Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 20:43
ThreadID: 31739 Views:2233 Replies:11 FollowUps:11
and dont tell me to look in the system cause all it does is bring up TYRES
NOW is anybody using goodyear tyres if so
1 what sort of ks are you getting
2 what sort of rid
3what sort and how do they handle off road /on road looking at the 50/50 types

I currently run hankook and am looking at about 80000ksfrom them but cannot find any info on them but was having a look at the goodyear site

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 20:54

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 20:54
maybe if you type in goodyear then the search will be better defined....lol
AnswerID: 160511

Follow Up By: Old Scalyback & denny - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 21:42

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 21:42
thanks willem and gramps
i thought if i typed in goodyear tyres it narrow the search but it took me direct to TYRES no goodyear but i have now done asearch and had a bit of a look
thanks

FollowupID: 415318

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 21:43

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 21:43
Yep that'll do it !!! he could have a look in the system ...

!MPG:4!

FollowupID: 415319

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:14

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:14
Willem
On the level mate, and only rotated them for the first 30k,you can call Tuff Tyres in Mt Isa and he will verify that, that also was over stoney roads ,but not too much, most of my running would be about sealed/dirt 85/15,
I don't think the Toyo's will be that good though.If i can get around the 80/100 will be happy

FollowupID: 415335

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 20:55

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 20:55
Steve,

Have run 3 sets of goodyear wranglers on GQ's and GU's. I love the MTR's, reckon they are probably one of the best on the road. I basically did round 50/50 on/offroad and managed to get around 65,000 out of a set. I didn't finish the set on the GU but did around 25,000 on em, and they had plenty left. Browny (member of this site) who bought my truck could bring you up to speed.

It's only the cost that turns some people off.

Chris.
AnswerID: 160512

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 21:02

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 21:02
I've got MTRs on my trol and they are due their 40000 balance and rotation this weekend. Look good for another 20000 I reckon. Mainly onroad use as a daily driver/work vehicle. Ride is great, getting a little noisier now with wear but not unbearable. I find I have to deflate to 12-14psi on sand which I attribute to the stiff sidewall, they don't appaer to bag out like other tyres. I'd buy them again if i can get a good deal at the time.
AnswerID: 160514

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:32

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:32
"I find I have to deflate to 12-14psi on sand which I attribute to the stiff sidewall, they don't appaer to bag out like other tyres"

How would "bagging out" help on sand? I am led to believe (know) its the length of the tyre footprint not the width that is important on sand (also what is "sand") ...so dont think your lack of bagging is the issue ..must be something else.

FollowupID: 415339

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:55

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:55
I realise the length of the footprint changes and is as important as width. I've just found that letting down to anything more than 12-14 on soft sand and they/ I struggle. Take them down a few more psi, even down to 10 and no problem. I've observed that mates with 20 psi in their tyres look like they are "bagged out" while mine don't. I can't put my finger on why but previous tyres were fine at higher pressures, these seem to be so much better with a lot less air.
FollowupID: 415349

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 23:14

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 23:14
No worries - it is difficult to observe the change in length of footprint (and a small change is significant for sand driving) so maybe a lack of bagging also means a lack of lengthing for some tyres and hence your requirement for (more than "usual") reduced pressures.

FollowupID: 415353

Reply By: Brian B (Mackay Qld) - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 21:28

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 21:28
Cant tell you, but i am getting a set of goodyear wrangler ATR fitted tomorrow to my landcruiser ute.

Good looking tyre and i got a good deal.
AnswerID: 160520

Reply By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 21:53

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 21:53
Old Scalyback & denny

Does it have to be Goodyears, I had a set of Michelin LTX and at the time got them for $250 and got 152000ks but to buy a set now at $355 each I don't think is worth it to get that extra Ks so i am going to try a set of Toyo's also at $250 each, so what i'm driving at is have you give Toyo a thought,

Doug

AnswerID: 160530

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 21:58

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 21:58
152,000k's

Hmmmm

Still there was a bloke on here once who got 160,000k's out of some Olympics.

I asked if he had them running in the garage on blocks. He was not amused.

