Performance

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 12:19
ThreadID: 29605 Views:1688 Replies:25 FollowUps:13
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all,

So dare I ask for feedback on the work completed the other day in terms of performance?

From my point of view it apears to be excellent and has improved not only the forum but the whole system! Your input?
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 12:27

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 12:27
David,
I haven't noticed any performance probs for a while... Have to say also that I was watching with interest as you were attempting your upgrades and I don't see it performing any better but as stated, I had no probs before.
AnswerID: 148013

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 12:50

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 12:50
No worries then - I use it all day and have really noticed it but I am glad it was fine for you before. Depended on the time of the day you usually visit and interact. When the system was busy ie: 600+ sessions it startd to degrade now it runs fine when it had over 1000+ sessions yesterday afternoon.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 401298

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 13:20

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 13:20
I guess a lot of my interaction is early am or middle of the night(night shift). I tend to browse fairly infrequently during the day and early evening, no doubt when traffic would be at it's peak...
0
FollowupID: 401309

Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 12:47

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 12:47
Yeah as above, but i am experiencing some probs with it sometimes telling me i'm not logged on when i submit a post, but i'm not sure if it's this end or your end, apart from that oh, alls fine.

Baz.
AnswerID: 148016

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 12:48

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 12:48
Baz,

Turn on the Auto Logon thingy as this will cause your machine to logon before each access to the system and will basically ensure that if your session times out it will auto re-connect.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 401297

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 13:17

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 13:17
Good to see you got back from the wilds of Victoria, Baz. Speed improves for members mate ;-))
Cheers,
Who?
John

Member
My Profile  My Position  Send Message

0
FollowupID: 401308

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 15:24

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 15:24
I always do this whenever i delete cookies but this time it seems to not want to co-operate i just had to relogon again and i clicked the auto logon thing too but it's not playing.

Could be this end i'll re-check on my home computer when i get home David.

Had a ball John, some lovely country up there, i really liked that Monument track and others of coarse.

Baz.
0
FollowupID: 401325

Reply By: AndrewW - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 12:53

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 12:53
Contrary to the others above, I have found the upgrade to be an outstanding success.

I frequent a few forums, this one being 2nd in participation. Before the upgrade it was definately slow. I found it timed out a bit and was generally very laggy, to the point I usually gave up.

After the upgrade, occasionally it slows for a bit, but then its good again.

I am on 1.5 ADSL at home, and mega bandwidth at work. I expect that dial up users wouldn't notice any difference, being its all slow on dial up.

Thumbs up, its a 100% better experience now, I find myself participating much more often too.

Andrew
AnswerID: 148018

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 13:04

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 13:04
Thanks Andrew,

Should not be too many lags - it does appear that there is some link between Jackie (at our office) processing orders and some pauses which I am looking into.

Of course this is the Internet and every connection is governed by soooooo many different groups of people it is impossible to guarantee that issues do not occur outside of our network that effect system performance however we try to stay on top of it at all times. As always please let me know via feedback of any issues you see.

Again thanks for the positive.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 401302

Reply By: Penguin (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 12:54

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 12:54
David

It seems to me that it is heaps faster to open a thread. Maybe able to give more feedback after a bit more use.

I noticed in the past that there would quite often be a real lag, not just opening a thread, but anything to do with the site. I assume that's an ISP issue at your end.

Mike
AnswerID: 148019

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 12:59

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 12:59
Mike,

ISP, my code, database issues - yeah heaps of possibilities. I now believe that the issues are resolved however I am still looking to upgrade the primary server box to a new machine with better CPU's etc. It is a never ending tail chasing expensive exercise. Thanks again to all our members, advertisers and shoppers cause without you all we would not be here.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 401301

Follow Up By: Penguin (NSW) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 13:13

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 13:13
David,

Just as a matter of interest, what hardware and O/S are you running? Cool if you don't want to answer.
0
FollowupID: 401305

Reply By: Pterosaur - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 12:59

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 12:59
Hi David.

I've worked on databases a bit myself, and know what a pain it can be !

I have previously experienced extreme slowness, and being told I am not logged on when I try to post a reply on a thread (this more recently). I have a fast connection.

Since the completion of the upgrade, speed has picked up noticeably, and I haven't had a repeat of the other problem (so far).

