I need your help again, Pajero or Pathfinder

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 12:22
ThreadID: 30135 Views:2771 Replies:11 FollowUps:19
G'day all
Sorry to be mainly a harvester of knowledge on this great site rather than contributor.
I sought advice 3 years ago prior to buying my gu3 nissan 3L auto. This car has served me very very well, exceeding all my expectations and zero problems. Being so happy with the car (and its only done 45,000k) I intended to renew my lease but due to the way the fbt and lease works I am now looking at new cars.
I like a versatile car, able to tow a 1.5 tonne boat or caravan on the occassional long trip and do the occassional bit of moderate 4wdriving, with a decent luggage area and good fuel economy. Also good weight on towball capacity.
1. First choice a new patrol, unfortunately I don't like the changes they have made and I don't like the current blue compared to my velvet blue, so have ruled out a new patrol. Also whole new patrol in 2006
2. Took a new Pathfinder 2.5L Diesel (drove a manual but I want auto) and was quite impressed, now seriously considering one. This is a whole new vehicle with good economy and 'should' hold its value quite well. All the specs look good. A bit boxy looking but not too bad. 3 tonne towing capacity.
3. Pajero 3.2L diesel auto. Highly rated, but I have never liked appearance that much and this model been around for years. I'm concerned about Mitsubishi's future, not just in Oz but worldwide and effect of a company collapse on vehicle resale. My mechanic tells me the scrub tyres badly and sink miserably when towing and he doesn't like the motor? The high ratings and my drive of one yesterday have put one of these as a possible.

As getting my boat around to the back of my house is an extremely tight operation my first to choice at the moment is
1. A New Pathfinder 2.5L (gee thats a small engine isn't it) auto. its a little smaller than both the patrol and pajero.
2. Keep my gu3, I may do this in the end if I am not sure about a change.
Any "unbiased" :-) and informed comments appreciated.
Rod

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 12:45

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 12:45
Keep your Nissan and buy an old ride on mower to manoeuvre your boat around the house.

Wouldn't it be better to buy your vehicle off the lease company at the end of the lease or does that have tax implications?
AnswerID: 151067

Follow Up By: woddonnee - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:22

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:22
G'day Willem
I have thought along the lines of the lawnmower, unfortunately my drive is quite steep and ashpalt (read some loose stones), I don't think any lawnmower would have the power or traction to pull the 1.5 tonnes in this situation.
Its the tax implications yes. Also because of the fbt valuation and difference between market value and payout figure it will not cost me anymore to have a new car or any less to keep the old. So I figure may as well have a new one. Well it made sense when I said it in my head LOL
Rod
FollowupID: 404635

Reply By: Scubaroo - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 12:59

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 12:59
New Pajero is due late 2006 according to some folks in the know - won't hear much about it though before then as Mitsu will want to clear old stocks. Maybe a great chance to pick up a current NP DiD cheap when they do the end of model runouts?

New springs for towing - factor about $500 for some Kings, and scrubbing tyres is only if they don't have a proper 4 wheel alingment done.
AnswerID: 151071

Follow Up By: woddonnee - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:25

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:25
Thanks scubaroo
I am waiting to see what my local mitsubishi dealer comes back with in the way of price, could be interesting.
I might pick the brains of my wheel aligner after your comments.
Just the kings on the back or all round, I wouldn't need to raise the vehicle for my purposes.
Rod
FollowupID: 404637

Reply By: camship - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:02

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:02
I work in the vehicle sales industry, not for either of these brands.

The Pajero IMO is; UGLY as sin. Noisy and horrible to ride in.

The Pathy is a little more attractive, up to date and a pleasure to drive.
Issues would be unknown resale and reliabilty (given the 3.0s rep.)

I would probably buy the Disco 3 TD, It is definatley the best Td 4x4 I have driven in that price range.

