Update on my diodiesel usage.

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 16, 2006 at 21:04
ThreadID: 30853 Views:2878 Replies:6 FollowUps:12
For those of you who want to know, here is the latest on my GQ....

1) engine is definately idling smoother.

2) engine idle increased 300rpm after first 220kms running biodiesel.
3) there is a noticable increase in power, esp down low to mid range. (very happy with it now)

4) Drove it hard heading home..esp up bulli pass, noticed temp guage did not go anywhere near half way (usually hammering up that hill in 5th gear, its between half and just under 3/4. I am very impressed.

5) Definately NO BLACK SMOKE AT ALL under load now.

6) I havent used up my first tank yet but i will do so either tomorrow or saturday.

Its a bit hard to give you all info on fuel economy as i spend last weekend down at Yalwal and surrounding areas. So low range was used quite abit thus more fuel used. BUT including Yalway weekend, Its all looking good so far, will probably clock up 950kms by time i fill it. If this is close to what im expecting, its heaps better than what id get out of a tank or diesel.

Dont take that as gospel just yet ok...i will let you all know as soon as i calculate it within the next 2 days.

But just for the record, its heaps better, a definate improvement all round..and i mean all round so far. Fuel filter is still spotless. But carrying a spare just incase.

It just feels so much more like a complete car now. I am very happy with the improvements, would definately suggest you give it a go. More to come.
Ange

Reply By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Feb 16, 2006 at 21:07

Thursday, Feb 16, 2006 at 21:07
Oh ..forgot to mention that oil pressure guage indicates 4 bars now when running and sits on just between 2 and 3 now where as before it would sit on 3-4 when running and just over 2 on idle.

Will be interesting to see what my next oil change does too, I believe it will stay cleaner longer...ill let you all know about that in about 1000 kms time.
AnswerID: 155440

Reply By: StephenF10 - Thursday, Feb 16, 2006 at 21:14

Thursday, Feb 16, 2006 at 21:14
Ange,

Are you using straight biodiesel or a blend?

Stephen.
AnswerID: 155443

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Feb 16, 2006 at 21:16

Thursday, Feb 16, 2006 at 21:16
Interesting stuff Ange,

Out of curiosity where do you get your bio from and what percent blend is it, or is it full homemade stuff?
Will monitor your outcomes closely.

Thanks Trevor.
AnswerID: 155444

Follow Up By: Vivid Adventures - Thursday, Feb 16, 2006 at 23:17

Thursday, Feb 16, 2006 at 23:17
I think he is getting it from the retail supplier in Marrickville.

There have been a few threads about it ...

The Announcement

Ciao for now
Andrew who's runs Biodiesel from SAFF when he can.

FollowupID: 409430

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 05:10

Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 05:10
Im using B100
filling up at Marrickville service station

FollowupID: 409454

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 07:05

Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 07:05
cokeaddict I don't know if this is a silly question but can you use it in any age diesel
engine. Or type say like a 60 series.

AnswerID: 155495

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 07:41

Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 07:41

As long as you have viton seals and no rubber B100 is OK for older vehicles. In other words treat it just like very low sulphur fuel.

David O
FollowupID: 409462

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 07:55

Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 07:55
SO what about a 1985 model.

FollowupID: 409464

Follow Up By: Member - David 0- Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 08:16

Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 08:16
Not 100% sure but a 1985 model is unlikely to have viton seals from factory.
FollowupID: 409466

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 08:47

Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 08:47
Thanks for the info.
If you have had a pump overhaul in the last 5 years or so, I reckon your seals most probably have been upgraded?
Looking forward to biodiesel coming to Brisy and using it, they are building a plant out the northside, then I can have a go at those environmentalists who have a go at me for driving a BIG 4WD.

Wonder if Woolies will sell it on a 4c discount voucher? Don't think so.
FollowupID: 409470

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 21:01

Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 21:01
You wouldnt have a red 60 s would you .

I briefly talked to a guy in a red 60s who was taking a group up the cape when we were on our way back , it was the year before last though.
FollowupID: 409628

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 18, 2006 at 20:57

Saturday, Feb 18, 2006 at 20:57
Sorry, it is a red 96 pajero.
Few years since we have been the cape too.
FollowupID: 409754

Reply By: Redback - Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 07:44

Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 07:44
Why wasn't i invited to Yalwal???
AnswerID: 155500

Follow Up By: Salad Sandwich - Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 12:03

Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 12:03
It was a nissan day out....no landies invited???
FollowupID: 409521

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 14:08

Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 14:08
Or cruisers
FollowupID: 409553

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 18:25

Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 18:25
Hahahahahaha......baz....it was organised by my bro - in - law with his new 4wd hilux. Didnt relaly know what to expect with him but all worked out well ..picked up his son in Kiama and he had 2 kayaks ready for us to load. Those kayak's came in very handy indeed. We had a ball in the dam.
Also just for those considering heading down there.....just so you can persuade your missus....the toilets down there are flushing ones and each cubical has at least 5 toiler paper rols mounted ready to use. May not sound like much but very clean and a nice change from pit loos.

Baz..will contatc you soon mate in regards to that video from paul if thats ok mate.
FollowupID: 409600

Follow Up By: Redback - Saturday, Feb 18, 2006 at 08:11

Saturday, Feb 18, 2006 at 08:11
Yep no prob mate, we'll have to do the Yarramunmun track again soon too.

FollowupID: 409673

Reply By: Member - Camper (SA) - Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 12:11

Friday, Feb 17, 2006 at 12:11
Not really about biodiesel, but we have converted to 10% ethanol which we get here in Adelaide from United. Higher octain, usually 3c cheaper and it seems to perform creditably plus we get 10% relief from the use of fossil fuels.
Camper
AnswerID: 155542