Richard

My 265/75 steels weigh 36kg. My alloys must weigh less

Yes If you can't do it don't!!!!
FollowupID: 400333

Reply By: Vivid Adventures - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 00:06

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 00:06
I'm with Willem - but I have a black thumb from the last time when I was tired and let the wheel slide onto my thumb.

I've got steel rims and 285/75 Cooper MT

I have a second hand Kaymar rear bar that I am about to powdercoat so I don't have to do it too many times more.

Ciao for now
AnswerID: 146712

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 21:56

Friday, Jan 06, 2006 at 21:56
You shouldn't have to do it. When we go away with a group we only do plug repairs. So if someone gets a flat or a slow leak, they pump the tyre back up again, and we spray soapy water out of a spray bottle to find the leak. Then we get the glue and plugs out and plug it. The pump is left hooked up the whole time. 5 minutes later, we are on the move again. Next town, or back home get the tyre shop to do a proper fix.

Getting out jacks and spare tyres is a PITA which you should rarely need to do. Thats why I don't like split rims and tube tyres.
AnswerID: 146891

Reply By: 4runner - Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 15:46

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 15:46
A small electric winch or hydraulic winch is avaible for people who are temporalily disabaled. One agile person scoots up onto the roof, hooks the spare wheel to the winch cable and gradually lowers it to the ground. The reverse is applied when placing dud tyres back on the roof. Any winch will do, so long as its bolted to the roof rack. Saw a demo of this same system at the caravan and camping expo at ASCOT in Perth back in May last year. Nothing is impossible if you have the know how and the technology availble.
AnswerID: 147006

Reply By: Member - Frank - Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 20:48

Saturday, Jan 07, 2006 at 20:48
good old trailer again have same wheels as car and dual tryers on front see profile pic
AnswerID: 147056