Nissan V8 Chev conversion,,,,,,,,,

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:06
ThreadID: 32077 Views:3226 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
G'day all,

"The Fire Engine" left this morning for Brunswick's. It'll be about 2 week wait.

In the meantime I would beg your indifference to try and answer a question about towing capacities.

As all Nissan fans would know, the towing capacity of 2.8 turbo engined vehicle is only 2800 kgs. However the towing capacity of the 4.2s and 4.8s is 3500 kkgs.

I've had a look at vehicle specs and I've asked around at Nissan dealers service desks. It seem that the 2.8 brakes are identical to the 4.2 (NB the 4.8 petrol does have bigger brakes than the 4.2s) & the chassis is the same, as is just about everthing else - EXCEPT for gearbox & diffs.

Now, the gearbox and diffs in "The Fire Engine" will all be upgraded to stronger gearboxes and diffs (plus higher ratio diffs) as part of the Brunswick Diesels deal. I think they be GQ patrol.

So my questions is - what OTHER part of a 2.8 is restricting the towing capacity of the 2.8 truck if it's not just the gearbox and diffs?

If it just the gearbox and diffs, then when they are chagned I will be seeking to get an SAE Autmotive Engineers Certificate to get the towing capacity increased to 3500 kgs.

I need this in case I find a REALLY BIG NUGGET on my next prospecting trip ;)

Bilbo (Les)

Reply By: rolande- Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:27

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:27
G'Day Bilbo,

I think myself and other 2.8 owners will be almost as excited as yourself about the conversion. Please give us ALL the details.

As for towing, I don't think there is any problem if you register the vehicle with the new engine for the towing specs to be upgraded. I would be interested to see what it does to your GVM, as the 2.8 only gives you about 600kg's from tare to gross weight.

Rolande
AnswerID: 162477

Reply By: Geoff M (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:35

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:35
Bilbo,
If you find a nugget that big you won't give a rats about the towing capacity!

Geoff.

AnswerID: 162478

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:42

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 14:42
G'day Bilbo,

If I remember correctly you were also talking about upgrades to the suspension etc. So I would be thinking that the whole question about towing capacity will be based on the Automotive Engineer. My Patrol is the 4.8 and sure I can tow 3500Kg but I need to watch the GVM and this is the trick. I remember reading a story about the F250 and its towing capacity, it was lower than in the US because it required further work (?) to be done by Ford Oz. I guess if your going the whole hog so to speak I would be seeking advice from said engineer to see what he wants (maybe Brunswick will assist in this). Seems to me that if your short on a widget in the final washup you might as well put that in while your doing all this.

AnswerID: 162479

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 16:41

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 16:41
Good advice Beatit . Ask the guy what needs to be done . Treat him like an expert and he will puff up and give you his brilliant advice .

Maybe the 2.8 was limited in engine breaking . ( ? ) I am not a mechanic , it was just a thought .

Cheers ,

Willie .

FollowupID: 417214

Reply By: Bilbo - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 15:20

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 15:20
G'day guys,

Part of the deal with Brunswick Diesel is an Engineers Certification after the conversion - it's in the price. It's also part of the insurance deal with Western QBE who are quite familiar with this converson here in Perth and accept it readily. Western QBE have been very helpful so far.

I just hope they are as helpful when (and if) it come to a payout for the stolen Landcruiser!! I'm hoping fer the best anyway. I've been with Western QBE for about 25 years and have had several vehicles at one time with 'em with very few claims. I hope goodwill and loyalty still mean something. We'll see.

Even if that 'Cruiser is returned and even though it's a better quality vehicle, I'll be selling it. The V8 in the Nissan is nearly as "grunty" as the 'Cruiser and the Nissan is a tougher truck (With the operative word being "truck").

Thanks guys,

Bilbo

AnswerID: 162492

Reply By: TroopyTracker - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 21:31

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 21:31
Les,
Went through upgrading my Landcruiser to 3.5 recently, different circumstance but maybe some help. All the engineer wanted was part numbers from my vehicle to compare against model with 3.5 tonne rating. He wanted part numbers for chassis, brake discs and calipers, axles/housings. Come to think of it he didn't ask about gearbox but these are obviously the same. As these parts are identical, he did the deed. Toyota were the total opposite of help, I HATE toyota Australia. All we wanted was a fesw part numbers and they couldn't have been more difficult.

Different engineer might want different proof. One who know's his 4WD's might give no hassles at all, maybe an inspection and talk with Brunswick might do it-they must have an engineer/s familiar with them who tust them that could help. The engineer doing the certifying for the motor/box/axles could do it at the same time, would make sense as he would be familiar with this particular vehicles circumstance's.

Can't believe how fast you've gone from considering the conversion to doing it, very jealous :-( I've been thinking about it and thinking about it for a good 12 months. Don't suppose you had much choice in you're situation. I'll be over west early next year or earlier and will almost certainly go ahead while over there, just can't justify trip just for it while current motor is sufficient (4.5 petrol).

Matt
AnswerID: 162562

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 23:54

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 23:54
Troopy,

As I said before, Brunswick have a very good reputation with several auto engineers. They do the certs for them. I reckon that if this problem is purely related to the gearbox, then it should be easy to get it recertifiied for 3500 kgs.

