Hilux Clutch and shockies

Submitted: Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 14:59
ThreadID: 31937 Views:1447 Replies:6 FollowUps:2
Ive got a 1990 model petrol hilux and lately ive been having some dramas with the clutch. It doesnt do it all the time but every now and again the clutch engages as soon as the clutch pedal leaves the floor (within millimetres) when it does this i can take my foot off the pedal, pump it a few times and the clutch is back to normal. Its a hydraulic clutch and ive bled it and changed the fluid with no result. Any ideas on what the problem might be? ive been thinking maybe something is up with the master cylinder but im not sure.

also while im here, any suggestions on a decent, good value brand of shock absorber for it. Its a solid axle front, springs have been raised about 2 inches and i the 4wding i do is mainly sand and a bit of bush. nothing too extreme (not yet anyway )

Reply By: SteveL - Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 17:19

Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 17:19
Sounds like a crook master cylinder. If there is no external fluid leakage then one of the seals in the master cylinder is not sealing properly.
AnswerID: 161703

Reply By: howesy - Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 18:20

Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 18:20
replace the slave cylinder first its easier, cheaper and often more common the problem.
AnswerID: 161722

Follow Up By: 000dylan000 - Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 22:18

Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 22:18
Yeah thats what i decided to do...i pulled the slave cylinder out this arvo and the spring inside was snapped in half...so i got a rebuild kit for it and rebuilt it, put it back in and its still doin it so i spose im going to have to check out the master cylinder now.

Thanks howesy and everyone else for the replies! very much appreciated!
FollowupID: 416455

Reply By: Barnray - Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 19:34

Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 19:34
You will find that the primary seal is about to let go in the master cylinder. The slave cylinder normally has only one seal for the fluid to pass before a leak is evident. Barnray
AnswerID: 161737

Reply By: gohard60 - Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 20:41

Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 20:41
Yeah mate as for the shocks I've been through this whole sarga. I ended up choosing powerdown powergas(they now have a range called raw 4x4) shocks for my 60 series and have been up to the cape and back and going back up in july to do some more. No problems with them no fading,leaks etc 2 year 150,000km warranty and they're made in newcastle.
AnswerID: 161757

Reply By: Sarg - Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 21:48

Monday, Mar 20, 2006 at 21:48
Put new ones on the front mine last weekend. Got them from Don Kyatts for(list price $132) $82 - co. discount. They call them Terain Tamers.
Compared the new with the old TJM Series 2000 & buggerme: both made by Cofab, both the same part No.(G12638). Hate to think what you would pay at TJM. I'll ring them just out of interest.
Anyway a good shocker for for the price. The last ones lasted 4 years & they do get worked.
AnswerID: 161783

Reply By: howesy - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 08:36

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 08:36
They dont always take a kit sucessfully so if it still does it after a new master then get a brand new slave. from memory the aftermarket slaves are cheap.
AnswerID: 161844

Follow Up By: 000dylan000 - Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 10:43

Tuesday, Mar 21, 2006 at 10:43
Ah ok will do.
Thanks mate
FollowupID: 416527