Installing a second fuse box

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 13:45
ThreadID: 31799 Views:4723 Replies:3 FollowUps:5
This Thread has been Archived
Coming to grips with 12 volt technology (?) is an absolute nightmare when you’re a complete novice like me, seems there’s definitely more than one way to skin a cat and a thick hide is needed if you’re going to offer/accept advice, so I hope this question doesn’t turn into a bun fight that only adds further to my confusion.

I want to get some power to the rear of my vehicle so I can run all the usual stuff (fridge, light, inverter etc) and it seems that an extra fuse box is generally regarded as a worthwhile investment by some (but not others), especially if you want to expand later.

What’s involved in installing one? I understand that the closer to the battery it is the better, but I assume that along with power, it would also need to be earthed?

Once installed is it just a case of running a suitable cable to the power outlet and then earthing the outlet? If so, what’s the best place to earth if you have installed the extra fuse box?

While on the subject of cable, how does one determine what is a suitable size cable for each outlet (not to mention extra fuse box), again this area seems to be harder than walking through a mine field with your eyes shut?

I already have a dual battery system installed, but it seems such a shame not to be using it.

Those who feel inclined to answer should apply the KIS principle (keep it simple) so I can understand. And searching the archives has only added to my confusion.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 14:48

Thursday, Mar 16, 2006 at 14:48
The wire to the back needs to be thick enough so that voltage drop is acceptable under maximum load - for typical uses - fridg, light etc an 8Gauge cable is adequate - 6mm diameter of insulation.