Fridge post with a difference..........

Submitted: Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 16:31
ThreadID: 29838 Views:3030 Replies:10 FollowUps:14
Afternoon all,

Do not want to start a debate on fridges, but I have spent time reading and researching, as you do, and am seriously considering a Trailblaza.

I sent an e-mail to Norcoast Refrigeration and two days later received a telephone call from Margaret Albiez, the owner.

Most helpful and provided answers to all my questions.

I have just received all the brochures and information on the entire range of fridges.

Good old fashioned service, of which one does not see too often these days.

Would those forumites that own a Trailblaza be kind enough to let me know if they are satisfied with the product.

I am considering the 100lt RC special edition and thinking of fitting it on/in the trailer, as apposed to inside the car, any thoughts on this?

Michael B (SA)

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 16:51

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 16:51
I dont actualy own a trailblazer but I would given a chance (I ended up swapping someone some work for a new waeco) but I know for a fact they are some of the most well built fridges on the market they still run the danfos compressor. Been an auto electrician I get to see alot of them and every fridge I have seen is usauly very old but still working like a treat. I havent heard many complaints about them I think the next best thing on the market would have to be the engel In my mind. but I am sure there are people out there that own them and can give you personal experience's.
AnswerID: 149419

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 17:20

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 17:20
"Been an auto electrician I get to see alot of them and every fridge I have seen is usauly very old but still working like a treat. I havent heard many complaints about them"

If they are working a treat why do they need to go to an auto electrician???
FollowupID: 402655

Follow Up By: Eddy - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 20:32

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 20:32
Could just be that the vehicle is in Sam's shop for another reason,
Heck, I don't know, could be nothing ever goes wrong except trailblazers!
Are you picking on Sam or Trailblazers, or do you know something that you want to share with the fair minded rest of us?
FollowupID: 402712

Follow Up By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 21:45

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 21:45
hi SAM
you dont see the best because they dont brake down
what is the best
AUTOFRIDGE
snailbait
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

FollowupID: 402736

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 08:08

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 08:08
i would say the vehicle is in his workshop for another reason.....a auto electrician is not allowed to work on fridges unless he holds the appropritae licence...and i doubt that he would...
FollowupID: 402817

Follow Up By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 10:18

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 10:18
The fridge's themselve's are not usualy the problem with most peoples vehicle's its the wiring and battery setups they use so yes I get to see a very good range of fridge's in my workshop everything from engel waeco and trailblazer and the beuty of a having a workshop in weipa is I see so many fridge's and 2 battery setups because in the tourist season thats the thing most people have trouble with as there traveling through. because its usualy the first time they have needed there fridge to perform to the extent of its ability I spend half my time explaining the fridge setup and how to mantain there battery properly than I do fixing most vehicles. I should write a book on all the different system that are availible.
FollowupID: 403093

Reply By: Plunger - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 16:55

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 16:55
Gday Michael

After months of research and deliberation, including reading heaps of threads here, I took delivery of 60L RC in December. Am very happy with it and anticipate it will outlast me {grin}. Margaret was great to deal with. In my view, the RC is worth the extra if you can afford it.

Because I have up to 8 warm bodies to carry in the LC, I had no practical option but to mount it on the drawbar of the CT. Margaret was quite comfortable with the notion of mounting it bare - no shroud, case, box, cushioning... nothing! Told me that they get mounted that way on the back of army tanks! However I chose to put it in an ally checker-plate box with sufficient ventilation space surrounding. I glued 15mm insulation (Clark Rubber) under the lid of the box - just to keep some of the heat out - and mounted a 125mm exhaust fan on one vent with a second inlet vent opposite. Whenever the ally lid is closed, which is only when we are on the raod, the fan is on. Other times the lid is up. Just back from a week away at Sundown and Girraween in some hot weather and this setup worked well.

I am running 2 deep-cycle batteries - one under the bonnet, the other on the CT.

The downside of drawbar mount is the added ball-weight. My 60L Trailblaza is 38kg empty.

Plunger
AnswerID: 149420

Follow Up By: Michael B - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 17:27

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 17:27
Thanks Plunger,

Your set-up sounds very similar to what I would like to do, any problems with dust or does the exhaust fan keep it clean?

