My Fault 100 Series 1HZ Radiator burst header Tank

Submitted: Sunday, Jan 08, 2006 at 03:51
ThreadID: 29452 Views:4745 Replies:6 FollowUps:0
Hi Guys

In Brisbane and need to repair a burst 100 Series 1HZ Radiator header Tank

any suggestions, replacements, where and $$$ estimates

Just got back from Xmas Hols (4000km round trip) and developed fan belt squeal when cold on the way home, as the "BOSCH" fan belts I put on 2 yrs age regularly do this (from new, have to keep them bloody tight) I picked some extra spares (could get top cogs this time) on the road as to avoid using the veh spares.

Got home today (early am) and discovered that home fridge was on the way out, (fridge 14oC/freezer 4oC), after checking the power, cleaning the condenser and checking the fans evaporators no improvement, and been told at least a week b4 any one could look at it, made an exec decision and cut a deal with Hardly Normal for a replacement.

I threw the trailer on the cruiser and rushed off to pick up the replacement fridge with the new fan belts still on the back seat, thinking "when I get back I'll "

Wellll' powering along the Ipswich motorway 8 Km from home, thinking this wont take long, I heard and felt a small hand grenade go off under the bonnet, with an accompanying puff of steam, checked the guage (in da red) immediately shut her down and rolled to a stop at Riverview.

Damage done, popped the hood to inspect the dammage thinking gee that was a loud bang for a coolant bottle cap blowing off and discovered that the plastic headder tank had split at the back near the radiator cap, taring the sealng flange off the headder tank, and yes of course both the fan belts had broken.

Got the fridge and the cruiser home, but now need to sort the cruiser.

Summary of incident, lessons and summations
1) Dont like "BOSCH" fan belts squealed from new if not what I consider over tightened.
Note all the replcement belts had a "M" after their part # which according to the reps meant "Mached Pair" and indicated that you needed to purchase and replace both belts together.
so be aware as it is a double belt setup they have to be exactly the same length and the belts are "Mached" to achieve this
I suspect that my belts were not a mached pair from the outset and hence the squealing issue.

2) Dont wait, attend to belt squeal issues promptly

3) I suspect apart from the blown header tank and wallet, not too much damage done, as
I summise that once the belts went and the water pump stopped, that the coolant arround the cylinder sleeves rapidly boiled, which was too much for the radiator cap overflow to cope with and so the tank let go.
This warned me (rather loudly and fortuiously) that hello Huston we have a problem, and was able to shut the donk down quickly, and therefore the motor had simply 'boiled" and had not run for any signifigant period without coolant arround the cylinders (as a slower leak would do).
4) Running Synthetic oils will help.
5) The rapid boiling was probably assisted by the Turbo kicking in going up a small hill
6) EGT's were normal at shutdown 300oC
7) on cool down starts normally.
8) Lucky It happened so close to home ( and not a lot earlier on Hol's)

So hope this prevents any of you campers out there making my mistakes

Harrow

Reply By: dags666 - Sunday, Jan 08, 2006 at 06:47

Sunday, Jan 08, 2006 at 06:47
try cairncross radiators at albion ask for pat tell him dags sent you cheers dags
AnswerID: 147098

Reply By: Original Banjo (SA) - Sunday, Jan 08, 2006 at 09:42

Sunday, Jan 08, 2006 at 09:42
Quick comment - a rello the other day said he was quoted heaps of $ to replace an ally radiator with plastic top and botton tanks - the top tank had split (different car but).... old story - "all you can do is replace the lot mate". He went to a radiator specialist who fitted a new top tank and seal to this ally radiator - lovely job - no sign of a leak since - fraction of the other quote (probably a classic dealer rip-off anyway).
AnswerID: 147105

Reply By: linkcrazy - Sunday, Jan 08, 2006 at 10:20

Sunday, Jan 08, 2006 at 10:20
Replaced my landcruser alloy rooted radiator with a brass one . $600
AnswerID: 147111

Reply By: Axle - Sunday, Jan 08, 2006 at 15:59

Sunday, Jan 08, 2006 at 15:59
Hi harrow.
If belts you buy are not genuine , I would be very careful its the section you have to watch. ( belt mating with pulleys) the after market ones look right but in fact can be seated in top of pulley only , causing them to heat up (squeal) and finally breaking. Had it happen a couple of times.
Cheers Axle
AnswerID: 147194

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Jan 08, 2006 at 16:53

Sunday, Jan 08, 2006 at 16:53
Replace with a copper and brass one, same money, much longer life, have mate with 3 fourby's 80 series, gq, and a 75 all been replaced with copper and brass, no more problems.

Cheers pesty
AnswerID: 147208

Reply By: Billowaggi - Sunday, Jan 08, 2006 at 17:22

Sunday, Jan 08, 2006 at 17:22
Hi Harrow, the only belts to use are the genuine Toyota belts they are a proper matched set ie. both exactly the same length, two belts off the shelf although marked the same often vary quite a bit in length I find gen belts are very good quality and are good for up to 100,000km.
Regards Ken.
PS expect to pay about $50 for the pair.
AnswerID: 147213