Good work !!!

regards
Terry

AnswerID: 148020

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 13:06

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 13:06
Just a perfect time for testing we have over 1000 sessions running on the site right now - Well at least when I wrote this post and there is no degradation in performance that I can see.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

AnswerID: 148021

Follow Up By: Member - Mike H (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:09

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:09
Hi David,
there are still over 1000 sessions at present ( 14:06 ETD ).
No problems at all.
before your upgrade I used to sit waiting before being returned to the Forum after having opened a thread,
now it's instant !!!
Good work,
Thanks, Mike
0
FollowupID: 401318

Reply By: Matilda - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 13:29

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 13:29
Definitly quicker, and so far no degradation of speed at any time.
AnswerID: 148024

Reply By: Glenn (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:03

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:03
Hi David,

Fastest it has been in years...well done David.

Cheers

Glenn
AnswerID: 148029

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:08

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:08
David

A huge improvement on my computer. I am on Dial-up and my puter shows 50kbps which we all know is really not the case.

Nevertheless the site is fast now and I can cruise the forum and other sections with ease.

Regards
AnswerID: 148031

Reply By: Andrew (Whyalla SA) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:14

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:14
Definately running faster. Im on broadband
AnswerID: 148033

Reply By: Member - Paul P (Bris) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:24

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:24
G'day David

At this time from my end, Bigpond (Telstra) cable with its usual performance vagaries, a big improvement. Your system is much faster overall with much less lag (when this occurs)

Regards

Paul
AnswerID: 148039

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:27

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:27
Yep David, job well done, it was starting to get a bit frustrating in peak times, she's running great now, doesn't matter what time I'm on, bang, she's up and running smooth and fast. You must have some massive databases for the backend to have made such a performance difference!! Gone over to a SQL based setup now have you? Anyway congrats!
AnswerID: 148040

Reply By: nrb1748 - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:27

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:27
Hi David,

Much improved. Well done.

nrb1748
AnswerID: 148041

Reply By: Darian (formerly Banjo) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:27

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:27
I use dial up at home and BB at work ( I fiddle with sites all day - teaching the basics to students - no harm in dropping in to EOz while I'm on line is there ? :-0) .... disruption re performance has only ever been minor, on a few occasions - never know what to put it down to .... my end/your end .... who knows ...... anyway, rare have been the times that I decided to "drop back later". Thanks for the engineeering your end David - EOz is a great facility.
AnswerID: 148042

Reply By: Christopher from Suzuki 4WD Club of Victoria - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:40

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:40
Definately a lot quicker plus I can once again open from the link in my favorites after a couple of weeks being unable to.
AnswerID: 148045

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 15:33

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 15:33
Yeah Christopher I introduced a bug in the Auto Logon program which effected customer records. It was resolved mid last week.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 401329

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:49

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:49
Hi David,

Seems better but then again only had occassional problems - some no doubt at this end. Great forum.

Kind regards
AnswerID: 148048

Reply By: peterll - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:53

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:53
As it is some 14 hops or so from my pesky puter to your servers I can offer my bit as well. The pace certainly has improved. But then again there were moments in the passed where it the connections were similar, although slightly slower.

I am on a 3.5 upload DSL to the Bell backbone. Thought this may give you some idea

Congratulations Dave and your team, fantastic service and great job

---- See Below -----------------

TraceRoute to 202.139.234.85 [exploroz.com]

Hop (ms) (ms) (ms) IP Address Host name
1 0 0 0 66.98.244.1 gphou-66-98-244-1.ev1.net
2 0 0 0 66.98.241.9 gphou-66-98-241-9.ev1.net
3 0 0 0 66.98.240.3 gphou-66-98-240-3.ev1.net
4 1 1 1 64.245.101.57 -
5 1 2 1 71.5.180.201 p3-0-0.mar1.houston4-tx.us.xo.net
6 7 7 7 65.106.4.201 p4-1-0.rar1.dallas-tx.us.xo.net
7 39 39 39 65.106.0.14 p6-0-0.rar2.la-ca.us.xo.net
8 39 39 39 65.106.1.49 p0-0-0d0.rar1.la-ca.us.xo.net
9 47 46 46 65.106.0.18 p6-0-0.rar2.sanjose-ca.us.xo.net
10 47 47 47 65.106.5.178 p1-0.ir1.paloalto-ca.us.xo.net
11 47 47 47 206.111.12.66 206.111.12.66.ptr.us.xo.net
12 192 192 191 203.96.120.213 p5-2.sjbr1.global-gateway.net.nz
13 192 191 192 203.96.120.237 p4-2.sybr2.global-gateway.net.nz
14 198 191 192 203.96.120.126 -
15 191 191 191 202.10.4.99 so-3-1-0.cre1.hay.connect.com.au
16 191 193 209 202.10.0.58 as0.cre1.syd.connect.com.au
17 208 208 207 202.10.0.32 so-2-0-2.cre1.bri.connect.com.au
18 208 208 208 202.10.0.110 so-0-0-1.dst2.for.connect.com.au
19 221 208 208 203.63.217.225 gigabitethernet0-2.bdr2.for.connect.com.au
20 208 208 209 203.63.176.115 fastethernet0-0.cor1.for.connect.com.au
21 208 208 208 210.8.229.245 pow3179-3.gw.connect.com.au
22 230 231 231 203.147.255.123 gi0-2-6.xr3.wic.server-noc.com
23 222 222 222 203.147.255.233 gi0-0.xr3.bne.server-noc.com
24 221 215 215 203.147.255.62 vl6.mls2.bne.server-noc.com
25 221 223 222 202.139.234.85 bne005m.server-mail.com
AnswerID: 148049

