Gap in market? 265/70/16 LT Tyre

Submitted: Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 12:36
ThreadID: 29653 Views:3188 Replies:7 FollowUps:16
I haven't done heaps of research nut it seems to me there is a gap in the market place for a tough tyre of LT construction in 265/70/16 size.

I operate a Patrol wagon which the ADR says I cant fit 265/75/16. I currently run OPAT passenger rates

Reply By: Member - David 0- Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 12:39

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 12:39
that should read "but" not nut and tyres not rates....damn phone rang while I was typing :-)

So here it is again-

I haven't done heaps of research but it seems to me there is a gap in the market place for a tough tyre of LT construction in 265/70/16 size.

I operate a Patrol wagon which the ADR says I cant fit 265/75/16. I currently run OPAT passenger tyres and wanted to fit the LT constuction OPATS but can't. There seems to be few LT tyres in 265/70/16.

AnswerID: 148276

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:56

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:56
Only tyre I found in LT265/70R16 in Australia was the BF Goodrich All-Terrain. Have found a couple of references to other makes, but not available in Oz as far as I could ascertain.

Cooper STT will eventually be available in 265/70R16, presumably with the same "Armor-Tek3" construction as the current tyres, but only a 6 ply sidewall. Even their AT, ATR and ST tyres are only in Passenger construction in this size - Cooper Tires USA responded to my request about LT tyres saying that there was no market for LT tyres in that size in the US because no-one there goes offroad with any of the SUVs or pickups that come with that tyre size as standard, so they wouldn't be making any for Australia.
FollowupID: 401586

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 16:41

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 16:41
Interesting isn't it. I would beleive there is a pretty big market for a 265/7016 LT tyre in Australia. I guess compared to the US market, a pretty big market in Oz is nothing.
FollowupID: 401599

Reply By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 13:17

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 13:17

I forget what the Part Number is, but you can order through any Nissan dealer a 265/75/16 tyre placcard for your Nissan, I have one myself now sitting next to the original 265/70/16 one. All ADR compliant etc, give Nissan Australia a ring and get the part number off them and then it will only take a few days to get through any Nissan Dealer, if you have no joy with the part number let me know and I will find the receipt for mine at home and get back to you.

Snowy
AnswerID: 148284

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 13:31

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 13:31
I noticed you said that before.

My concern is is it legal, will insurance be void, the tyre expert I deal with knows the Patrol doesn;t have such a pacard.

So love to do that if it is legal, but need to know if it is.
FollowupID: 401549

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 13:39

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 13:39
Called Nissan asked for placcard for Patrol ute

Part No they gave me was 99090VD210

about $8

FollowupID: 401552

Follow Up By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 13:55

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 13:55

I have a 2003 GU and it mentions the larger tyre size in the manual, followed it up with SA transport department and my insurance company, and they both said that if it is a proper ADR compliance plate then it was fine. Perhaps ring your insurance company and relecant motoring dept for peace of mind, but with the proper ADR sticker I don't see that it would be a problem. Although the part number I was given and used was 99090VB000A, it cost me $18.
FollowupID: 401558

Follow Up By: flappa - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 14:04

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 14:04
The 265/75/R16 are only a bees doddle away from being legal without the plate. Matter of only a few mm. They are actually legal within a few months.

Most guys running the new Plaquard are using 285/75/R16.
FollowupID: 401561

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 14:09

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 14:09
Quote from Toyo

"The original equipment 265/70R16 tyres fitted to your Nissan Patrol have an overall diameter of 778mm, a difference of 24mm."

24-15 = 9mm oversize

Re part number perhaps a different year. I suspect all Patrol utes take same size tyres regardless of year.

FollowupID: 401563

Follow Up By: Turbo Diesel - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 14:18

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 14:18
Now this seriously bothers me in the sense that i'm totally jealous. I own an SR5 Turbo Hilux current shape and would love to get a new tyre placard from toyota does anyone know if the same service is offered by toyota.
FollowupID: 401564

Follow Up By: flappa - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 14:44

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 14:44
Quote: "The original equipment 265/70R16 tyres fitted to your Nissan Patrol have an overall diameter of 778mm, a difference of 24mm."

BFG AT's , at 265/70/R16 are 792mm.

All this depends on how the rules are interpreted.
FollowupID: 401568

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 14:53

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 14:53
Let me quote the whole email from Toyo-

"Thankyou for your email.
The LT265/75R16 OPAT has an overall diameter of of 802mm. The original equipment 265/70R16 tyres fitted to your Nissan Patrol have an overall diameter of 778mm, a difference of 24mm.

The regulations for alternative wheels & tyres in all states and territories allow a maximum of +15mm when fitting alternative tyre sizes, without having the tyre size change approved by an automotive engineer. Therefore the advice you have been given is correct.

