Who needs CV Boots!! ;-)

Submitted: Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 12:43
ThreadID: 31618 Views:2874 Replies:10 FollowUps:2
Well the old CV boot problem, I'm sure many of you are well versed in it. Friday afternoon, my mate and I were standing out the front of my place discussing what we were going to take with us on the boys trip the next day up to Wedge Island. It was then I noticed that the surf had appeard to have done some kind of poo! I get down on my hands and knees and there is a massive glob of black grease under the car. Oh, oh... I look up and sure enough there is grease ALL over the passenger side wheel arch and suspension. Upon closer inspection the inner boot had split so badly that it was torn almost half way around and you could see the tri bearings!! BUGGER! What to do, I don't have time to change it and we are going to do a few hundred k's with a large portion of beach and dune driving. AND I can't unlock the hubs on the surf, they are always locked so even highway driving will be spinning the buggery out of the joint.

So, we jack the car up, take the wheel off, clean the grease off with some brake and parts cleaner and metho, put a few good handfuls of penrite chasis grease in there (it's all I had, and very messy exercise I might add). Then comes out the good old roady tape (gaffa tape). We tape the buggery out of it and cross our fingers....

Well after about 400k's of highway, city and beach/dune driving we get to changing the boot. To my absolute amazingment the tribearing was completley sand free! I mean of course there was friggin sand EVERYWHERE outside the boot, all over the suspension, wheel arch bash plates etc etc, but not one grain in the the CV.

So there's a lesson for ya! If you do a CV boot out bush, or at a really inconveniant time, GAFFA TAPE, it works bloody treat.

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 12:47

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 12:47
Gaffa tape is your friend. Don't leave home without it :)))))))
AnswerID: 159696

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 13:12

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 13:12
Bluddy good stuff that Gaffa. Sunday I used it to tape the canopy rear widow when the frame rivets popped out in the rough allowing the window fall out one side, the gaffa got me home ok for a permanent repair.
AnswerID: 159701

Reply By: 120scruiser - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 15:08

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 15:08
Gaffa tape goes with those other must have products like
Needit and
Silastic
AnswerID: 159721

Reply By: cokeaddict - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 16:01

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 16:01
Not to mention the fantastic job it does when u use it for what it was originally desinged for......

gaffa taping the wife's mouth shut !!!

Well..thats what i was told it was invented for.
AnswerID: 159734

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 16:20

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 16:20
Yep!
Gaffa Tape & 100mph Tape, that silvery stuff, never leave home without em. A big roll of each under the passengers seat and you'll fix a million problems. I reckon that between the two of them they've almost made the length of fencing wire redundanty.

AnswerID: 159739

Reply By: BenSpoon - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 16:30

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 16:30
I broke a front shock bush in the pilbara and used gaffa tape to make up a new bush which did me the rest of the week till I could get new ones. Patched a canvas tent with it after it got mildly shredded by a severe storm, used it to seal leaking windows/doors in rain storms, I dunno how it would go with radiator hose, but I reckon if you layed it on thick enough it would hold.

AnswerID: 159742

Reply By: Lorne - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 18:08

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 18:08
hey if you want some more ideas and a good laugh check out these guys
AnswerID: 159754

Follow Up By: Lorne - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 18:10

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 18:10
sorry link didn't work

http://www.octanecreative.com/ducttape/new_intro/index.html
FollowupID: 414400

Reply By: A.J - Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 20:15

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 20:15
It ain't called the FORCE TAPE for nuthin, it has a light side and a dark side and holds the universe together!
AnswerID: 159789

Reply By: Member - Royce- Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 23:48

Friday, Mar 10, 2006 at 23:48
We've had five Subarus over the years... know all about split boots and the many ways of getting by for a while with tape, rubber, zip ties etc. Fun
AnswerID: 159833

Reply By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Mar 11, 2006 at 00:05

Saturday, Mar 11, 2006 at 00:05
Doesn't surprise me one bit Jeff, the perfect bush fix! Nice work.

Here's a tip. Don't buy the el cheapo gaffer tape from Bunnings, get the real McCoy which is called 'Nashua 357'. This stuff is 100 times better than the look-alike copies.

The film and music industries could not function without it. No joke.
AnswerID: 159838

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Mar 11, 2006 at 10:36

Saturday, Mar 11, 2006 at 10:36
Yeah I'm not sure which brand I had but I got it through altronics as a "roadie tape" and it was black thick material type stuff, bloody hard to cut too. I've got some holding some surround speaker wires to the tiles accorss the side door at home and it's never budged in over 12 months of being walked on! Don't the V8 supercar teams call it "racing tape"? LOL.
FollowupID: 414534