RTA NSW

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 16:16
ThreadID: 31296 Views:5682 Replies:11 FollowUps:15
Just spent 10min on the phone with the RTA help line and had my question answered. Not bad.
The question that I had asked,
I will be interstate when my rego is due and would like to know my options.
( In NSW when the rego is due a inspection is required. Pink Slip. Then the Green Slip and a heap of money has to all go to the RTA and then a rego sticker is handed over and that is it for another year. )

I wanted to have the date change back 3 months to May, but to do this I would have to cancel the rego get a Blue slip Green slip and register the vehicle again. Not my first option.
The second and only other option is to have the vehicle inspected up to 3 months before it is due Pink Slip,Green Slip and money and the vehicle will stay registered.

As far as I know this yearly inspection only applies to NSW and if any one else is doing a big trio when the rego is due this is a way to keep the vehicle registered

Reply By: richopesto - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 16:32

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 16:32
Heyho again,

I was just checking the same details for the ACT.
Exactly the same rules (3 months prior), but we dont require inspection every year.

Heres somethign I noticed though - my ute Tare is in the 1500 - 2500 KG range. (rego+ctp)
Tare: 1505 - 2000 $913.45 !!!
Tare: 2001 - 2504 $1897.40 !!!

Passenger vehicles (including 4wd)
Tare: 1505 - 2504 $739.85

So how do they justify that? I pay ~$180 more because I can remove my canopy ?!?! I guess its the same in most states, we should protest! (or buy a cruiser)

....back off soapbox again....

Rich
AnswerID: 157865

Follow Up By: Member - Tony G (ACT) - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 17:07

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 17:07
Well here's anotherone for you.

DX Patrol classed as a Van; Rego and 3rd party- $1897.40

Claim back from NRMA; 3rd party insurer- $1157.55

So cost the same as other 4WD but with the stuffing around to claim back the difference.
FollowupID: 412196

Follow Up By: Gu_Patrol - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 17:33

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 17:33
Tony G if your DX Patrol is classed as a van then you could be paying too much for your rego, it should be classed as a wagon in SA it's only $1274 a year for my 4.2 GU with 3rd party Ins
FollowupID: 412204

Follow Up By: Aston - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 17:35

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 17:35
Thanks Wayne,

You've just answered my problem, as we will be away when the rego falls due.

It also shows that those states that don't require an inspection certificate for road worthiness are allowing vehicles to be registered which leaves it open to abuse.(endangering everyone)

Cheers Aston

FollowupID: 412207

Follow Up By: Christopher from Suzuki 4WD Club of Victoria - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 19:57

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 19:57
Ok ... but I just bought a car from NSW that had its inspection a week ago and passed but it failed in Vic this week. So how good is your system?
FollowupID: 412235

Follow Up By: Christopher from Suzuki 4WD Club of Victoria - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 20:00

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 20:00
Oh yeah... same thing happened with another vehicle I bought up there a couple of years back. I reckon a slab would get you a pink slip in NSW. ;-)
FollowupID: 412237

Follow Up By: Member - Tony G (ACT) - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 21:44

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 21:44
GU_ Patrol, in the ACT the DX is classed as a Van, due to the import quota being reached with Wgn's, Nissan then imported the DX as a van. Fitted it with a back seat, but still sold it as a Van.

No end of calls to ACT Rego will change their mind, as they say it is a Third Party Insurer's idea, namelly NRMA.

So around goes the merry go round every year to recover the exta dollars.
FollowupID: 412271

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 23:23

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 23:23
Gee Christo, a slab would get you a pinkslip for 3 years running!
FollowupID: 412311

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 16:34

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 16:34
Strike me Pink! You could of knocked me over there Blue, I'm Green with envy. Is Yellow still the defect colour for the stickers, like here in SA?
AnswerID: 157867

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 16:41

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 16:41
Way too much time on your hands Wolfie..

FollowupID: 412187

Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 17:47

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 17:47
No - but if you park too long in the wrong place, you get a bluey from a Brown Bomber. But that's not a blue slip.

Very colourful, but so's the language when we compareRego costs with other states!
FollowupID: 412214

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 18:09

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 18:09
Hmmmm glad my rego is in Qld troopie classed as a van $668

!MPG:5!

