Coleman Hot Water Service-Pressure

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 19:52
ThreadID: 31735 Views:2582 Replies:11 FollowUps:30
We went bush over the extra long weekend and the flow out of the shower head was down a bit-it wasn't enough to project a "shower rose" effect. The water congregated out of the head into a big dribble.

In depth investigation revealed about half a dozen dead ants strewn along the hose near the clip that attaches it to the unit. I whipped out a knife, cut that bit of the hose off and reconnected. Got to add I had enough hose to do this as I flung the original hose and added a longer bit of thinner walled, but same internal diameter, hose that is far more flexible.

Hey presto, back to normal pressure.

Bloody ants.

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 20:05

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 20:05
Well done for finding that Jimbo!!
AnswerID: 160496

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 21:55

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 21:55
Dead Ant, dead ant. Dead ant dead ant dead ant..... *groan* :))
AnswerID: 160531

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 06:59

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 06:59
Mr Loose ,
Are you upping the ante ? *groan* :))
FollowupID: 415370

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 12:29

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 12:29
Mr Loose ,
What sort of an antser was that ? *groan* :))
FollowupID: 415440

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 12:59

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 12:59
Mr Loose ,
Are you being antysocial today ? *groan* :))
FollowupID: 415445

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 13:38

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 13:38
Found some black ants in the sink yesterday, checked out their trail and applied ant rid. Farewell ant ee Jack. You're not coming back...*double groan*
FollowupID: 415450

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 13:57

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 13:57
You should have poured antacid on them . *triple groan*
FollowupID: 415454

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 14:11

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 14:11
You sound anti ants. But the theme is showers. Never had one in the bush. A quick wash of the appropriate bits keeps the water consumption down. Maybe too much desert travelling and not enough camping. My wife always complained that she couln't get used to the bulldust in her hair. These days it appears to be so much easier. But what I need is a machine that makes water. Once I have it I can heat it and have a shower without worrying about my survival.
The only ants I have to worry about, apart from waking up with a bull ant on my nose in WA, was waking up in Weipa to find that my washing line was an ant highway between two trees. Talk about ants in your pants ! Luckily they stayed outside and I stayed inside. I also learned not to camp under mango trees. Blasted fruit bats !
FollowupID: 415456

Reply By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 21:57

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 21:57
Jimbo,
Excellent detective work, sort of like CSI. LOL.
On a serious note do you reckon that they are worth the outlay as i am thinking of getting one.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 160532

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 08:02

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 08:02
I wouldn't be without it.

And Her Indoors loves it. Now she can wash her hair when we're away and even plug her curly wand thingy into the inverter.
FollowupID: 415387

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 08:14

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 08:14
Ditto - we love ours! Use it for cooking (getting a large pot of water to near temp in seconds rather than half an hour on the stove), washing up the dishes and half a dozen adults for showers afterwards. Works every time and uses very little gas and power. I charge it in the vehicle. I also have a Glind in the vehicle but don't use it any more as it's just too painful to have the engine up to temperature when you want it. The Colman is just as convenient as your hot water at home.

When we are camped for a few days we use a double-room Sportiva shower tent like so:

FollowupID: 415391

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 12:49

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 12:49
G'day Bros1,

Just be carefull with the temperature these guys are talking sub zero Vic temps. A mate had a Primus and it was way too hot for Qld. I know not a Coleman and don't want to start a debate on that but we could do nothing to get it to warm - even added another pump to put more volume through.

BTW still heading to Cape Melville this year?

FollowupID: 415443

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 13:01

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 13:01
You are correct for mentioning the potential problem Beatit.

These heaters add heat to a fixed maximum above the ambient temperature of the water.

The Coleman is OK in hot weather (I've used mine in Lightning Ridge when the air temp was over 45 degrees, and the ambient water temp out of the source (jerry) was aleady around 30 degrees. The first setting on the dial is literally where the pump is running and the heater is not.... and it's pretty linear from there.

In most cases it's best to try and keep your water as cool as possible so that you have a greater heat range to play with.