Might ask you the same question too...lol
FollowupID: 415324

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 15:40

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 15:40
if you are talking about the Toyo Opats then you would do well to think again I had to pull mine off with at least 60% tread left due to Tyre Dramas everytime I left the bitumen
FollowupID: 415472

Reply By: Dave ....Adelaide - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:03

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:03
Old Scalyback & Denny

If your running Hankooks now and got about 80000 ks out of them , why would you want to change?? Im running Hankooks on my GU and so far after 20000ks havent had a prob and still look new, also ran them on my old GQ and i also got 80000ks out of them without any probs whatsoever,some of the trips i did included th GRR and the Balladonia to Isralite Bay roads, they were still on the car when i sold it to my son , he ran them for another 6mths b4 changing them. Hope this helps .....Cheers ....DAVE
AnswerID: 160536

Follow Up By: Old Scalyback & denny - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 19:42

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 19:42
dave
this is my 3rd set of hankook but these are not aggressive enough (they are at's but only 30 offroad 70 onroad )and hankook site doesnt show much about 4b tyres so i am having a look around

FollowupID: 415518

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:12

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:12
MTR's..
GREAT offroad, Fantastic onroad. They will get you further than any AT out there, but probably will be noiser than AT's if thats an issue. they arent loud by any means..

They do require balancing regularly when they get to 75% or less.

Would I buy again - I'd swap my BFG MT's tomorrow for a set (only got the BFG's at the right price cause MTR's werent available :(
AnswerID: 160539

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:16

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:16
G'day Steve,
I'd have to ask.....which style of tyre are you using and are you going to stick with that "style".........like, are they highway profile, all-terrain or a more aggressive muddy type? I can only assume they are either HT or AT as it is extremely unusual for anybody to get lots of miles out of MTs.
I'm a bit like Patrolman Pat, have MT/Rs with about 25000klm and they are holding up well under the constant ask to carry a minimum load of 3T.

I certainly don't reckon I'll get 60,000klm out of them, but I'm reasonably confident of getting 50,000. Having said that, I am probably going to buy 4 new ones soon (for the Patrol) and relegate to half worn ones to the camper and another off-road box trailer I recently bought. So it'll be difficult for me to really say how many klicks I really do get out of them.

AnswerID: 160543

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:58

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:58
I reckon my car does a much higher onroad percentage than yours Roachie. Plus mine's a featheweight in comparison. I reckon I've got another 20K in them but they'll be well down by then. I'll start looking around in another 10k for a good deal and hopefully get a tax write off in this financial year.
FollowupID: 415350

Follow Up By: Old Scalyback & denny - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 19:49

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 19:49
goodday roachie
currently running at's 70/30 but i find them not aggressive enough when i hit a little bit of mud soo i am shopping around to see what else4 is available because of the road ks i do i dont reall y want to go to muddies .
i had some once early in my 4b life they came on my old mq i didnt know much about muddies but learnt in a hurry trying to stop quickly on a wet tar road
had to go and change my jocks

ps looking for something about 60/40 or 50/50 in an at
FollowupID: 415519

Reply By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:19

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:19
Old Scalyback & denny
Forgot to mention , i had 2 sets of Mickey Thompsons ,I thought MADE IN USA would have the ants pants but won't be trying them again, lucky to get 70000

AnswerID: 160546

Reply By: Member - Doug T (QLD) - Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:50

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2006 at 22:50
How did ya go looking up Goodyears, well in the system on post id 3279 is members replys about goodyears. IN THE SYSTEM ....lol

Doug

AnswerID: 160557

Reply By: Scoey - Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 13:00

Wednesday, Mar 15, 2006 at 13:00
I run MT/R's and love them. Thicker sidewall means they'ra a tad rougher in terms of ride and can sometimes feel a bit "skitish" on the black stuff. Generally speaking just as happy with them as my old AT's. Off road, they're brilliant. Air them down and they'll go everywhere! I've only had them for about 10,000k but they don't really look like they've worn much. Plus they look great! ;-)
Scoey
AnswerID: 160632