FollowupID: 412218

Reply By: glenno(qld) - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 16:48

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 16:48
Hey in queensland they send you a rego payment due notice . We pay the rego and voila , a rego sticker arrives in the mail . Too easy .
AnswerID: 157871

Reply By: Member - George (WA) - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 16:54

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 16:54
You should all move to WA, or maybe not.
We get our registration due notice 1 month in advance and as long as you pay by the due date the rego sticker is mailed to you. NO pink, Green or Red slips or any other colour for that matter. I am talking about a landcruiser or private cars, not sure about commercial cars but would asume it is the same
Thank god I am in WA

AnswerID: 157872

Follow Up By: Browser - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 16:59

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 16:59
I believe the law in Victoria allows to pay your registration up to three months after the due date and it is still registered under the old registration details. Don't know however whether it is legal to drive between the expiry date and the actual payment???

Browser
FollowupID: 412194

Follow Up By: howie - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 17:34

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 17:34
probably why we have so many 'death traps' on the road here in w.a. and in queensland.
so long as you pay your rego in w.a. you can keep an un-serviced, rotting,brakeless,bald tyre heap on the road. which is good for us(?), so long as one doesn't hit you head on.
i'd vote for a yearly inspection of vital safety items on every car so long as the fee was reasonable.
FollowupID: 412206

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 20:07

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 20:07
George,

For the amount of time I will be spending in other states this year I feel I should share my rego payment around.

The two months that I will spend in WA should get 1/6, SA=1/6, Vic=1/6, Qld and NT=1/26 and the rest to NSW.

FollowupID: 412240

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 17:00

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 17:00
Your respective state rego systems suck.
In the great state of Victoria they send us the rego sticker as part of the renewal notice, Just pay by the due date and stick your sticker on and your off.

No additional snail mail movement involved.
Maybe you guys pay so much due to the additional work involved in licking envelopes.

AnswerID: 157873

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 17:09

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 17:09
And the classic in QLD is trailer registration ,self assesment for your boat/box/camper trailer ,leaves open so many variables that in theory you could register a boat trailer using the wheels from a kids tricycle.
AnswerID: 157874

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 17:47

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 17:47
Or if you had a boat trailer and camper trailer just use the one rego . Place it on the one that you are towing .
FollowupID: 412215

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 17:43

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 17:43
i cant believe the prices in some states.
victoria car 4wd(patrol cruiser ect)$450.
thats for a year and no roadworthy checks.
AnswerID: 157878

Reply By: Member - Jack - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 18:20

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 18:20
Hi Wayne:

You can renew your rego up to 3 months earlier than it is due in NSW.

I am also heading off next Monday, with rego due in May. I got the pink and green slip and renewed it last week. Took those and my current rego paopers to the RTA. No dramas, no questions asked. Too easy.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 157886

Reply By: Dave198 - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 18:50

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 18:50
Cost for 86 HJ61 in Far West NSW
Rego $352
CTP $224
Inspection $28.50
Not too bad I guess, but for me a bit expensive.
Last 4 years averaged under 2000 Km per year.
I think the inspections are a good idea, but obviously some don't do anything to their vehicle until close to the inspection date.
They do check for rust too, so that is probably a lot safer for the owners of the vehicles so that they don't drive around with the guards holding together with the clips on the chrome strips.
AnswerID: 157889

Reply By: jackablue - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 20:07

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 20:07
I just found out about this also. Some friends always complain about having reg due in January. Just after christmas (no $$) and most mechanics on holidays. They are now happy to pay 3 months early every year.
AnswerID: 157907

Reply By: Assegai - Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 21:45

Wednesday, Mar 01, 2006 at 21:45
In SA they contemplated having vehicles checked every year or whatever, but evidently the research suggests that there is no evidence that old heaps are not statistically more likely to be in accidents that new shiny ones. And this in the state with the oldest car fleet...it is so dry they just don't rust much.
However, guess who bring this old chestnut old out every year or so...the Motor Trades Association I think it is...or whoever your favourite mechanic belong to. Yeah guys...like we don't know where you're coming from!

Brad
AnswerID: 157941

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 08:51

Thursday, Mar 02, 2006 at 08:51
I had a mate in Canberra that used to drive a very distinctive Blue Morris 1800 rustheap. Heater was controlled by an alligator clip on a loose bit of electric string. Just clip to someting metal on tha dash and the fan started. No mirrors (internal or external), little brakes, rust everywhere and one dead headlight. Pile of bits in the passanger footwell that had just dropped off.

At inspection time, which back then was only over the govenrment pits, his wife used to load up the three toddlers and line up (usually for a couple of hours). Just as she came up to the inspection point she smacks the kids and started up her own waterworks. "Please inspector, can we get this over quickly, sob, sob ..."

Worked every year! One year our boss went over the pits 3 cars behind her in his brand new crummydore and was defected!
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 412357