In practice this regulation is often not adhered to, mainly due to the fact that it has been rarely enforced. I have advice that many states will start enforcing these regulations in the near future, mainly due to some users fitting tyres / wheel with extremely large overall diameters, that raise vehicle ride heights dramatically, which negatively affects vehicle stability."

Are you saying that they may be interpreting the ADR incorrectly?

Seems to me that the original tyre size versus the intended tyre size is pretty straight forward. How do you think they are misinterpreting? If they are, I'd be happy, because I'd love a legal way out.

FollowupID: 401571

Follow Up By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:07

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:07
Flappa

"They are actually legal in a few months", are the laws being revised, and in what states?
FollowupID: 401573

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:11

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:11
Snowy.

He means once they wear a bit. But I don't think it is the actual size that matters, really the design size ie the size at time of manufacture or fitting.

Reading ADR's bores me so I haven;t tried my own interpretation. :-)
FollowupID: 401574

Follow Up By: flappa - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:42

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:42
No , I'm not saying they are wrong . . . just , thats their view of things.

there are NUMEROUS threads on this where people have been given a different answer.

eg, there is an allowable difference of 3% in a tyre size. Thats why you will see eg, Toyo at 778mm and BFG at 792mm BUT, both being 265/70/R16.

The accepted way of doing it, is to find the largest PHYSICAL sized 265/70/R16 (eg the BFG at 792mm) THEN add 15mm to give you a measurement of 807mm.

As long as the tyre you fit is under 807mm (even going up a size to 265/75/R16) then, you are legal.

Now, I believe the BFG AT's at 265/75/R16 are 812mm , so , its only 5mm over. Which is quickly reduced , in PHYSICAL size , in just a few months.

As I said , its all about interpretation.
FollowupID: 401580

Reply By: Turbo Diesel - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:49

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:49
Guys I have spoken to the transport authority and the tyre manufactures and the insurance companies. All gave a different answer other than the insurance company, they said "If the tyre size on any vehicle is +-15mm its is deemed under Queensland Law to be illegal, therefore we as the insurance company RACQ could choose to not insure this vehicle in the event of an accident or claim, deeming it unroadworthy and illegal". Sucks 15mm like honestly, this is the way it is so ensure your "Road" tyres are within the bounds and you are ok. You think patrol drivers have problems try owning a hilux and see what tyre selection you have?????
AnswerID: 148332

Reply By: desert - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 19:11

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 19:11
Technically, and it's a loose interpretation as well, but LT tyres only begin at 75 section. There are some exceptions, of course. Thertheless, if the 265/75 tyre has a higher load rating (which it undoubtably will) and a higher speed rating, then you are OK. It is only if you down-grade from specs that will run you into trouble. Besides, GU utes are fitted with 75 series section and not 70. Essentially the same vehicle with a different body!
AnswerID: 148378

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 20:15

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 20:15
I run 265/75/16's Cooper STT's on my GQ

Most people around here in the bush couldn't give a rats arse for slightly oversize tyres.

Maybe it is illegal but who cares.

Moral of story is don't have an accident.

Anyway my truck isnt insured so no worries there either
AnswerID: 148410

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 20:26

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 20:26
Yeah but mine is used for tag along business and not too keen to have myself exposed to extra risk. It is insured as well. From what I have gathered today talking to Nissan and others, is that it is OK to fit the tyres as the vehicle is compliant but you need to have the placard. it is legal to have it dual placarded. So it seems that the answer is to fit the placard.
FollowupID: 401661

Reply By: rolande- Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 22:14

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 22:14
G'Day David O,

The tyre placard mentioned above is for genuine fitment to GU Patrol Utes. The regulations state that you can run 15mm bigger than the LARGEST DIAMETRE TYRE AVAILABLE FOR THAT VEHICLE.

Therefore for $8 you have proof the vehicle is legal from the manufacturer and do not need an engineers report

Rolande
AnswerID: 148437

Reply By: rickwagupatrol - Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 00:02

Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 00:02
So does this mean that the 275/70r16's on my patrol are illigal in W.A. ?

rick.
AnswerID: 148462

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 07:11

Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 07:11
I can't remember what width change you are allowed, but I suspect they are ilegal yes. ADR's apply to all states- it is just that is some states you can have an engineer inspect and approve mods- not in QLD tho.
FollowupID: 401716

Follow Up By: Member - Charlie M (SA) - Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 13:27

Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 13:27
the 275/70r16 came out as standard on the 4.8 petrol patrol, if on this vehicle they would be ok. They are H rated but S rated can be fitted, but not less than load index
Charlie
FollowupID: 401761