Laser Eye Surgery

Submitted: Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:25
ThreadID: 29662 Views:2472 Replies:18 FollowUps:38
Off topic, but I had both eyes lasered last night in Townsville and now have full 20/20 vision after more than 25 years of wearing glasses
So not only can I read my maps without glasses, I can now SEE where all you forumites are coming from...hehe... but still can't see where Harold Scruby is coming from though, but I can see right through him.. hehe
Anyway, any of you thinking about having laser done I say go for it
Cheers Poppy

Reply By: hillie - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:32

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:32
Poppy,

Been thinking about having this done also for the same reasons...sick of wearing glasses. If you dont mind me asking.....how much to have it done??

Do they give you any guarantees, like it will last for xxx years or is it forever??

hillie
AnswerID: 148325

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:36

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:36
Hillie....Not cheap $4600 with no guarantees and you have to sign off on that as well, but they said they have never had one go wrong yet
Cheers Poppy
FollowupID: 401579

Follow Up By: Ray Bates - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 19:47

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 19:47
I had two occular transplants in thirteen months. My eyes are blilliant now. I am 69 and have just passed to have my 'F' class license renewed.
All it cost me was $40.00
FollowupID: 401653

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 20:07

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 20:07
Parden my ignorance ! but what is an 'F' class license?
Dave.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 401655

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:33

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:33
Hi Poppy ,
Does it work if you need reading glasses , but your long sight is still OK or is it the other way around ? I remember one of the ways it does not work on .
It must seem like a miracle after the operation .
Cheers ,
Willie .
AnswerID: 148326

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:55

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:55
Willie
I needed glasses for both reading and long distance so had graduated lenses now I can read a newspaper with no probs at all
They did say that laser will give perfect long distance and will improve short sight but I went back this morning for a checkup and was told I had 20/20 vision and I am stoked... YEEEHAA
Cheers Poppy
FollowupID: 401585

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 21:56

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 21:56
There was no op really good for far sighted people 8 years ago. Not sure about now
FollowupID: 401674

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 22:05

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 22:05
There wasn't 3 years ago either John....
FollowupID: 401678

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:46

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 15:46
How bad were your Eyes? mine are pretty foobar but are fine with strong lenses. I have thought about it but my worst nightmare would be payin 3-5k just so i can wear thinner glasses.
Oh I just read the part you can now read maps without glasses which suggests your eyesight wasnt too bad to start with
AnswerID: 148331

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 16:02

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 16:02
Davoe
I had no hope of reading a map or anything else for that matter without glasses
Before the procedure he said I may need the weakest pair of magnifying glasses ( cheapies from the chemist $20 ) for reading in low light but so far so good and it's less than 24 hrs since they were done, still a bit sore but worth it
Cheers Poppy
FollowupID: 401591

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 16:20

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 16:20
Hiya Davoe & Poppy

I had mine done about 3 years ago, my eyes like yours Dave were fubar, I couldn't see beyond my nose, now I have better than 20/20 in both eyes, it was the best thing I've ever done, and I'd say go and see if you're a candidate for it...it's simply the best !!

Lyn
FollowupID: 401596

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 16:46

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 16:46
can it correct stygmatisms? Is it claimable in private Health? I am pretty sure it can be claimed on tax being over 3 grand or whatever the amount is.
I have heard a few bad things like "starring" around lights - but that was from the optomitrist
FollowupID: 401600

Follow Up By: Brian B (QLD) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 17:01

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 17:01
Davoe,

My wife had it done about a year ago and it has worked brilliantly for her. I am going to get done soon and I suffer from a stygmatism in one eye and in my case it can be corrected. We couldn't claim on our private health cover as the procedure was totally elective.

The first thing you need to do is go to an eye centre that does this work and they will evaluate you and let you know if your condition is suitable for laser.

There is a brand new one they are advertising on Brisbane radio that does not cut the eyeball at all.

