Diff Lock for Hi-Ace Campervan?

Submitted: Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 15:52
ThreadID: 30247 Views:12098 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
I am a single female who is looking at buying a Hi-Ace Campervan in the not too distant future (around 2002 model). I like to go bush so would prefer AWD

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 16:17

Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 16:17
Sorry to say hiace vans dont come in awd and uless they have the same rear diff as a hilux which I doubt very much they do you wont get a locker for it either (unless you do the old stick welding trick.) Depends on what you mean by going bush, you can go out in the scrub with a commodore if you like. What are your needs and where do you intend to go ??? I think if spending that type of money (presume around the 30k mark) you would be better off with a cheaper fair dinkum 4wd 60s landcruiser earlier patrol say and a camper trailer and then you will have best of both worlds.Or if you dont want something as old as a land cruiser/patrol what about a nissan xtrail with a camper. I can see your point with having a campervan not having to tow etc but not very good if you intend to go off the beaten track to a certain extent and do a bit of sight seeing thats why I asked your needs and where do you intend going if you supply that info you might find someone that can lead you in the right direction as to the appropriate vehicle. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 151820

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 31, 2006 at 09:26

Tuesday, Jan 31, 2006 at 09:26
You can get "grey market" 4WD Hiace vans, I think based on the Hilux IFS running gerar.

There are several companies (mainly in QLD) that do the importing/ADRing. Do a google for something like "Japanese vehicle importers"
FollowupID: 405582

Reply By: Jarse - Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 16:27

Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 16:27
Hi Happy Nomad,

The HiAce is actually available as a 4WD in several countries. However, it was never sold in Australia. Nevertheless, several companies bring in used models as "grey imports". One such place is Ballina Campers . IMHO, they are grossly overpriced and have limited parts support, which would probably make parts VERY expensive...

Sorry, can't answer your question re diff lock.
AnswerID: 151824

Follow Up By: The Happy Nomad - Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 21:39

Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 21:39
Just for the record Ballina Campers were the ones who reckon it's possible to put a diff lock on the Hi-Ace.They even suggested a limited slip diff could be installed.I agree they are overpriced.I'll keep looking.Thanks for the feedback.
FollowupID: 405511

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 23:06

Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 23:06
Happy
What do you consider a non overpriced quote for a fitted difflock to a 2wd?
Which would be 80% useless. once both rear wheels are stuck, which will happen much faster with a difflock, your screwed.

Do you need a van? The other issue as I see it having driven one as a courier in my early days, they are very high center of gravity, which makes them easy to roll. even worse offroad.

What sort of offroading are you talking about doing here? Me thinks its either school holidays still, or you havent really thought this out very well.
FollowupID: 405549

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 17:05

Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 17:05
before you blow your money on something that costs too much for too little be aware that I recently sold a landcruiser 75 with campervan with everything you could possibly ever need all fully servicesd with every aspect of it either reconditioned or replaced for 6 grand - yep thats all I could get. bear inmind that anything you see could well be worth 25% of what they are actually asking
AnswerID: 151839

Reply By: desert - Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 21:38

Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 21:38
G'day Happy. Something in the back recesses of my mind, tells me that the diff is the same as a Hi-lux. If you drive it into a Toyota specialist and get them to look at it for you and verify. Also ask about the axle-splines, they have to be the same as hi-lux too. IF it is, you could have a Lokka or Lock-rite, automatic locking diff centre fitted for under a grand. Worth a check, I believe.
AnswerID: 151930

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 22:51

Monday, Jan 30, 2006 at 22:51
A diff lock is going to cost money...anywhere from $600 up to $3000.

And to what avail? It is of little use fitted to a 2wd vehicle.

You are better off looking at a Toyota Landcruiser Bush Camper (like the Britz Rental ones). They are out there from $20,000 to $40,000. Then you have a rugged go anywhere 4wd and camper all in one
AnswerID: 151970

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 01:01

Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 01:01
Maybe see just needs a good man LOL
FollowupID: 405855

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 01:02

Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 01:02
She She She She She She She

Just another 100 times
FollowupID: 405856

Reply By: The Happy Nomad - Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 10:05

Wednesday, Feb 01, 2006 at 10:05
To all the replies re my query on diff locks.Thanks for the feedback guys.I reckon I'll get a Hi-Ace and stick to the places it will take me to.See ya on the road sometime.
AnswerID: 152233