how to reduce the FERAL Cane Toad population

Submitted: Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 07:56
ThreadID: 32100 Views:2898 Replies:13 FollowUps:20
TERRITORIANS are being offered free beer in return for live cane toads.

The RSPCA, Coopers Brewery and the Cavenagh Hotel have teamed up in the name of animal welfare and the result is that toads can be turned into beer.

In a move designed to turn seasoned Top End beer drinkers into lean, mean, toad-catching machines, the three Darwin organisations have got together to set up a toad-for-beer exchange.

Anyone over the age of 18 who captures a toad and delivers it alive to the Darwin RSPCA qualifies for a glass of icy cold Coopers beer at the Cavenagh Hotel.

``Everyone who takes a cane toad to the RSPCA to be disposed of humanely gets a voucher for a free pot of Coopers ale at the Cav,'' Coopers Brewery's NT sales executive Sean Gould said.

He said there would be a beer for each toad _ up to a limit of six a day.

``It's an idea we had from the locally-produced movie Bufo Marinators that screened at the Cav last week,'' Mr Gould said.

The film, which featured a posse of toad hunters and a simulated orgy of bufo killing, caused quite a fuss.

``We want to encourage the humane treatment of animals,'' acting chief executive of RSPCA Darwin Lindsay Wilkinson said yesterday.

``If you get a free Coopers out of it then it's a bonus.''

Cavenagh Hotel general manager Brett Simmonds said: ``It's all about the toads, not about the beer.'' But the toads must be alive.

``No coupons for squashed toads,'' Mr Wilkinson said.

He was keen to make it clear he wasn't starting a roadkill collection. ``Healthy, live, no squashed cane toads,'' he said.

And Mr Simmonds agreed, saying the deal was ``fresh toads for fresh beer''.

While the toad catchers are enjoying their cold ale, the RSPCA will be busy euthanasing the toads with sodium pentobarbitone, an overdose of barbituates administered with a few drops on the skin that kills toads immediately.

``It's the most humane way to kill an animal,'' Mr Wilkinson said.

``They just go to sleep.''

But beer fiends shouldn't get too worked up.

Mr Simmonds said there would be a six-pot maximum per person per day.

``The idea is to get people catching toads and taking them for humane disposal, not to get people too drunk,'' Mr Simmonds said.

``If you take six toads in to the RSPCA, you get six vouchers. If you take 100 toads, you get six vouchers.''

But he's worried people will get the wrong idea and deliver a bucket load of toads to his pub hoping to trade them for a few cold ones.

Mr Simmonds said no one would get a beer for taking a toad to the pub.

He said the toads must be taken to the RSPCA at 80 Boulter Rd Berrimah between 1pm and 5pm on weekdays.

Vouchers for the promotion will be valid until April 30.

extracted from here
wonder if it will work with feral cats.....

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 08:06

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 08:06
"... you can get it loading"
"You can get it Toading"
"As a matter of fact, I've got one now..."

This is so cool! Fancy that, Cane Toads becoming legal tender......

"Nah, keep the change mate, a back leg doesn't buy much these days..."

Wolfie
AnswerID: 162601

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 08:11

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 08:11
hahaha
But remember its Coopers not that Vic shi......err B
FollowupID: 417346

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 08:27

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 08:27
"I can feel a Cane Toad....coming on......"
FollowupID: 417350

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 08:33

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 08:33
Who would dare do it in Qld?
Would the XXXX brewery have to put on extra staff like they did at Christmas when they couldn't keep up the supply?
We have more cane toads and more breweries so it should work!
FollowupID: 417352

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 08:36

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 08:36
its should be Qld's responsibilty anyway
FollowupID: 417354

Follow Up By: JJ - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 19:09

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 19:09
'Oh What a feeling...'
FollowupID: 417449

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 08:40

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 08:40
One last question.

By the title, it infers there are NON FERAL cane toads?

Any one seen one lately? How do you recognise them?
Are they 4th generation canr toads?
Or cross bred with a local toad?
Can they produce their naturulisation papers?

Or do you need to look out for the aussie flag on their backs before you drive over them?
Remember driving around the back of Childers and they were so bad that it sounded like a machine gun, the constant popping on being driven over and banging as they hit the inside of the guards. Couldn't miss them either as they were all over the road, and they are slippery if you have to swerve to miss a roo.
AnswerID: 162607

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 09:06

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 09:06
no just emphasising that they are introduced and out of control pest
FollowupID: 417363

Reply By: Bros 1 - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 08:44

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 08:44
MN1,
Lets load up the ute with livies and head on over, kick back and enjoy the scenery, who cares what sort of ale it is, as long as it is ale.
I kill and i mean KILL WITH A VENGEANCE around six every night in my yard. (Dettol, metho etc)
The local crow population love them. Crows being a very smart bird, turn them over and pick out their guts, therefore avoiding the poison sac on their head.
I hope this is not another one of those Wolfie, Willem etc come ons.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 162608

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 09:08

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 09:08
no its only march....but follow the link to where i extracted it from
FollowupID: 417364

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 09:17

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 09:17
There were these two toads leaning on the bar at the Cavenagh Pub in Darwin and the one said to the other......

"Yerrrrrr..........it's Friday........................."
AnswerID: 162612

Reply By: ev700 - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 09:31

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 09:31
What about live rats and cockroaches?

I support in principle the idea free beer for those who do good deeds, but hasn't the RSPCA got better things to do with its money?

Some could also argue that the campaign furthers the booze culture and campaigns to reduce drink driving.