If you CLICK HERE you will be taken to the website of the company that we dealt with.

My wife told me that it wasn't painful at all and that she suffered a gritty feeling in her eyes for a day or two but that was all. She has now got 20/20 in both eyes.

Have a good one.
FollowupID: 401606

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 17:04

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 17:04
Hi Davoe

yes it can correct stygmatisms I had them in both eyes, as for starring, I get none, but prior to the op, I found driving at night very difficult due to starring around car headlights and lamp posts, I no longer have this problem...an optometrist told me once that I shouldn't get my eyes lasered as he believed that it wouldn't help me - mind you, he has also missed out on my custom for the past 3 years as I no longer wear glasses, so perhaps that was his motive...

The procedure I had done involved scrapping the first surface layer off my eye [didn't feel a thing] and the the eye was lasered, [lasic involves a flap created, then the lasering then the flap put back and the patient has near perfect vision straight away] in my case, my vision took about a fortnight, but I could see ok, I was just unable to drive. I had this done as the surgeon felt my pupils would cross over where the "flap" was created and that may cause starring, [this because my pupils are so large when fully dilated] but I have had no problems and I believe he made the correct decision.

I believe it's still not covered on the private health insurance, it certainly wasn't when I had mine done, however, as you say you can claim in it on tax, which is what I did. In my case, my follow up visits were and are handled by medicare, after initially going back every 6 months, I now see them 2 yearly.

To put my condition into perspective, I could not see the eye chart, let alone read any of the lines, now I can read the bottom line...

just brilliant...

Lyn
FollowupID: 401608

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 17:13

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 17:13
"To put my condition into perspective, I could not see the eye chart, let alone read any of the lines, now I can read the bottom line... "
yyyyep If i squint I might make out the big D at the top. Might have to look into it . Reeeely worried about not getting the results i wanted. I tried contacts and went back to glasses
FollowupID: 401612

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 17:26

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 17:26
I couldn't make out anything even if I squinted...lol.....I wore contacts too but my vision was never correct, there is absolutely no comparison, I thought to myself I could see the eye chart I'd be happy, but to be able to read the bottom line unaided is amazing....
FollowupID: 401618

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 16:21

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 16:21
Hi Poppy

I understand totally where you're coming from, it's the best thing I've done and worth every cent...

Lyn
AnswerID: 148338

Reply By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 16:31

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 16:31
Hi Poppy

Discussing getting it done the other day. What's the story with the pain side of things. Don't hold back, I need to hear the truth. My sister has a higher pain threshold.
AnswerID: 148341

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 16:37

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 16:37
I can't answer for poppy, but in my case, I didn't have the latest greatest new procedure called "lassic" I had another type called "advanced prk" due to the fact that my pupils would dilate over scar tissue as they're so large, I had been told this procedure was "very painful" but that was a load of shiat, you're given pain killers to take home should you need them, for me it felt like an irritation like sand in the eye for a couple of days, very managable, the actual surgery you feel nothing..the pain killing drops they give you are fantastic....and a few days of discomfort are all worth it....for me...after wearing glasses for nearly 30 years to be able to see was miraculous, I still can't get over it.

Lyn
FollowupID: 401597

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 20:59

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 20:59
Hi Ozdyssey
Absolutely 100 percent painless
The biggest pain is forking out the $$$
Can't be claimed on health insurance except if you have defence force insurance as they will cover it
Lyn is spot on with her response, so far best thing I've done too
They even do a free video of entire procedure to show your friends
My wife wants to have hers done now but refuses to watch the video
Mate just go for it
Cheers Poppy
FollowupID: 401669

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 21:59

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 21:59
We kepth the panadein Forte provided for emergency use - my kidney stones. Just a little discomfort I understand.
FollowupID: 401675

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 22:11

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 22:11
John, had a kid knee stone removed last year. The surgeon played star wars on it and zapped it away. 2 ops, both easier than changing a tyre. I won't mention which end they go in through, just the thought makes my eyes water these days :)))
FollowupID: 401682

Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 16:43

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 16:43
Do they do teeth too????

sorry I tried not to

Reiner
AnswerID: 148347

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 17:24

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 17:24
They have a teeth whitening procedure available using lasers ... but I don't think they can make you see any better. Unless you just get your eye teeth done.

