What beaches are you allowed to drive on in SA?

Submitted: Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 19:44
ThreadID: 29760 Views:24573 Replies:7 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Hi, all, I'm fairly new to Adelaide and have driven onto the beach with about 50 others at Seaford, but today I was at Semaphore and there is clown driving up the beach in a sparkling new Pajero amongst the kids, dogs etc. I've searched the Department of Environment an dHeritage webpages and found no reference whatsoever, also there are no gigns saying it is not allowed, and admittedly,there is a very clear track from the carpark right onto the beach that the Surf club use to launch thier row baot etc. So whats the go?? any clarity would be appreciated.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 19:49

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 19:49
My understanding is that Semaphore is a definite no no. I think most beaches would have access of some sort.
AnswerID: 148994

Reply By: Member - Tim F (NT) - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:06

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:06
G'day Coyote,

Used to be able to drive on beach at Moana (down near Christies Beach), pretty boring though from a 4wders point of view, fairly short run only about a km or so. Also at Goolwa you can drive on the beach down to the mouth of the Murray River, and of course there is some of the toughest beach sand driving to be done in Australia, down near Robe in the South East. Sorry not sure about Semaphore, sorry.

Cheers Tim.
AnswerID: 148999

Reply By: ToyMotor - Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:19

Monday, Jan 16, 2006 at 20:19
You're allowed to launch your boat at that spot at Semaphore, (but not drive up and down the beach) and also at Seacliff beach. General beach access is allowed at Silver Sands, and also Aldinga (the council collects money off you on weekends) there are signs to define the limits to driving access up and down the beach.