Defeated!! For now

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 10:01
ThreadID: 29558 Views:2194 Replies:10 FollowUps:10
Hi all, am finally back in Perth.

After leaving the Canyon late on 30/12/05 and having a few coldies at Curtin Springs I eventually ended up sleeping in the cab at a roadside stop about 50kms from Yulara.

Met up with my brother the next day and drove to Coober Pedy via Mulga Park Road. Headed along the Anne Beadell until we reach the Oblisks of the Totem Atomic Blasts. Interesting place. Camped some miles west of Emu - the rain was slight but continuous. The next day from Annes Corner the puddles were all over the place. The wet road conditions continued the entire trip until we left the desert. Peter, from Illkurlka Roadhouse said they had 73mm of rain in the previous two days. Diesel was $1.80 there (not too bad as it is $1.65 at home).

It was a slow drive as there was puddle after puddle after puddle. No sooner than I had it in third gear and I had to slow down again. It was very frustrating.

Popped in to have a look at the light aircraft wreck - pretty boring - there is an Exploroz sticker on the wing compartment where the visitors book is.

Stopped and had a look at those "aboriginal stone works" near Neale Junction. I'm no anthropologist but come on, if they're for real then I'm King Kong.

I was headed to Queen Victoria Springs but we decided it was to dangerous to go there because of the terrible road conditions so headed decided to head south to Rawlinna for the safety of the railway line.

20 kilometres from the railway line I rolled the vehicle and was seriously injured. Luckily it landed back on the wheels and started first time (Yes-it is a write off). My brother who only fractured a rib drove the squashed 4WD until we reached a station. The station folk were very helpful in ensuring our safety. I cannot thank them enough. I was put on the Royal Flying Doctor Plane and finally after a very long day made it to Kalgoorlie Hospital.

After six days lying on my back in hospital I finally got into Perth yesterday for more weeks of rest and recooperation.

So I will be out of the field for a while - Hopefully not for too long!!!

Equinox

Reply By: gramps - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 10:11

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 10:11
Equinox,

Gees. Glad you're OK. Shame about the truck. Just take it easy and make sure you mend 100%.

AnswerID: 147751

Follow Up By: equinox-Kings Canyon - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 00:52

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 00:52
Thanks gramps! I'll be OK!!!
FollowupID: 401247

Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 10:19

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 10:19
Good to hear your recovering Equinox. You haven't lost your sense of humour either. Bad luck about the vehicle but at least it's only the 4by thats a write off.
I tend to agree about the stones, looked a bit artificial to me too.
With a bit of time and embellishment, you'll have a great storey to tell the grand kids.
des
AnswerID: 147755

Follow Up By: equinox-Kings Canyon - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 00:55

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 00:55
thanks des
saw your name and added mine to sticker at neales
FollowupID: 401248

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 10:35

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 10:35
Bluuudy hell i thought i had a bad time last weekend and allthat after i told you the tracks East of Kal were in good nick. What was the problem? Was it from all the rain (there was widespread rain for 12 + hours around tha time)
Hope things improve!!
AnswerID: 147759

Follow Up By: equinox-Kings Canyon - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 01:03

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 01:03
Davoe,

The roads were so wet. It was a once in a few year event. The clouds surrounding us also threatened havoc. The roads running east west had less branches etc than the north south roads. There are two substantial trees that have fallen across the road south of Neale Junction that will have to be removed by others, more equipped parties when they come across them. The main Connie Sue is water logged. It was an effort to keep to the hard section of the road.