(Wish I hadn't said that !!!).

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 401617

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 17:47

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 17:47
Can they fix old eyes, or is there a limit ?
AnswerID: 148364

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 17:59

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 17:59
how old?

I think it depends on the condition and health of your eyes, I'm not sure on other states, but in vic you can go and get assessed for free, I went to two different clinics before I decided who would operate on me.

Lyn
FollowupID: 401630

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 18:01

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 18:01
I was thinking 50 to 60.
FollowupID: 401632

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 18:43

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 18:43
there were people in their 50's having it done when I was having my done...
FollowupID: 401637

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 18:58

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 18:58
I wonder how long your 4 grand lasts you ? Hey wait a minute, if my eyes were better I could go to the beach and check out the ....flags ! My wife would kill me !aybe I'd better grow older gracefully :))))))
FollowupID: 401642

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 20:19

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 20:19
i wouldnt believe you would be going to the beach to check out the flags either..... something else i reckon
FollowupID: 401658

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 21:04

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 21:04
Hi Footloose
I have a friend of mine who is a retired heart specialist and 79 years old and had his done last year.
And without giving away my age ( 60 but don't let on) Now you know why they call me Poppy... I don't believe there is an age limit
Cheers Young Poppy
FollowupID: 401670

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 22:07

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 22:07
Hi Poppy, that's fascinating. As for being a sexy senior citizen, I'm not that far behind. Some days seem closer than others :))
I've met 60 year olds going on 16 and vica versa. Retired early after 30 years of dealing with kids, and I still get a kick out of their behaviour.
FollowupID: 401679

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 17:59

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 17:59
I love the new adds on the radio at the moment, about lasic or Laysic, They say that its done now with no scalpal to start the proceedure off now and much safer. But when they were doing it with a scalpal, they didnt mention it was not that safe.. How can you trust these guys.. How can they justify the price, I guess they just have the cost low enough to keep them busy all the time..... supply and demand one thinks... Michael

AnswerID: 148368

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 18:53

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 18:53
hi Michael

the surgery I had was the type they were doing pre lasic, and, the guy that did my eyes said, that when lasic came out that was considered the bees knees, but, they found that for some people it just wasn't suitable...hence why I didn't have lasic...my surgery actually wasn't done with a scalpal either, it was done with a scraper and then a "cold beam laser" and I thought 'WOW a cold beam laser, fantastic" and then al pointed out to me, "It's only a cold beam til it hits something, and that something is your eye"...ahhaha...I think alot of what they say is to get you in the door, but, once there, the whole procedure is explained, I baulked at going for so long because I thought it was impossible for me to see, and now, I kick myself at waiting for so long....
FollowupID: 401640

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 00:04

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 00:04
Hi Michael,

The price of $4-5000 for perfect vision does not need justification.

If you can find someone who would do it for $500 would you then ask why is it so cheap - I bet you would.

Your statement about not trusting these guys is also a little silly, because every year new research is done (particularly in Germany) which develops new processes, analyses the results gained from actual operations all around the world and makes future operations better and better. That's how they find out what was deficient in earlier times.

Christian Barnard's first heart transplant operation was a poor result for the patient but he would have died anyway. Now theprocess is quite common and relatively safe.

I had the PRK version of eye surgery 12 years ago at age 43 and went from not being able to read the chart to driving everywhere without glasses for the first time in my life. Lasik was not invented then so I couldn't have that procedure. The PRK cost $5000 then with no health fund benefits but a tax rebate of 20%. My prescription was -7.5 on one eye and -6.5 on the other which means I could read a book at nose distance with a font size 1 but couldn't recognise a friend across a room.