I was also giving consideration to placing the fridge in the trailer (not a CT) your thoughts...ventilation/vibration etc

Rgds
Michael
FollowupID: 402661

Follow Up By: Plunger - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 17:35

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 17:35
Michael

I haven't done much dirt work with it yet - but had thought I'd add a filter to the intake vent - perhaps an oil-soaked sponge - that I can easily take out and clean.

I put a little bit of rubber under mine to cushion vibration, but can't see there being much difference inside the trailer - and they are reputedly bullet-proof.

Plunger
FollowupID: 402663

Follow Up By: russ36 - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 23:50

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 23:50
if i were to make up a box 4 my fridge and wanted to add an exhaust fan or two to ensure adequate ventilation , where would i buy a quiet fan from, and do they draw any serious current?
FollowupID: 402760

Follow Up By: Plunger - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 07:42

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 07:42
Russ

I used a 125mm computer fan. $28 from computer shops or 12v specialists. A bit of cable, a switch, a fuse... and Bob's yer uncle. Just make sure you get one with decent bearings and it will run quiet... although in my case, I only have it running whilst driving, so noise isn't really an issue. When stopped, I have the box open for ventilation. Can't quote you the current draw, but it's next to nothing.

Plunger
FollowupID: 402810

Follow Up By: russ36 - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 20:07

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 20:07
thanks plunger, with extra knowledge, and care , we can all get so much more efficiency and life from our gear.....and you could change your name to plugger[would sound so much more australian!]
FollowupID: 402963

Reply By: Member - David 0- Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 17:05

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 17:05
I had the same friendly old fashioned response from the Explorer mob and very impressed with their fridges' specs.

Someone will say GET A WAECO ;-)
AnswerID: 149424

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 17:23

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 17:23
Get a Waeco... Just kidding, I only got a waeco as $$ were the defining factor and SWMBO wanted a big fridge.

Here I go again... Another usless response...
FollowupID: 402658

Reply By: garryn1292 - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 17:25

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 17:25
Hi Michael B,
I have owned a Trailblazer for 15 years (60 litre)& could not be happier.I talked two mates into buying them 2 years ago & they are very satisfied.
I have two thermostats fitted to mine one which runs much colder than the standed one, for freezing things a little faster.
Regards Garry.
AnswerID: 149432

Follow Up By: Plunger - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 17:30

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 17:30
Pretty sure the RC comes standard with that.
FollowupID: 402662

Reply By: DesC - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 18:31

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 18:31
the trailblazers are very efficient if you can keep them going.
AnswerID: 149455

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 20:42

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 20:42
What do you mean... "if you cab keep them going"???

FollowupID: 402716

Follow Up By: DesC - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 09:15

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 09:15
Two of my mates have them 1 in Emerald and 1 in mT Isa. Both have been back to be repaired for various small electrical problems on the 240v side of things. They said that other people that they know have had the same issues (maybe just heresay).
FollowupID: 402839

Reply By: Member - toohey - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 19:05

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 19:05
g'day michael
only the $$$$ stopped me from get'n one,in my opinion the best built fridge in australia;
cheers toohey.
AnswerID: 149462

Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 19:13

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 19:13
i built mine on their design as i was very happy with it....and with my fridge!!!

if er I mean when i get around to it I will make another but not with 75mm insulation.....cuts down product space too much for the actual savings on energy consumption.....
AnswerID: 149464

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 20:40

Wednesday, Jan 18, 2006 at 20:40
70L standard here.....

Love it!

It works great......

Wouldn't dream of anything else!
AnswerID: 149479

Reply By: flora - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 09:46

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 09:46
hey...we were gonna get an evercool 80 odd lt one....but woke up one morning,decided to go camping out our secret hidey-hole in Gods beautiful land of wee Jasper,nsw past Yass....sssshhhhh dont tell anyone!!.anyway we thought bugger it lets get a waeco cos thats what the camping store had ...... my hubby did the research and evercool sounded great all the way....but now got a waeco and we are so happy!!! Its a 50lt and does our family fine plenty of food fits in for 5 days +, plenty of room and keeps everything so cold!!!! never heard of that trailblazer...good luck!!!! laura......
AnswerID: 149576

Reply By: Bros 1 - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 17:21

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 17:21
Michael B,
Have an 80 lt trailblaza. Set up on slide in back of trayback L/C. No probs yet after two odd years. Mate of mine has the 100 lt from just about when they were first put on the market. Been on countless trips up and around the Cape on the back of an open L/C trayback. No probs. Good product.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 149644