Frazer Island

Submitted: Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 22:27
ThreadID: 30080 Views:1565 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
This Thread has been Archived
I am hoping to go Frazer Island in April and want to know if a 2.5 litre 2005 Subaru Outback would be adequate? I have over 20 years experience on bush trails, but 0 experience on sand, we will be travelling with 2 other vehicles both real 4 wd's.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 22:39

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 22:39
You may struggle depending on sand conditions, but only getting off and on the beach here and there and on some inland tracks, especially up near Indian head, Waddy Point. See a lot of low vehicles bogged but most who keep up momentum and have let down their tyres are usually OK.

Snatching becomes straight fwd and pretty well simple after a few times but NEVER get complacent.
AnswerID: 150689

Follow Up By: wilco - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 07:47

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 07:47
Thanks. I have plenty snatching experience.
FollowupID: 404284

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 23:43

Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 23:43
Wilco, heaps of these types of vehicles go over there, but as said above, the dry sand will cause you some grief. Your low clearance will make your axles and body act as a grader. You WILL get stuck in some of the soft sand. Lowering tyre pressure (which is necessary) makes it even worse.

If you go, I'd suggest sticking to the Eastern Beach and test out the internal tracks a bit before you take them in in a big way. We all get stuck occasionalyy, but it is a real PITA to others when 'soft roaders' continually get bogged and block the internal roads.

AnswerID: 150709

Follow Up By: wilco - Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 07:59

Wednesday, Jan 25, 2006 at 07:59