Since then I have developed astigmatism in both eyes due to a little scar tissue puckering with age, and I now wear specs when driving, although I legally don't need them. With the advent of Wavefront technology (do a google search and find out how ingenious this is) I will soon be able to have a second process to zap the astigmatism. Has to be PRK again as it's the outside surface of my eyes that need planing, and Lasik can't do that.

So my suggestion is to stop making excuses to yourself about the cost and have it done.
FollowupID: 402212

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 08:12

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 08:12
Hi Gerhardp1

my prescription was exactly the same as you...I still cant believe I can see after being so short sighted....I'd have the procedure again if I had to, I've got no fears about it at all,

hope it all goes well for you...

Lyn
FollowupID: 402235

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 20:02

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 20:02
Heather had her eyes done a few years ago after 40 years of contact lenses and I was most impressed with the clinic and the surgeon. When I looked up the guy on the internet he had written most of the papers on Lasik surgery.

I was in the room to see the second eye done as was a visiting American surgeon who was being briefed on the op. I could watch through the video link of what the surgeon could see. It was facinating.

I guided Heather out of the surgery and down the steps as she had bug eye plastic covers on overnight. Despite these smeary lenses she was reading all the traffic signs and car numberplates without correction for the first time since primary school.

Now I am the one using glasses more than she does - she has them for reading only. I know it was worth every cent. I didn't have to look for popped out contact lenses again!!!!!

While waiting I was talking to a guy who had his done a month before and he was waiting for his wife to complete her surgery.
AnswerID: 148401

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 21:11

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 21:11
Hi John
Can relate to the bug eye lenses taped to your face
My missus reckons I looked like Hannibal Lector
Thought that was a bit cruel... hehe
Cheers Poppy
FollowupID: 401671

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 21:55

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 21:55
I could not possibly comment about your looks Poppy ;-)
FollowupID: 401673

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 22:03

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 22:03
Poppy,

when I had mine done, I came back to the waiting area where Al was as well as people who were going in after me, and I bounded around the corner of the room and exclaimed "I can see !!" Al said it was the funniest site he'd seen, on two levels - firslty me wearing the bug eye protectors and secondly the looks on the other people's face when I appeared..haahhaha....I didn't care, I could see paintings on walls, signs in shop windows, car rego plates...it was the most amazing ride home I've ever had....

Lyn
FollowupID: 401677

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 22:34

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 22:34
I can remember the sheer excitement Lyn, reading everything in view to the hotel we were staying at St Kilda - the Novatel. WOW
FollowupID: 401693

Reply By: howie - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 20:12

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 20:12
i haf mime dome for onli $200.
AnswerID: 148408

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 20:25

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 20:25
So now you are looking good :o)

Good one!
AnswerID: 148413

Reply By: Ray Bates - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 21:05

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 21:05
For Dave (NSW)
Hi Dave,
a 'F' class license is issued in W.A. It entitles you to drive a bus which carries fare paying passenger. It entails a special written test and requires an annual medical
AnswerID: 148424

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 18:14

Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 18:14
Hi Ray,
I thought it was something like that. You would think that the license classifacation would be the same anywhere in Ozz! Glad your opperation was a success.I have a boy 15 years old been wearing glasses since he was 3 years. But still to young to have eye operation yet.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 401789

Reply By: jon p qld - Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 22:20

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 22:20
I had my eyes done back in 1997 after a lifetime of very bad short sightedness, it cost a lot of money back then but is the best thing I have ever done. Before the operation everything was a blurr without glasses, now I have 20/20 vision which is still good even after all these years. Yes there is a slight risk, but the surgeon will do an examination before to assess if your eyes are suitable. It was well worthwhile for me.
Regards Jon
AnswerID: 148440