FollowupID: 415447

Reply By: Gu_Patrol - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:02

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:02
I've got one, they are great, just don't leave them outside overnite . they don't want to ignite once they are full of dew
AnswerID: 160535

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:06

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:06
Put the cover over it, I've never had a problem.
We are very happy with ours, had the Primus shower unit before, & found it way too fiddly to use.
FollowupID: 415330

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:22

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:22
Thanks guys. Sounds easier than starting a fire, heating water, transferring blended mix to bucket, plug in shower to car etc, etc.
Bros.

FollowupID: 415338

Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 12:04

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 12:04
Guys

Are these LPG or cannister gas and what is the consumption like.

They look the goods but how much gas on a daily/weekly basis??

John G
FollowupID: 415437

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 12:43

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 12:43

We have the 9-kilo bottle adapter and use that usually. The 1/2 kilo canisters will still heat about 140-180 litres of water - which (for us at 10L per quick shower) is over a week's worth.
FollowupID: 415441

Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 13:27

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 13:27
Oomaroo

Thanks for that.
Exactly the info I'm after as the canisters are a great storage option with the rest of my rig using dual fuel etc.
FollowupID: 415448

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 13:32

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 13:32
Pleasure John

Also... if you buy the official Coleman bag for the unit, it has two pockets that hold four canisters between them. Add to that the one currently installed in the unit and you have more than a month's worth of gas in hand.
FollowupID: 415449

Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 13:45

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 13:45
Oomaroo

Puuurrrfect!!!!!

Will save lots of time with pots and kettles - you know the drill.
I was contemplating Glynd before reading posts above. Just had a new Al canopy built and have a spot just for this- decision making made easy.

Have fun in the bush.
FollowupID: 415451

Follow Up By: flappa - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 14:17

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 14:17
John , I depends on your requirements though.

The Coleman is a very handy unit , especially for "on demand" type hot water situations , and being portable , is handy for say , a couple , to have a shower.

However , they are NOT a patch on the Glind (in car units), when it comes to the actual shower side of things. The In car Pumps are superior , and , IMO , produce a better shower then the Coleman could hope to produce especially for a family.

having said that though . . . . I'm not far off buying a Coleman especially for that on demand need in my CT.
FollowupID: 415457

Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 14:42

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 14:42
Flappa

Thanks for that but usually by myself or with a friend where showering together sounds like a plus.

Kids are 30 now so they pose no problem - well that's not exactly true cos haven't quite worked out how to keep them out of my shed and my toys. Must admit I was the same and probably most here would agree.

Back to the shower - I'm accustomed to washing in a couple of litres of warmish water in a bucket starting from the top and working down, anything would be a luxury after all these years.

Water is always at a premium in the bush as we know, so long full flowing showers are a no-no as am often away for weeks at a time in the desert.

Ciao for now
FollowupID: 415462

Follow Up By: flappa - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 15:03

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 15:03
In which case John , the Coleman sounds like the Unit for you.

Yes , they are very handy.

There are 6 in our Crew , including Missus , and 17yo daughter , so decent shower is a requirement . . .

We recycle water as much as we can , but its really handy , when camped beside a waterway , eg Xmas at the Murray . . .
FollowupID: 415468

Follow Up By: Member - John L G - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 16:17

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 16:17
Crikey!!!

With a 17 year old daughter no wonder there is a water crisis in the Murray.....

FollowupID: 415477

Follow Up By: flappa - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 16:38

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 16:38
We were waterskiing . . . I think I drank as much water as they used for showers . . .
FollowupID: 415482

Reply By: Member - Alan (WA) - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:40

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:40
What about the Coleman compared to the Glind style setup. What are the main benefits of the Coleman?

AnswerID: 160554

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:46

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:46
Quick, portable, efficient & SILENT!
FollowupID: 415344

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 23:01

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 23:01
Hiya guys,

Judy and I have just bought one of these coleman units and took it on the long weekend for it's maiden trip. Paid $301 at a recent Ray's 22% off sale.

Found it to be fantastic sitting on the table at camp for instant hot water for washing up and washing hands. It says you can do tea and coffee from it but we found it does not get near hot enough for that. What it does do well though is provide some hot water that then takes no time on the stove to bring up to boiling for coffee. Much better than putting on a kettle from stone cold.

