Solar panel for Jayco Swan

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 28, 2006 at 22:31
ThreadID: 31272 Views:18569 Replies:8 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
Hi,

I am a novice in terms of Solar power and am looking for advice. We have a Jayco swan trailer with a single deep cycle battery in it. I want to get a solar panel to charge battery and have some basic questions I am hoping someone can answer or point me in the right direction to.

1/ what size panel should I get if I just want to keep the battery charged for lights? I have heard 80 watt should do the job - is this ok?

2/ how does the panel connect to the battery in the van? What wiring is needed?

3/ I have read of a regulator- what is this and is it needed?

Am I better buying the bits locally in Brisbane or can someone recommend a good online site to buy and get instructions on install?

thanks for any help

regards

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Steve M - Tuesday, Feb 28, 2006 at 22:39

Tuesday, Feb 28, 2006 at 22:39
have a look at some recent threads , theres heaps of info

Steve
AnswerID: 157691

Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Feb 28, 2006 at 22:52

Tuesday, Feb 28, 2006 at 22:52
Harold,

I've got an Outback Eagle. The lights only draw 1.5 amps (18 watts) each so you don't need to replace a lot. A 50 watt panel will eat it.

I keep my panel under one of the matresses and pull it out as needed. This offers advantages over mounting it on the roof: it can be moved and angled to get the best use of the sun, the van can be in the shade and the panel in the sun, it is portable and can be used to charge other batteries (in my case the aux batt in the car to run the Waeco) and it is cheaper to set up.

I have a female "merit" plug on the battery case and a male "merit" plug on the end of ten metres of 8mm squared wire (thick wire is needed to reduce voltage drop). This way I simply plug the lead into the battery box and move the panel around in the sun.