As for the product I do sell, the Td is well below par in this company.
the petrol however...
AnswerID: 151072

Follow Up By: woddonnee - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:37

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:37
Thanks for your thoughts Cam
I guess beauty is in the eye of the beholder (or beer holder LOL)
I have never liked the pajero appearance but am warming to them.
I must say I was shocked when starting and in particular stopping the 3.2L DID paj, it felt like there were no bolts in the engine mounts, don't know if this is normal, but it was a shocking shake rattle and roll.
Re the disco, I saw they got best 4wd in one publication recently, but next level up in pricing, which I don't want to go to.
Perhaps I should have a look though?
Rod
PS I'm thinking Prado is what you are talking about
woddonnee@hotmail.com
FollowupID: 404643

Follow Up By: camship - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:07

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:07
Spot on woddonne.

I would look at the Disco, only thing I would be worried about is resale as the earlier ones are not good. However I think if the 3 can keeps its reputation in tact It should hold up ok.

If you can splurge a little more on fuel (probably 4 litres to the 100 more), the other one mentioned is a more sure bet for resale and reliability IMO.
FollowupID: 404650

Follow Up By: woddonnee - Friday, Jan 27, 2006 at 08:44

Friday, Jan 27, 2006 at 08:44
Thanks camship
You and pbob have convinced me to a least look at the disco's, but I do think they will be to pricey for me
Rod
FollowupID: 404834

Reply By: 4145derek - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:19

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:19
Prado 4.0L v6.

The fuel economy is great and price is even better.

More power is than you will ever need.

I fit dual batteries to the new Pathfinder TD. Not much space, spare wheel a problem and not so sure about towing 1.5 ton.

Regards Derek
AnswerID: 151074

Follow Up By: woddonnee - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:52

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:52
G'day Derek
I have always viewed toyota's as a good product (had a swb FJ LC 22years ago), but perhaps a little overpriced. I did look at a prado in a yard and the back cargo comparment looked small and the vehicle was not attractive to my eye. My mechanic (4wd specialist with a bias for Nissan) said the diesel version is underpowered for towing. Actually he also said he preferred petrol motors full stop. Personally I have found the diesel fantastic, economical and powerful. I think thats got something to do with 99.9% of the transport industries use of diesel.
However, perhaps I should consider a petrol model, but feel they are definately less economical, but diesel more to service, and how would I tell if a petrol motor is running without that reassuring rattle LOL
Any info on fuel consumption for a petrol towing 1.5 tonnes, my patrol uses 14L per 100k's usually, sitting on 110kph (120kph on the guage), which goes up to around 17 at 100kph with a strong head wind.
FollowupID: 404645

Follow Up By: woddonnee - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:30

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:30
By the way Derek, I had a quick peak at your website, very clear and easy to navigate, good stuff.
Rod
FollowupID: 404657

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Jan 27, 2006 at 13:04

Friday, Jan 27, 2006 at 13:04
Hi there woddonnee, no offence to you Derek but prados are a juice guzzler, might as well go and buy a 100 series cruiser, no I dont own one yes have driven them.Three people in my street alone drive them have driven two of them (we go 4wding together) yes very smooth, quite, just like driving a sedan, comfortable bleep load of go, 180 litre tank standard but fuel consumption ouch try 17/18 around town, on the sand up to 24/26, one also tows a 16 foot off road van with 4 kids on board plus all the gear and is manual (the other two are auto's) and is using on average 22 per 100 klms when we have been away together. I know this is alot of weight but when it comes to filling up you will be paying. We have one cruiser in our group 04 model turdo diesel auto averages 15 pulling a 18 footer all the gear that to me is brilliant fuel economy for all the gear. My point of view is to go a diesel if you want economy,if you dont have to pay for fuel and its not an issue I would go the petrol for all the resons above. At the end of the day it comes down to the good old $$$$ and what you like personally. I am a toyota man and love them yes I now hilus diffs in the front ends etc bleep ting themselves but it's your own personal opinion. Have a great weekend take care Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 404876

Follow Up By: woddonnee - Saturday, Jan 28, 2006 at 00:20

Saturday, Jan 28, 2006 at 00:20
Thanks for your thoughts Steve
Thats about what guestimate for petrol prado fuel consumption. The prado fuel tank is ripper though, surprised at the size of some 4wd tanks. A mate has 3.0L td prado, he would have a fabulous range with the 180L's
Rod
FollowupID: 405019