The gearbox that's going into "The Fire Engine" is out of a 97 Patrol. This is a pre - 2000 greabox which is the about the time that Nissan messed about with 5th gear had a reputation for stripping mainshaft - splines when under load such as towing. I used to tow around 5.5 to 6 tonnes all up in my old 1989 Ford Maverick ute in 5th gear at 100 kmh plus, without any prob whatsoever. Naughty I know, but I had to get that bobcat digging some gold! We've had the top off the proposed box for "The Fire Engine" it and it looks mint. The diffs are 3.9 ratio with the rear being an LSD. It looks better all the time.

Just on the point of diffs, it appears that although the 2.8 gearbox can be suspect, the diffs in 2.8 are just as strong as the GQ diffs. In fact they're identical in crown wheel, pinion and bearings etc. The reason that Brunswicks put in different diffs is the 2.8 Patrol diffs are such a low ratio - somewher around 4.7!! Which would have the Chevy doing about 3000 rpm at 100 kmh!

In case anyone's wondering, the cost of SECONDHAND (not recon) gearbox for a 2.8 Patrol??????????? I've had quotes from wreckers of $1700.00 !!!! God knows what a new one costs!

I've had to get on this project pretty quick 'cos we gotta get out bush again. I can't be hanging around whilst "Mr Plod" is busy booking "Grey
Nomads" for overloading caravan hitches and collecting revenue for drivers that go 5 kmh over the limit. Neither can I be hanging around waiting another 3 weeks for the insurance company. I need a truck. I'm 59 next birthday and there's only so much gold left out there!!

So -"Upwards and Onwards"

Bilbo
FollowupID: 417326

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 15:59

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 15:59
"but I had to get that bobcat digging some gold!"

A bit serious about your gold or what? How do the landowners take to your request about looking for gold with a bob cat in tow?

FollowupID: 417423

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 13:06

Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 13:06
Beatit,

Hmmmmmmm,,,,,,,,,,,the ramifiactions of the W.A. Mining Act. Bit long and involved for discussion here.

But abbreviated, the W.A. Goldfields are 99% on pastoral LEASE land, not private land. Hence, as long as I own a mining lease that sits over the top of his pastoral lease, I can dig holes anywhere I want to (subject to the environmental permssion native heritage etc,) and the cocky can't stop me. He may try to make life difficult for me, but he can't do much about it.

I had my own mining leases, a bobcat and a half share in a bulldozer back in the days when I was prospecting full time fer a living. Those days are gone now and I just "bip around" as a retirement hobby.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 417712

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 09:55

Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 09:55
Thanks Bilbo, I had a feeling that it had to be more than a hobbie (back then). Mentioned it to my wife and she said "no way" we need the camper trailer. Don't own a bob cat but she knows I've been shown more than just a passing interest in fossicking. A detector is on the drawing board (Like the Minelab 3500), anyway she was puting 2 and 2 together and figured I was also wanting/needing a bob cat.

FollowupID: 417850

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 21:40

Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 21:40
Beatit,

Unless you're willing to wade through mountains of legalsitic paperwork and months of trial and tribulation, my advise is stick with buying a GP3500. Just have some fun.

Trust me, pushing dirt is hard work.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 418027

Reply By: Member - Pud & Barb R (NSW) - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 23:17

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 23:17
Hi Bilbo, please keep updates happening. We are definately going to do it. Just have to rake some dough together. Thinking of trucking the patrol over to Brunswick. Have to work out if it's cheaper to transport or take a month off, a week to get there, 2 weeks for the job to be done then a week to get home. Downside is whilst over there won't have a 4x4, they only have ford courtesy cars.( could hire one but money money money)
Brunswick are definately the way to go as we have the auto and nobody here in the eastern states seems to have the experience that Brunswick do.
Good luck with it all. I can hear that rumbling sound already.
Barb
AnswerID: 162581

Follow Up By: revhead307 - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 01:43

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 01:43
Linquip also have a good reputation when it comes to V8 Diesel Conversions and are over east. Brunswick and them are the two main specialists in Australia.

www.linquip.com.au

Rev
FollowupID: 417335

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 23:18

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 23:18
Your missing out on some pretty nice weather out bush bit of rain has got things green and besides the hot day wednesday and bith od a thunderstorm thurs morning weather has been sensational in the low 30s, not much wind sunny skys and mild nights. Only downer is the flys have gone insane with the rain a few weeks back and mild weather
AnswerID: 162582

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 23:31

Thursday, Mar 23, 2006 at 23:31
Damn it, Dave, don't rub it in!! That sounds like damn good prospecting weather that does. We were supposed to leave on Sunday 20/3/06 for Meeka for four weeks and then down to Kookynie for another 4 weeks!!

That's the gut wrenching bit right now, I'm ALMOST resigned to not seeing the 'Cruiser again, but sitting here and not being able to get out "bippin" is driving us mad! Worse than the flies in fact!

Bilbo
FollowupID: 417325

Follow Up By: Kiwi B - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 15:49

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 15:49
Bilbo,
Finally got ADSL working again. Long story there.
Just think how big those nuggets are gunna be when you do finally get to them. Especially with such favourable growing conditions.
Glad things are progressing well for you with croozer replacement .

Bruce
FollowupID: 417420