OZI Explorer

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 14:15
ThreadID: 29566 Views:3047 Replies:6 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
I'm new to GPS and to learn I bought a Garmin etrex legend sec hand. I got a book too and learn my new Toy.
I was going to buy OZI Explorer to be able to upload maps and stuff. In our shop here I found this sentense in the discription of the software
" About the only thing OziExplorer can't do is - upload maps to a GPS or display mays in vector format."
I thought that is what OZI Explorer is for....... please help.

cheers
Reiner
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: signman - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 14:21

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 14:21
Correct- it can't upload 'maps' to the GPS but will upload any waypoints, routes, etc.
AnswerID: 147791

Reply By: zam045 - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 14:31

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 14:31
Yeah i am new to this as well, however, you are correct in that OziExplorer cannot upload maps to the GPS, but most other information such as waypoints, POI's etc you can.

If you want a map on your GPS you will have to get something like DiscoverAus, whish is mapping software for the GPSr, you should be able to use this in conjunction with OziExplorer.

Hope this helps.
AnswerID: 147794

Follow Up By: Member- Rox (WA) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 00:41

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 00:41
you can't run Dis aus & OZI EX on lap top at the same time. But you can use the Dis Aus Maps that are loaded in the GPS to see diff data than whats on the lap top. Hope this makes sense.

I use OSI EX in the bush & Discover Aus when in a foreign city.
FollowupID: 401246

Reply By: Pluto - Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 14:33

Wednesday, Jan 11, 2006 at 14:33
OziExplorer is definately NOT for uploading maps to your GPSr. Have a look at the OziExplorer web site for an explanation and a detailed outline of what it can and can't do. The type of maps it handles are not compatible with your GPS.