Reply By: woddonnee - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:54

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 13:54
G'day all
My wife noticed that I made a mistake (a habit of hers LOL) in my initial post. A whole new patrol comes out in 2007, not 2006.
Rod
AnswerID: 151083

Reply By: PBob - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:16

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:16
Have you looked at a new Discovery? The interior design is brilliant - they will be the start of new designs for all 4wd over the next few years. On one of the motor shows (SBS forgot what it is called), their 3 favorite vehicles for the year were a 3/4 mill ferrari, and Aston Martin (about 500 grand) and the discovery. Their choice of the three? The Aston Matin - who could blame them!
AnswerID: 151088

Follow Up By: woddonnee - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:41

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 14:41
G'day Pbob
I haven't looked at the Discovery due to the price mainly. I do like the look of them. Heres a quote from Australia's Best Cars where the Discovery 3 TDV6 was chosen No 1.
"Although best on all standard features the, the discovery lags in value and lost marks for its high price, grim outlook on losses at resale and high maintenance, repair and insurance costs".
So I think this one will just slip into the "too costly" basket.
But I will have a look
Rod
FollowupID: 404663

Reply By: Rodos - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 15:11

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 15:11
I chose the Pathfinder 6 speed manual turbo deisel. I did not like the auto at all when I test drove one, but loved the manual. Given your criteria, which was about the same as mine the Pathy would be a good fit. There is another thread with some more info in it.
AnswerID: 151095

Follow Up By: 4145derek - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 23:15

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 23:15
When you need a dual battery give me a ring.

0404 097 627

Regards Derek
FollowupID: 404789

Reply By: gaz4 - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 17:03

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 17:03
Not sure where the story about Pajeros scrubbing tyres comes from....my '02 NM V6 got a bit over 80,000k from the original Yokohama Geolandars, about 25-30,000k of that was towing a 2.3 tonne van. Get a good weight distribution system, make sure the alignment is right, and no problems.

On paper the new Pathfinder looks interesting - in my view ugly as sin (beauty is in the eye of the beholder) and the writeups I've seen say it is pretty rough around the edges. It's sourced from Spain, not a Jap vehicle at all. I tend to stick with the Japs (I've had mainly Toyotas and Mitsubishis, a couple of Nissans) for reliability, assembly quality, and toughness. Sadly, age has proven to me that there is no such thing as a perfect vehicle - an expensive education.

Gaz
AnswerID: 151112

Follow Up By: woddonnee - Friday, Jan 27, 2006 at 08:10

Friday, Jan 27, 2006 at 08:10
G'day
Sorry for slow reply had to work last night.
I think I heard that Pajero's scrub tyres when I searched exploroz. I asked my mechanic and he confirmed that he has a client with a paj and that the tyres splay out when towing, the guy only got 20k out of his last set. ??? Dunno, just repeating what I heard.
I asked the Nissan dealer about the made in spain thing, he reckoned that nissan had been extra careful about having their vehicles made there and have 300 japanese working in the factory to make sure all is done right??
I have also read a few reviews and noticed the "rough around the edges" you mentioned re Pathfinders. It seems that this relates to the return to a proper chassis and more serious off road capability. Some writers seem to love this and others not. I'm thinking perhaps it is a personal bias on their part, or perhaps the fact that most driving is done on the blacktop. I'm going to take an auto for a drive today.
Rod
PS I've had a few differnt expensive educations :-( LOL
FollowupID: 404824

Reply By: PBob - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 18:21

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 18:21
Rod,
Yes you were right about the price of the Discos', however you might be surprised if you went and had a chat. I do not own one but I do have a 2004 Series 2 diesel manual, which is a totally different vehicle. I had spoken to a couple of dealers re the new ones- they were bitterly disappointed at the price when Landrover brought them out and they all complained. It does appear that it is pretty hard for them to come out with a new lower price so soon, but I was told that it is well worth a chat to see what they can put together. I know a livestock agent in Qld who bought a diesel auto at a very good price (including trade in) and he is absoulutly in love with it. He does big milage. Anyone who has a drive of any model disco finds it hard to go past the driving position. As mentioned before, if you crawl over one you will be amazed at the new technology - stuff that will be used by all 4by makers into the future.
AnswerID: 151126

