80 Series ,What to look for?

Submitted: Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 20:26
ThreadID: 30492 Views:2019 Replies:8 FollowUps:9
This Thread has been Archived
G'Day All,
Great forum...first post ...long time reader...
Taking 6 months off and travelling up the centre and around the WA coast then back across to Melb.Got my eyes on a 92 cruiser turbo diesel (250klms),is there any things that are a sure sign not to buy it!(Im a plumber not a mechanic).
Cheers
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: bumpkins - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 20:53

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 20:53
Hi there. They are known for chewing out the idler shaft in the transfer case.
AnswerID: 153445

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 17:34

Tuesday, Feb 07, 2006 at 17:34
Sorry, i have to pipe up...that was the earlier 1980-1990 cruisers, this 92 wont give you any problems there...the motor and the front c/v shafts will
Andrew
FollowupID: 407552

Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 21:14

Monday, Feb 06, 2006 at 21:14
Hi steve:

I have a 1991 (non-turbo) Cruiser and it is terrific. I bought it at 160,000km and have jjust clocked up 290,000km. Still going strong. It gets regualar services (every 5000km).

You may need to just check about big end bearings, as there were a few issues with the turbo'd diesels. Not a big job, and piece of mind.

For mine .. headights on the '91 model are a sealed beam affair and very ordinary, but I stuck some driving lights on so it is not a real issue any more.

Brakes on my little 15" rims are not as good as later models, so I just leave extra room.

Gearbox (manual) is a bit notchy, but I have just (last week) had a new Daikin clutch fitted and quite a lot of that seems to have gone. (The clutch they took out was the original unit).