Follow Up By: peterll - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:57

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:57
Yikes ! Did I say 14 hmm well ok so 25 is close :)
0
FollowupID: 401321

Reply By: BenSpoon - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:56

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 14:56
One thing I noticed- The system time.
I thought it was GMT +8 before, but now seems to be +10 (with daylight savings should make it +11, right?) or was it always EST and Im dreaming?
AnswerID: 148050

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 15:36

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 15:36
Ben,

The servers live in sunny QLD and are running on EST QLD.

BTW: I have setup a new function to capture the states site visitors are in, I know members states so once I have enough data I will be writting a mod to always show time results at your timezone. This is not tooooooooo far away.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 401330

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 15:14

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 15:14
.....quicker than a bridegroom on his wedding night.....
AnswerID: 148054

Reply By: Nudenut - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 16:37

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 16:37
hoping i'm the first to let you know when it goes slow hehehe
AnswerID: 148081

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 17:47

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 17:47
David,

Seems to be heaps quicker on this end.

AnswerID: 148095

Reply By: Member - John C (WA) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 18:46

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 18:46
David,
As user during both the day and evenings, I have noticed a significant speed improvement. One thing that may be of use is as it got slower last week, the "back to forum" button response was superior from the top button and a deffinite lag on the bottom button.

Cheers,
AnswerID: 148113

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 20:35

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 20:35
David, I am on dialup ISDN here at 128kbs and find that there are pauses occasionally but I am never sure what causes those. The site is a big improvement though for the access in nearly all accesses. The traffic you must cause through the servers there must be teriffic.

Well done
Cheers,
Who?
John

Member
My Profile  My Position  Send Message

AnswerID: 148141

Reply By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 23:05

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 23:05
Hi David,

Yes, I have noticed a very definite improvement in navigating around the site. A few days ago it was taking several minutes to move from posts back to the Forum.

I really enjoy this site and it is a valuable source of information.

The only criticism I have is that this Forum is not as good as those driven by vBulletin. I subscribe to PPRUNE and RCGROUPS and they have both recently undergone a software change making them even better. I am attracted to vBulletin because of clear and easy thread following, new posts clearly indicated, spellchecking available, easy Hyperlinks, many subcategories to choose from and fairly strict group moderators (volunteers I believe).

Still, well done!

Kings
AnswerID: 148201

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 23:28

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 23:28
Feedback accepted - thanks.

Yeah I know about some of the really nice features available in some forum software however I also understand the rendering costs that would be attirbuted to these systems when measured against our stats.

I am looking at some of these features in terms of idenifying new items, and time zone corections etc. I try to provide additional features to the members such as last logon searches etc and new features are generally passed down through the members system. It is for this and many other reasons that I develop our forum code based on feedback and site requirements rather then just getting a standard package.

Sub categories - I do not like them, people get confused etc where to put stuff everything ends up in general topics - take to long to see everything happening as you need to check all areas etc. It will take a lot of convincing to get me to change this however anything is possible.

Anyway thanks for the feedback we work forward to produce an excellent resource and I am always working on improving the features.

Let me know via feedback of things you would like to see, there are a few members around that do this and they are usually see their suggestions appear within a few days (if it is possible).
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Always working not enough travelling!

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 401454

Reply By: Fusion - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 23:16

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 23:16
Great work David,

A huge improvement in speed from where I am. Qld broadband. Everything opens almost instantly.

Thanks,

Aaron.
AnswerID: 148205

Sponsored Links

Popular Products (13)