OPINIONS ON TYRES FOR FRASER

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 09, 2006 at 17:29
ThreadID: 31581 Views:1994 Replies:8 FollowUps:1
We are off to Fraser in a few weeks and I am in two minds at which set of wheels I will use on my 120 Prado. I have the standard Grand Tragic AT2's on alloys for normal driving and I think should be fine on Fraser. They were great on Stockton both times with this truck but I also have a set of steel rims with 265/75x16 MTR's on them for off road. My guess is the MTR's will probably dig in a bit and possibly do it harder than the Grand Tragic's.
What are peoples opinions on which set to put on?
120scruiser

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 09, 2006 at 17:40

Thursday, Mar 09, 2006 at 17:40
I reckon that the old adage of muddies being inferior on sand is a bit of a furphy. I used to run BFG muddies there and at Stockton without a problem. Just be sensible on your power delivery and cornering and all will be fine.

Consequently - I'd probably take your AT's up as it's less wear and tear on the more expensive MTR's.

Both will do a good job if you air down to appropriate pressure - I used to run at 14 pounds most places on sand.
AnswerID: 159537

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 09, 2006 at 17:42

Thursday, Mar 09, 2006 at 17:42
Hi there 120, I have the standard road tyres on steel rims which I use for on stockton beach and the bfg a/t for general driving tar, dirt roads, mud etc. I have tried both on stockton beach, skinny road tyres heaps better on the sand, with the bfg a/t I found the vehicle working harder and with a 2.8 diesel you need to make it as easy as possible as the 2.8 has so much grunt NOT, buts thats just my thoughts, maybe for some one that has a fair bit of power tyres might not be an issue. Have a great time any way when you go and a safe trip. PS Just remember how quick those tides change up there. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 159538

Reply By: old mate - Thursday, Mar 09, 2006 at 17:52

Thursday, Mar 09, 2006 at 17:52
Just use your normal tyres. I had no dramas on Fraser with the Dueller H/T's fitted as standard to my Pathy.
AnswerID: 159541

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 09, 2006 at 17:55

Thursday, Mar 09, 2006 at 17:55

If you take the muddies and get stuck on the sand you can blame the tyres, but if you have the AT's and get stuck than it is your fault.

I would take the AT's that way they will wear down some more and then you can get some decent AT's.

PS I will drop in tomorrow, need to pick your brain.

AnswerID: 159542

Follow Up By: 120scruiser - Thursday, Mar 09, 2006 at 18:03

Thursday, Mar 09, 2006 at 18:03
Good point Wayne.
By the time I do the bitumen run up and back they should just about be buggered and then I can get some good tyres. Thats the positive way of looking at it.
See you tomorrow.
FollowupID: 414168

Reply By: hopscotch - Thursday, Mar 09, 2006 at 18:29

Thursday, Mar 09, 2006 at 18:29
From personal experience:

Are the ones you have black?

Are the ones you have round?

Are the ones you have able to hold a little air?

If you answered yes to all three then you are ready to go.

There is a whole lot of carryon about tyres and Fraser Island. Check out what the locals are using and you will see that it doesn't matter a damn what brand or tread pattern. It all comes down to how you drive. Actually you can get bogged with all of them.

Kevin J

AnswerID: 159551

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Mar 09, 2006 at 19:51

Thursday, Mar 09, 2006 at 19:51
Kevin said it best!!!!!!!!!

ROTFLMFAO!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 159563

Reply By: Richard - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 06:22

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 06:22
I'd take the AT's
AnswerID: 159640

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 09:18