Eq.
FollowupID: 401249

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 10:41

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 10:41
Equinox ,
Bugger ! It can only improve from here on . Hope you get better quickly, and get back out on the track with a new 4by.
Willie .
AnswerID: 147760

Follow Up By: equinox-Kings Canyon - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 01:07

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 01:07
Thanks Willie,

I'll be counting the days till all is normal
FollowupID: 401250

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 10:49

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 10:49
G'day,

good luck with your recovery mate.

btw, is there a lesson you can teach us? how did you roll the vehicle? avoiding a puddle at speed while tired or frustrated? not having a go at you and am sure you are big enough to admit any mistakes.

where's the next adventure eh?

kind regards,

bushfix.
AnswerID: 147761

Follow Up By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 12:45

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 12:45
Yeah! funny is'nt it, just the sort of story I want to read about!!!not!
FollowupID: 401072

Follow Up By: howie - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 13:44

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 13:44
i thought we learnt from our mistakes andy.
perhaps the info could enable some less experienced driver avoid the same situation (if it was avoidable).

FollowupID: 401091

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 13:49

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 13:49
yeah thanks howie (btw, only saw your reply once this screen i am typing on appeared, last one b4 was andy q.)

andy q : just in case you thought i was trying to poke fun at my fellow forumite.........equinox gets out there, he is a valued contributor, hence "where's the next adventure eh?" it is part of the healing process.

and as howie pointed out....

pls accept my apologies if i have misinterpreted your post.

cheers,

bushfix.
FollowupID: 401094

Follow Up By: equinox-Kings Canyon - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 01:17

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 01:17
bushfix.

Thanks for your good wishes.

That day I was driving through many puddles and water logged tracks. This had become a bit of a habit of late as there had been substantial rainfalls the Great Victoria Desert.

I could have attempted the puddle crossing differently but each one is different - "could send you off on the wrong direction"

Over the camber of most of the track was soft dirt much worse than the track.
FollowupID: 401254

Reply By: Member - David 0- Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 15:20

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 15:20
That's bad news Equinox. Hope all goes well.
Not sure if you are keen to divulge in a public forum, but if you think there is anything others can learn from your mishap, feel free to tell us what you think contributed to the roll over.

AnswerID: 147804

Follow Up By: equinox-Kings Canyon - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 01:22

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 01:22
Dave,

I reckon get diff locks and stick to the middle of the track.

Or wait out the rain. I would imagine it may take a week or so to dry up enough to permit normal driving condtions.

Eq.
FollowupID: 401256

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 20:05

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 20:05
Sorry to hear about your mishap and subsequent injuries, Equinox. Hope your recovery is speedy.

How the hell did you roll the vehicle out on that flat plain?
AnswerID: 147864

Follow Up By: equinox-Kings Canyon - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 01:27

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 01:27
Willem,

Most of it is rocks yes - but there was a muddy bit and I veered left a bit.
I tried to correct by trying to turn right but the car did not respond to my wishes. I'm glad it landed back on its wheels.

I was going about 40km/h.

Thanks for the good wishes
Equinox
FollowupID: 401258

Reply By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 21:58

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 21:58
get well soon equinox, hope it's not any long term back injury or similar

always sobering to hear such a story, I think I slow down more each year
AnswerID: 147900

Reply By: Member - Ross H (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 02:22

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 02:22
Am glad to here you are ok. My parents had a similar mishap about 2 years ago at camers corner only the car stayed upside down. They to had to be flown out by the ROYAL FLYING DOCTOR plane to broken hill. They were lucky at the time because of rain there were several car loads of people at the corner store and one person just happened to be an intensive care nurse.My mother had a fractured skull and my father just battered and bruised. My brother and I retieved the car about 3 weeks later and I really dont no how they survived. I cannot thank Bill at the corner store and the passers by enough for there help. The RFD land their planes in some of the worst condition you could imagine. That said Equinox I will join you in thanking all those " station folk " and passers by who cared enough to stop and help complete strangers .That is one thing that will allways make this country of ours a wonderful place to live.

regards ross
AnswerID: 147944

Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 08:15

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 08:15
I'm sorry to hear about your accident and glad your OK now, but the first part of the post had me thinking the worst.

QUOTE;
After leaving the Canyon late on 30/12/05 and having a few coldies at Curtin Springs I eventually ended up sleeping in the cab at a roadside stop about 50kms from Yulara.
END QUOTE"

Am i the only one to think this is not good, or am i reading it wrong.

AnswerID: 147951