Fuel economy

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 22, 2006 at 22:53
ThreadID: 32059 Views:2685 Replies:4 FollowUps:4
This Thread has been Archived
When I puchased the 2.8 TD GU a little over 12 months ago within the first 4 weeks I had fitted 3" lift, bar, winch, battery, alloys and 265/75 cooper st's.

Over the ensuing months I was frequently reading on here how others were getting 8 km/lt or 12.5lt/100 from their 2.8 TD GU and was rather dissapointed when the best I could get was 6.7km/lt or 14.9lt/100.and that was after I'd had the injectors done and a tune. Every so often somebody else would pop up getting no better than me, so at least I wasn't alone, but it didn't solve my problem.

I know how you drive a vehicle can make a big difference, so keep in mind I drive for a living and have done both local and interstate in everything up to road trains, so have a fair idea on how to get the best economy out of a diesel.

We recently purchased a 4.2ltr GU and therefore transfered all the gear over to it.
Now my father has a 4.2 dsl GQ with safari turbo, and running 31 10R15 tyres and most times returns about 8.5km/lt or 11.76lt/100 average economy.
I also owned a GQ shorty with a 4.2 n/a dsl that would give me the same, well blow me down if the 4.2 GU only gives me a best of 6.7km/lt or 14.9lt/100 !
I know there is a weight difference of about 300-500kg, but even if Dad puts 500 kilo in the back of his there is no way his economy would drop to 6.7km/lt.

Now here comes the interesting bit, the 2.8 TD GU is now back to stock standard with all the stuff from the 4.2 ltr on it, right down to factory supplied 265/65 bridgestones, the only thing still on it is the motson's power-up chip. As our turbo VL crapped itself, we are using the 2.8 as a second car, well bugger me if we're not getting 8-8.5km/lt out of the thing around town!
The missus drives about 30km each way to work every second day with not many lights and about 15ks of this is 100kph on the motorway.