Rancho suspension

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 21:04
ThreadID: 30577 Views:2818 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
G'day All,
I am considering a Rancho suspension setup for my 100 series 98 ute (wagon conversion).
I am looking for feedback on this brands performance and if anyone has used the in cabin adjustable setup.
Thankyou and safe 4wheeling...without Harold Scruby's involvement....

Reply By: BenSpoon - Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 22:29

Wednesday, Feb 08, 2006 at 22:29
For an unladen car they will be great. If you pile it up with a tonne of extra gear i reckon you'll find them too soft. I have ranchos on my 80 up front and they are great. On the softest setting they suck up rocky tracks smoothly and on road the stiffest setting cuts body roll very noticeably. For the back I got the tough dog adjustibles- apparently the in-cab adjusters are interchangeable between brands but the tough dog ones have more feaures (I heard they detect leaks in the system automatically). The big bore of the tough dog makes it slightly rub now and then, but its hardly noticeable. I havent got the in cab adjuster- might get one later but I just change them now instead of having to lock hubs.
AnswerID: 153964

Follow Up By: Brendan14 - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 19:02

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 19:02
Thanks BenSpoon, appreciate the reply.
FollowupID: 408064

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 01:26

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 01:26
I'm running Rancho 9909's (for the F100) on the surf, got them on the second softest setting, HD King springs and Firestone Air bags in the back. So far they have been very good. Have only down about 15,000k's on them, but a lot of that has been offroad. The back end is MUCH better off road now. I'm quite suprised the difference from the stock shocks, you hit a big bump even with the air bags with 30psi in them and wait for the BANG and all ya gear to smash and hit the roof of the 4by in the back but nothing happens.. Very cool. I can't comment on the durability much, but time will tell.
AnswerID: 153992

Follow Up By: Brendan14 - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 19:03

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 19:03
Thanks for the reply Jeff..
FollowupID: 408065

Reply By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 07:30

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 07:30
've got Rancho 9000's and Rancho sHD Springs and incab adjustment in my 05 GU 4.2L TD.. I love em.. I installed the incab adjustment myself. I had a little problem with one of the shock connectors of the air lines leaking, but when I contacted the seller, they exporess posted a new one without question.. My only comment is that they don'ty adjust as much as I thought they would. You cannotice the difference between hard and soft ride, but it's not that significant.. havingsaid that... I haven't done any serious off rd yet, just a few dirt trcks and short streches of corrugations... if you wanted to use the same system but go superHeavy duty, Tough Dog adjustables are compatible with the incar system.. my suggestion would be go the Rancho adjusables.. and try em out using manual adjust.. then if you are happy withthe range of adjustment available but and install the incab.,.. CHeers
AnswerID: 154002

Follow Up By: Brendan14 - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 19:04

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 19:04
Thanks for your reply Coyote
FollowupID: 408066

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 12:06

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 12:06
Have a search around this site for other replies...

They are crap on fullsized 4wds. Mine blew 4 times many others have suffered the same fate on GU/100s

There are much better options out there if you MUST have the adjustable incab system (that lasted 3 mths in mine before the compressor blew up).. While incab is good, I dont think the quality is really there in the controls, or the other bits.

The adjusters on the shocks themselves are way out in the open and can get smashed really easily.

YMMV
AnswerID: 154045

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 12:22

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 12:22
"The adjusters on the shocks themselves are way out in the open and can get smashed really easily. "

Just mount the shock the otherway around, you can still easily get your hand around to the knob and it's no out in the open.
FollowupID: 407961

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 15:40

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 15:40
depends on the wheelin ya do too..

with the incab kit it wasnt so much of an issue, but then you didnt hvae the knobs, but the snail cam adjusters that sieze up regularly.

Great idea, just pathetic quality.
YMPWV

PS...
"and it's no out in the open. "
you scottish? Or related to the Goggo mobile man? ;)
FollowupID: 408011

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 13:08

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 13:08
I run them in my truck and I am more than happy with them. I don't have the cabin controls but it's on the list :)
AnswerID: 154064

Follow Up By: Brendan14 - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 19:06

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 19:06
Thanks for your reply Troll, bleep er photo!
FollowupID: 408068

Reply By: DamoHJ61 - Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 22:11

Thursday, Feb 09, 2006 at 22:11
Find another brand, watched them tear off my mates shock mounts on his Hilux as he set them fairly hard to gain some performance from them, have draggged a busted arse 80 series when the shock adjuster seized, snapped the shock and ended up busting a rear spring which then punctured his air bag.
Poor quality, good for road type driving but way too fragile for off road.
For the money they charge for Rancho's, I would look at Bilsteins or the like.
AnswerID: 154184