How to convert 12 volt to 24 volts

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 21:44
ThreadID: 29632 Views:15899 Replies:9 FollowUps:10
This Thread has been Archived
Hi All

Been away from the xmas new year period. Just in search of some advice. I need a 24 volt plug in the truck. This needs to be converted from one 12 volt battery.

Is the an inverter for 12v to 24v??

Any Ideas?

cheers

Ads
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 22:05

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 22:05
No idea....LOL

But maybe Jaycar would have something.

Cheers
AnswerID: 148174

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 22:09

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 22:09
Hahaha, thanks mate hahaha

That books at work, will look tomorrow

Ads

0
FollowupID: 401425

Reply By: Member - AdrianLR (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 22:22

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 22:22
Hi Adam,

This will do the job:

DC-DC converter kit at DSE

but only up tp 1.5A at 24V

I use one as a laptop supply and it works well. I can build it for you if that helps.

Adrian
AnswerID: 148183

Follow Up By: Member - AdrianLR (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 22:26

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 22:26
Link didn't work (only pasted part of the line in)

Go to www.dse.com.au and search for K3234
0
FollowupID: 401432

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 22:29

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 22:29
Ads what dya need it for? I have a couple of 12v batts about 3"x7"x5" that you could use onf of to boost an existing battery to 24v.
.
Time is an illusion produced by the passage of history
.

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

AnswerID: 148188

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 22:31

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 22:31
Hey bud

Its a secret. Have spare batteries, but need 24v from only one bat.hahaha

Ads
0
FollowupID: 401436

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 22:58

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 22:58
take a look at this schmick link they have them and only $109, and I can get one for $30 if you tell me what you're doing hahahaha
.
Time is an illusion produced by the passage of history
.

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 401448

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 23:00

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 23:00
oops the $109 jobbie isnt 12v input only the 50w model and only 2.1 amp at 24v
.
Time is an illusion produced by the passage of history
.

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 401449

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 12:35

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 12:35
Depends on the quality of the power required, The link posted looks like slolid state regulated power supplies ?

If what you are powering isnt very fussy about the power it is getting you could just use a simple transformer, that would definitely be a lot chaeper and easy to hook up.
0
FollowupID: 401535

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 17:22

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 17:22
what is a simple DC transformer?
.
Time is an illusion produced by the passage of history
.

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 401615

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:23

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 21:23
Sorry on drugs , will work if you switch it on and off fast enough !
0
FollowupID: 402196

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 22:20

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 22:20
hmmm about 50 times a second?
.
Time is an illusion produced by the passage of history
.

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  My Position  Send Message
Moderator

0
FollowupID: 402743

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 23:49

Thursday, Jan 12, 2006 at 23:49
Ads

I think you would need a series parallel switch
to switch the supply from 12 to 24 volts dc
you could only use one at a time (I think)
Old Kenworths ran a series parallel switch to start on 24v dc then switch to 12v dc to run the truck elect. system
You maybe able to do using diodes

Richard
AnswerID: 148218

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 09:07

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 09:07
Crazie.

Try http://www.12volt.com.au/

Regards
Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

Lifetime Member
My Profile  My Blog  Send Message

AnswerID: 148238

Reply By: Ron173 - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 09:15

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 09:15
G'day

just to put a different angle on this one:-

since 24v products are not as popular as 12v, instead of buying a converter etc etc

Wouldnt it be an idea to look at getting an internal conversion done on your appliance to run on 12v?

Rgds

Ron
AnswerID: 148242

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 12:30

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 12:30
Use the K I S S principle whacker

2 x 12 = 24
AnswerID: 148273

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 13:43

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 13:43
Jaycar MP3460 will give you 24 volts at 2.9 amps. Cost is $82.56.
Collyn Rivers
AnswerID: 148294

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 00:41

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 00:41
Collyn,

That'd be a MP3462 - the MP3460 is a 240v device.

Tim
0
FollowupID: 402774

Reply By: Member - Collyn R (WA) - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 20:08

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 20:08
Tim
Thanks for the correction - I must see about new glasses! At least the right one is cheaper.
Collyn
AnswerID: 149679

Sponsored Links

Popular Products (13)