Tyre Monitoring Systems,

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 22:29
ThreadID: 29896 Views:3672 Replies:8 FollowUps:12
Hello All,
I've been searching the archives for these types of things and haven't come up with anything at all. Surprises me, I can remember reading a couple of responses at least on the subject.

On to the questions,
I'd like some feedback from people who've bought these systems. Whether they've been of value to you. Where you got them from, how much etc.
I've looked at the Smartire web site, to me it comes up short on real gritty information on the gear. For the life of me I can't work out how many tyres it'll read and whether it reads temperature too!!
Other things I'd like to know about are the operator interface. Does it just blink and beep or does it show real world temperatures and pressures?
How many tyres does your system support? I'd like to see at least eight.

Thanks in advance for the information,
Geoff.

Classifieds: Landcruiser 16x8 Rims,

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 22:35

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 22:35
Geoff, I saw just your sort of system in Birdsville. I think it came from Gippsland in Victoria and had small leads off to the centre of each wheel. You could adjust the pressure on the move. The business card is in Moses and I will look tomorrow if you are interested. It had reinforced hoses from in front of the wheel or behind the wheel I think on the front wheels...
AnswerID: 149727

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 22:44

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 22:44
Hi John,
I'd be interested in what you've got.
My aim is tyre temperature and pressure monitoring rather than inflation or deflation on the move.
Part of inflating or deflating your tyres is getting out and having a look at your vehicle for any developing problems.

Thanks for the offer, I look forward to the information.

Geoff.

FollowupID: 403018

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 22:44

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 22:44
This bloke is in Moe Vic. (Probably the bloke John is referring to)

Name is Chet Cline (Central Tyre Inflation) 03 5127 6128
AnswerID: 149730

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 22:58

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 22:58
Thanks WIllem,
Appreciate the response.
I'll see what Hohn comes up with and I'll also give this bloke a call.

Geoff.

FollowupID: 403020

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 23:18

Thursday, Jan 19, 2006 at 23:18
Geoff, that is the one. Willie was the guy who noticed the outfit and the gear attached. It will give you a warning of pressure movements and save tyres, but if a small leak keep it inflated until you can deal with it.
FollowupID: 403028

Reply By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 10:11

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 10:11
Have been considerng these but still not convinced.

Autron Smartire system seems to be the go and using the bands instead of the valve type fitting. Valves sensors prob more suspectible to damage. $1000 or so fitted with towing kit.

Sensatyre is suppose to be coming out with a towing kit this year I've been told. Their display looks better.

You're right, very little info from web or the likes of TJM or ARB etc. Makes me feel there a gimmick I don't know but I do like the gadgets.
AnswerID: 149805

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 10:54

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 10:54
John,
That's about where I've got too. Agree on the band install over valve stems.
They seem to be gaining momentum in the OEM world.
My Google searches have turned up some interesting manufacturer fitted systems.
Even the locally produced Monaro had a system by the look of what I turned up.
Found one link that seemed to imply if you have run flat tyres in Australia then monitoring is compulsory, makes sense really. There'd be plenty of people who wouldn't even notice the alarm let alone the empty run flat tyre!
I like the Sensa Tyre kit too, quite simply as you stated for the operator interface. I'll see if I can find any information on the trailer kit.
Google only reports two people selling the Sensa Tyre in Australia. One in Ballina and the other I can't remember. I can't find a manufacturers web site for the product either.
The spelling of tyre would imply it's an Australian or British product rather than American.

Thanks for the reply,

Geoff.

FollowupID: 403099

Follow Up By: ACDC - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 19:29

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 19:29
How is the valve style more pron to damage it's inside the tyre..

If every vehicle had one i've not doubt it would save some lifes on the road.
FollowupID: 403225

Follow Up By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 20:00

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 20:00
When breaking the bead either yourself or at the tyre dealer there's a greater risk than the band type I would think.
FollowupID: 403233

Follow Up By: ACDC - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 20:45

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 20:45
Ozdyssey it still sits in the rim recess so i not really a problem,if i take a tyre of its rim i break the bead first,remove transmitter and then remove tyre.
I looked at Smartire but they only show one wheel at a time and accuracy is only +or - 1.5 psi and they have problems with reception.
FollowupID: 403241

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 22:22

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 22:22
Hi ACDC,
I made a comment earlier about personally prefering the inside rim version of the sensors over the valve type.
For me at least, valve stems in tubeless tyres are consumables like the tyres themselves. Prone to damage and have a finite life.
I was thinking the in rim sensors would be well protected from mechanical damage from ruts, mud etc.

Your experience makes me think the valve stem type are quite durable too. Now it comes down to personal preference.

Thanks again for sharing your experience,

Geoff.

FollowupID: 403254

Follow Up By: ACDC - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 22:47

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 22:47
Hi Geoff,
Your probably right! both will do the job just personal preference as you say..
FollowupID: 403257

Reply By: rolande- Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 15:56

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 15:56
G'Day All,

Believe the yanks have now made it compulsory on new vehicles - that is why they are on the Monaro.

EBAY U.S. have heaps for sale, or check the large U.S. dealers who can ship over here

Rolande
AnswerID: 149866

Reply By: gramps - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 16:12

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 16:12
I don't believe it !!!

I just checked Roachie's rig profile and he does'nt appear to have a Tyre Monitoring System. Might have to get one on that basis alone LOLOLOL
AnswerID: 149867

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 16:50

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 16:50
hahahahaha

Gramps,
No need for me to have this set-up mate, cos my old bus runs so hot that I have to pull up every 15 klm anyway and have a rest, so i walk around her a few times and check the tyres etc...hahahaha
FollowupID: 403183

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 16:21

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 16:21
I just bought the Sensatyre from www.outbackaccessories.com.au, went with the valve system (because of ease of installation) but you can get the band type too. Have not fitted them yet so no report on that. $580 for either the valve or band sensor versions. It will only do 4 tyres per unit I believe.
AnswerID: 149869

Follow Up By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 20:36

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 20:36
Outbacktourer
Any balancing issues that you know of with these systems?
FollowupID: 403239

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Saturday, Jan 21, 2006 at 16:18

Saturday, Jan 21, 2006 at 16:18
Not sure, as I have not put them on yet. The sensor is 30g so it could cause an issue on a light tyre, on a big BFG I'm not sure, we shall see.
FollowupID: 403395

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 18:02

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 18:02
Lucy's got one, measured temp and pressure in 5 tyres, the senders in the back of the valve stem, about $500 from what I recall. member message him for the details

AnswerID: 149886

Reply By: ACDC - Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 19:02

Friday, Jan 20, 2006 at 19:02
I have a Sensatyre kit fitted to my hilux works great!
Got it from www.outbackaccessories.com
AnswerID: 149896