I think the RSPCA has lost its way on this one.
AnswerID: 162615

Follow Up By: ev700 - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 09:37

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 09:37
A few words left out above. Should have read:

"Some could also argue that the campaign furthers the booze culture and works against campaigns to reduce drink driving."

I am far from being a wowser but I think the RSPCA is continuing to bowl wides on the issue of humane deaths for cane toads. In any event, does a toad have the capacity to recognise pain or is it all reflexes?

Next they'll be after us to apply anaethesia before setting a hook in a fish. You'd have to take it to them to be 'put to sleep' too.

EV700
FollowupID: 417366

Follow Up By: ev700 - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 09:48

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 09:48
Must have been the sleepless night with the teens, I think I got sucked in on this one.

Well done. ;-)
FollowupID: 417367

Follow Up By: Geoff M (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:08

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:08
ev700

I think you'll find this costs the RSPCA SFA.
A little bit of Sodium zyx and hey presto, a bag of sleeping toads.

The beer will actually be funded by the taxation department through Coopers advertising budget.

I'd almost guarantee the vouchers will be marked, "The RSPCA sponsors the responsible service of alcohol etc."

That'd be why a maximum of six vouchers per day per customer.

At least someone is showing a bit of lateral thinking to get rid of these introduced pests and giving our native wildlife a go.

Geoff.

FollowupID: 417369

Follow Up By: Geoff M (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:09

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:09
Hey ev700,
We are playing post tag, cool.

Geoff.

FollowupID: 417370

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:19

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:19
be assured they will have messages such as "Drink Responsibly" or similar...its part of Coopers sponsorship policy
FollowupID: 417373

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:32

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:32
"works against campaigns to reduce drink driving"...
any advertising relating to alcohol would be considered to do that by certain groups....if they had their way brewries and wineries would illegal...

FollowupID: 417377

Follow Up By: ev700 - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 11:04

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 11:04
I belive that the RSPCA is using music therapy for the toads so they don't suffer shock in the waiting room (which has also been painted Kakadu Green).

I thinlk someone is having us on and it was well done too. Good one. ;-)

EV700
FollowupID: 417387

Reply By: Austravel - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:11

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:11
Damn, wish they'd do it in Qld.
AnswerID: 162618

Follow Up By: Joe King - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:39

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:39
hear hear!!!
FollowupID: 417380

Follow Up By: Joe King - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:40

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:40
We'd never be sober
FollowupID: 417381

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 11:33

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 11:33
hear hear!
FollowupID: 417392

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:32

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 10:32
Thank God its Friday, known as rabbit pie day to the sth of murrians and poets day to QLDers ,[p-ss off early tommorows saturday] , half pickled Teritorians chasing cane toads for a free beer ,could believe it if each toad was worth a Darwin stubby !!!
AnswerID: 162621

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 13:00

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 13:00
Oi MN1 !!!! You mentioned the four letter furball word again. Next time you'll be counselled :)))))
AnswerID: 162639

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 13:05

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 13:05
what 4 letter word?
FollowupID: 417402

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 13:15

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 13:15
You know c..s, That one.

I'm amazed the bleep thingy does'nt cut in or at least a direct link to some sort of proforma warning "You are in breach of the Terms of Use ...... yada yada yada ...." LOL
FollowupID: 417403

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 13:21

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 13:21
feral...nah thats got 5 letters Al... cant you read! and it starts and ends with a different letters too!
FollowupID: 417404

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 14:28

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 14:28
BEWARE

They tried that in QLD but it was a flop. It turned out they were supplying only VB, cheeky buggers they were from NSW to boot, and spiking the beer with some chemical that made the drinkers become rather metro. The lads soon realised that we were ending up with less toads and more Mexican cross dressers so decided that they’d stick with the toads. I suspect that it is the same cockroaches that ran the Qld experiment and if truth were know the objective is to create a less rugged NT image by neutering the drinking population in the NT. For image reasons I’d suggest running over these with your car (doesn’t mater either toads or cockroaches) or using the 3 iron but do not be tempted by the pied piper of NT.

kIND REGARDS
AnswerID: 162652

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 18:42

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 18:42
OH my next thing they'll be offering free servicing for Landcruisers

AnswerID: 162681

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 19:32

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 19:32
Reminds me of the story about the brewer's conference held in Japan last year.

The three head brewers from Lion-Nathan, Fosters and Coopers ended up in Qantas First Class together and got talking.

The hostie came around and asked them what they'd like the drink. The Lion-Nathan guy said Toohey's New of course - what else?. She looks at the Fosters guy and he says Fosters of course - what else? She looks at the Coopers guy and he says "well, if the others aren't drinkin' beer I'll have a Shiraz thanks."

At least these folks know how to motivate a territorian.

They're just worried that we might put the "No Ferals" sign up on the NT border like we've done on the Qld, NSW and Vic borders and want to make sure that we don't get them mixed up with the Cane Toads themselves.

Ciao for now
Andrew who likes eating feral goats ;-)
AnswerID: 162692

Reply By: Old Scalyback & denny - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 21:21

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 21:21
any good golfer will tell you a #1 wood is as quick as any to get rid of the little b's and if your a bad golfer yuo will have to use the fairway wood as well
who cares about the b's with all the damage they do
i think its the banana benders govts fault anyway they imported them
lololololololol

AnswerID: 162722

Reply By: eerfree - Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 22:34

Friday, Mar 24, 2006 at 22:34
This short movie is a classic takes time but well worth it.
www.cane-toad.com/movie.php
Hope I got that right.
eerfree
AnswerID: 162741