cruise control or not ?

Submitted: Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 20:06
ThreadID: 30149 Views:2052 Replies:12 FollowUps:3
This Thread has been Archived
Went to Adelaide to help a mate bring home a 'new to him' Pajero 3.2DiD from the Govt auctions. He has a Jeep Cherokee 2.5TD and we went in that and we both drove home after.
He, not used to the car only sat on 90 kms from Adelaide to Burra. It was getting dark not too far out of Burra, and it is our practice to go no faster than 80Kms from dusk because of the skippys. We saw a big one on the roadside watching us at Hallett. You never know where they are going to be.
Anyway, from Burra straight up the Barrier Highway home. He had cruise control on, none in the Jeep, but I just followed him. Filled up both cars before leaving Adelaide and again this morning here in Broken Hill. result, Pajero 42.6 litres, Jeep 50.2 litres. Mileage 504 Kms.
Was it the cruise control that made the difference ? I consider that I am a fairly economical driver, and he was never more than 500 metres in front of me.
This is very economical in my book, but obviously only 80KPH for a lot of the way.
Personally I put it down to the cruise control for the difference in the mileage.
It may take an hour or so longer to get home at 80KPH but we dont waste an hour or more visiting panel beaters or accessory shops looking for new spotlights because skippy has reshaped them. So the time evens itself out, and the pocket is in better shape too.
My mate is wrapped in the Pajero too, especially since he filled it up and saw the consumption.
I have a 12HT Sahara and I know I don't get that economy.

Dave
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 20:16

Thursday, Jan 26, 2006 at 20:16