When we got the unit it came with a free accessory pack that included the shower head and a canvas bag for it ($89 bucks worth). Unfortunately they were out of stock on those so we haven't had a chance to put the shower head to the test.

We have a high shower tent and found that running 5 or 6 litres of water thru the coleman into a canvas shower bucket and hoisting that up in the shower tent was an easy way to do it. That way there is no risk of getting the coleman unit wet in the shower and it is less fiddly trying to control the unit when you are wet. This negates any problems with flow rates as you can use the rose on the canvas bucket at any speed you like. To heat 6 litres to a nice shower temperature took about 90 seconds of just holding the bucket under the outlet with the unit on the camp table at a comfortable working height. The control dial is really easy to use.

I must say I was a bit hesitant at buying the unit at the price, but getting almost $100 off during a Ray's sale did help. Having used it I would not be without it when camped at a single site for more than a day. It is pretty self contained with it's internal rechargeable battery and the internal propane tank. The only input is the water. So it is not to hard to set up or use.

If you have the money and the storage space for it I would recommend it.

Muddy
AnswerID: 160560

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 10:04

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 10:04
If you push the control knob in & turn it a little further the water is certainly hot enough for black coffee!
FollowupID: 415425

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 20:12

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 20:12
Not for my liking Shaker.

It comes out at about 70 C and by the time it hits the cup it's lukewarm to my taste. Personal taste only.

FollowupID: 415527

Follow Up By: Member - Des - Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 12:52

Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 12:52
I agree with Jimbo - it's not hot enough for tea or coffee, unless the water that you start with is already quite warm.
FollowupID: 416211

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 07:44

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 07:44
The damn ants have gone crazy around here the last few years. There are just so many and very difficult to keep under control. Maybe need a decent flood to wipe the buggers out.

Anyway Jimbo you show very good skills of a modern bushman :)
AnswerID: 160587

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 13:58

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 13:58
You need an antidote to kill them .
FollowupID: 415455

Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 12:51

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 12:51
OK Jimbo thats great work they are little bugger aren't we had a similar problem but the mongrels were in the pump under our trailer.

We have one of these;

But because we have this space in the front of our camper, otherwise we would have the Coleman, i think the Colman is a bloody good piece of gear.

AnswerID: 160630

Reply By: Bros 1 - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 15:03

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 15:03
Thanks Jimbo and all you blokes who replied about the Coleman query.
Beatit, Yes am going to Bathurst Bay again this year. Mid August to try out the fishing on a black (no racial slur intended) moon which reaches its max on the 24th.
Plenty of rain up that way recently so things might be good fish and water wise.
Bros.

AnswerID: 160645

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 15:25

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 15:25
We hope to be there mid September myself so leave a few fish for us. Hopefully for a 10 day relaxing by the beach type of trip. Have a great trip.

BTW when do you expect to return? Looking for a road report but finishing up at work 4 Sept.

FollowupID: 415471

Reply By: Bros 1 - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 17:11

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 17:11
Beatit,
Will be home on or around start of September. In case i don't remember send me a message around that time. I won't have much time at home as the handbrake,the dog and myself are going to one of the islands near here for a week or so when i get back from Bathurst Bay. The boundaries have changed at Bathurst Bay. NP all the way around to first creek.
Bros.

AnswerID: 160678

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 17:26

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 17:26
A simple solution for ants,
A bit of panty hose around the pick up will filter the water & keep ants out.

We use this simple solution on our portable shower.
Best part is getting the p/hose off the misses.
Ants in the pants.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 160679

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 19:29

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 19:29
The pick up has a fairly fine filter in it.
FollowupID: 415515

Follow Up By: Member - Des - Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 13:07

Sunday, Mar 19, 2006 at 13:07
Smart idea Dodger. The Coleman instruction sheet says not to use river or lake water in the unit - presumably because fine particles might block the heater, despite the fairly fine mesh filter on the intake pump. On our recent trip I tried to let the sediment in the river water settle in a bucket, then pour into the water container, but found the process fiddly and only partly successful. The panty hose filter is probably a better solution.
FollowupID: 416214