Follow Up By: woddonnee - Friday, Jan 27, 2006 at 08:42

Friday, Jan 27, 2006 at 08:42
G'day pbob
Ok, mate you have talked me into it, I'll look at the disco's :-)
I checked out the specs on the landrover website, quite impressive in some ways and less so in others (accessories). I liked some of the basic inclusions, in particular the additional airbags and tow bar as standard. But other things not included even mud flaps are an option and the accessories are very expensive http://www.landrover.com.au/au/en/Vehicles/Discovery/Accessories/Accessory%20Packs.htm
Anyway, I'll have a look today :-)
Rod
FollowupID: 404833

Reply By: PBob - Friday, Jan 27, 2006 at 08:53

Friday, Jan 27, 2006 at 08:53
Rod,
Be interested to hear wghat you say when you have a look. Accessories are dear, they wanted 1200 bucks for side steps for my series 2, i bought non Landrover, had them powder coated (black) total cost $640.00! Mind you, all genuine dealer accessories are expensive for all models, thats why you have to shop around. Places like "4 wheel drive" landrover shop in vic, often have parts imported for about 2/3rds the price of the dealer. Just remember to go in hard (really hard) if you are looking for a deal - I am certain they have a fair bit of room to move. Make sure you have a drive, they are a drivers car.
Happy hunting, oh and by the way, the Pathfinder got a really good write up as well, though they copped a serve for their price I noticed.
AnswerID: 151229

Reply By: woddonnee - Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 23:25

Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 23:25
G'day all
Thanks very much for the input everyone. After several circuits around the adelaide hills and suburbs in various 4x4's I will soon be driving around in a Land Rover Discovery 3 S TD V6 auto. The others didn't come close.
Now, who was it that made me look at the disco's and spend more than I planned, camship and pbob, your in trouble LOL
Now if anyone is looking for an immaculate 2003 Patrol ST 3L auto low k's with cruise etc.
woddonnee@hotmail.com
thanks again :-)
Rod
AnswerID: 152402

Follow Up By: Member - AdrianLR (VIC) - Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 12:17

Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 12:17
Did you get one with coils or option in air suspension? About to go through the same thing to change over the D2. Did they do a good deal (beyond the advertised special?)

Adrian
FollowupID: 406218

Follow Up By: woddonnee - Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 13:18

Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 13:18
G'day Adrian
I couldn't stretch the budget for the air suspension, particularly as I don't beleive I would ever need it. I'm not really into the heavy duty 4wd stuff, things were a bit different in my youth when I owned a swb FJ Landcruiser though :-)
They wouldn't budge on the discount price, I didn't even get a colour of my choice as they only had one left. In fact when I put my order in there were none available australia wide but finance fell through on the one I ended up with.
So it seems that you may have to hope for a finance failure or similar if you want one during the current sale. There are some petrol models available I understand. Good luck
Rod
FollowupID: 406231

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 14:18

Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 14:18
Hi Woddonnee

I can hear the LR sales rep rubbing his hands together from here (Malvern)!

Damn them - they should look after you very well.

Andrew who doesn't believe in paying list price for cars.
FollowupID: 406244

Follow Up By: woddonnee - Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 14:56

Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 14:56
G'day Andrew
The current sale represented a discount of $10,000 and I'm told that the sale was supposed to last until the end of march but all the diesel disco 3's are gone already and the petrol ones will be also gone in the next week or 2. So not much leverage for further discounts under those conditions. The disappointment for me is not getting my (any) colour choice.
Rod (not far away at Eden Hills)
FollowupID: 406249

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:47

Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 15:47
congrats Rod,

I'll look out for the chunda yello disco3 ;-)

Ciao for now
Andrew who's mean green shootin machine (a green cruiser) is hard to miss.
FollowupID: 406257

Follow Up By: woddonnee - Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 16:06

Thursday, Feb 02, 2006 at 16:06
Actually its Tonga Green, not too bad, hopefully I learn to love it. My patrol is velvet blue, gorgeous colour, everyone loves it, specially me.
Rod
FollowupID: 406258