Reply By: Member - Royce- Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 23:09

Friday, Jan 13, 2006 at 23:09
Well... I'm excited. Just before I sat down, I looked for my glasses. Finally found one of the 20 pairs I've got at the other end of the house. Using them, I found the pair sitting here beside the computer. But... wait there's more. Went to get a cuppa and slipped this pair up onto the top of my head where I found that I already had a pair sitting there!!! All the time I had been looking for a pair of glasses! So..... does this surgery help you find your glasses?
AnswerID: 148451

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 09:33

Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 09:33
Hi Royce...definitely, but it can't stop you from thinking they're still on your nose, I still, after 3 years occaisionally go to adjust my glasses or take them off....
FollowupID: 401736

Reply By: Austravel - Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 13:33

Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 13:33
A mate had his done but told me that the only way they can achieve 20/20 is that one eye is lasered for long distance and the other for short. Told me if he covers one eye then one or the other is blurred. Is this still the case?
AnswerID: 148519

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 20:20

Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 20:20
I severly doubt this. I have recieved glasses that are not spot on in one eye and the effect is simular to about 8 beers. If they did as you say it would drive you nuts
FollowupID: 401809

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 22:06

Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 22:06
No way Austravel

I had both eyes done, exactly the same, what they told me is they make you slighly long sighted in both eyes, but, that your vision adjusts, which was certainly the case with my eyes. My eyes were not 20/20 at the start, took about a month for one eye to be 20/20 and the other was a couple of months later....not that I noticed the difference was so mininmal
FollowupID: 401821

Follow Up By: Austravel - Sunday, Jan 15, 2006 at 21:58

Sunday, Jan 15, 2006 at 21:58
Thanks for that, not sure what he was talking about then. Have considered it myself a couple of times but $$$$ plus there has been the odd time that my glasses have saved me getting hit in the eye. Maybe when they get worse.
FollowupID: 401988

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 15:03

Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 15:03
Exciting News Poppy... you are obviously impressed & I note this post has everybodies eyes scanning it...I'm just wondering being a Veteran with a goverment Gold mine card If I could get the job done gratis with that... I shall make further enquiries.
AnswerID: 148530

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 22:21

Saturday, Jan 14, 2006 at 22:21
good luck. All I know about this is that my brother who has his eyes done early in the peice has had to have them done again, they were great for years then packed up again. My turn soon I think.
AnswerID: 148604

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 00:15

Tuesday, Jan 17, 2006 at 00:15
Hi Mad Dog,

I have the same thing, originally done as a very early adopter and my eyes have changed again with a little scar tissue causing astigmatism. Not to mention the normal age long sightedness.

Will have them done again soon using Wavefront and am hoping to be one of the lucky people who get 20/10 vision as a result. Otherwise known as "Eagle Eye", this allows you to sex a fly on a tree three miles away!.

FollowupID: 402213

Reply By: Member - t0me (WA) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 11:49

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 11:49
the missus and I have had ours done in the UK.
I had the older treatment (3 days with what felt like flashburn).
She had the new one (1/2 an hour and she was seeing, though hers didn't turn out perfect and she is still a tiny bit short sighted, not so much she can't drive, and not so much its worth fixing again).

It lasts as long as your script would have if you were using something else. So if your eyes change it won't be any good anymore.
Over time the muscles in your eye's stretch/relax which is why when we're older we all need reading glasses. It won't correct that.

The missus's treatment cost only 960 quid.
We both had both eyes done at the same time (bit rarer in my treatment, they prefer to do one at a time, but I had time restrictions with work).

Its been a few years now and they are still brilliant. The starring whilst driving at night only lasted a few months. I don't know if its gone or your brain just adapts but its no issue at all now.

Best money I've ever spent in my life. Bar none.
I can understand why people feel wary but its a very safe operation compared to many people do for the hell of it. Tried and tested too.
AnswerID: 148894