Driving another Chev V8,,,,,,,,,

Submitted: Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 16:19
ThreadID: 32178 Views:3181 Replies:6 FollowUps:15
Hi guys,

This Chev V8 was N/A in a 1998 Patrol that was carrying a bit more weight in it than the trayback ute that I drove down at Brunswick Diesels. It was good look at how a normal Patrol Wagon would peform. I was again impressed. Many thanks to David Barker and his wife, Margaret for giving me the opportunity.

David's Patrol has had a body lift and had mud bogger tyres on. It was carrying an LR tank, 2 spare wheels and a hi-lift jack, plus a heap of stuff in the dawer systems in the back.

That V8 is something else. The torque is unbeivelable! I took it down to 30 kmh in 5th gear and acclerated - it never bothered it one iota. It just took off back to 60kmh (and past that) as if nothing happened. So I took it down to 23 kmh and it still pulled away with very little protest and we were back at 60 kmh in no time at all. Amazing!

David is almost certain that his truck has 3.9 ratio diffs in it Apparently there's a choice of 3.7, 3.9, 4.1 and 4.3. But I can't see any problem towing my van with such a diff ratio. I've asked for 3.9s in mine as well. With a 4.3 diff in it, this truck would be dangerous I reckon and you wouldn't need first gear even for towing!

It was good to have a spin in a full weight vehicle rather than the lighter tray back ute. It doesn't seem to matter what you load you put on it, it loves work! I don't why they keep 1st gear. Seems a waste of time, I set off in second gear a couple of times and it seemed normal. The 1st gear to 2nd gear change just adds a second or two to your acceleration time. It just delays things. I won't be using first gear often. Mind you, trolling through the bush in 1st gear looking for "gold ground" would be ideal. The 'Cruiser was never really happy doing that.

The 1HDT- FE engine in the GXL Turbo 'Cruiser does nothing under 1700 rpm, after that it's a racehorse. But the V8 Chev does it from tickover. However, the Turbo Cruiser would leave the Chev after about 2500 rpm. The "Cruiser just keeps on keeping on due to the turbo. But the Chev, with it's constant suppply of torque from tickover, is more suited to 4WD work. Less gear changes and better torque down the low revs.

The truck as whole felt "solid" and less car-like than the "Cruiser. It was quieter than I expected. However, that exhaust note is gonna take some getting used to - it roars like an angry lion! Deep thoated "I'm gonna rip your head off!" type roar. The exhaust does reverberate ("booming" sound) when cruising around 70 to 80 kmh but Davids's straight through exhaust has lot to contribute to that. I'll fix that with "a more muffled muffler".

The usual diesel rattle of an indirect injection engine is also quite loud. But I reckon more underbonnet sound proofing would cure a lot of that, 'cos I reckon the bulk of the diesel noise is coming through the bonnet. That's why it goes a lot quieter when you get moving. You leave it behind you. Bit like going supersonic I suppose ;)

The economy figures that I've had from various sources indicate that the Chev V8 will be a little thirstier than the 4.2 turbo diesel "Cruiser. But I'll to see what I can do with a "lighter right foot". As I'm now retired this truck won't get used much around town as the shops are within walking distance. But it will be doing long runs to the bush and then crawling around out there. But after experiencing the 'Cruisers range, I'll be looking at extra fuel capacity from somewhere. It'll be jerry cans at first. We've spent enough money already.

I'm currently building my own drawer and fridge slide system, I'm not paying for another set of "Outback Drawers". At $2,500.00 a pop I just gotta stop misplacing 'em like this ;)

All in all, I'm really looking forward to this conversion. It should be one hell of a bush truck.

Bilbo

Reply By: rickwagupatrol - Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 16:35

Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 16:35
gday bilbo, do you have a start date for the conversion yet?
and how long do they think it will take?

rick.
AnswerID: 162972

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 18:11

Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 18:11
Rick,

It's already started mate. The "Fire Engine" wnet into Brunswick Diesels last Thursday. The old 2.8 motor is out on the workshop floor already.

Takes about 10 days I believe.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 417744

Reply By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 16:43

Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 16:43
Did some low range work yesterday in my 6.5 Cruiser, gotta say they are the duck's guts alright. The biggest advantage of the GM powerplant is the smile it puts on your face.

woompawoompawoompawoompawoompawoompa...........;-))))))

Mine was converted by Brunswick Diesels 8 years ago and is still going strong.

Looking forward to your feedback Bilbo - keep us all posted mate.
AnswerID: 162975

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 18:15

Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 18:15
V8,

Why would ya wanna use LOW RANGE? I'm having my low range taken out ;)

Nice to hear ya got 8 years out of it and still going. I saw one a cuppla weeks that had only done about 5 years and it was buggered,,,,,,,,,,,,mind you it was about 6 feet underwater and still running just before it sank!!

Bent every single con rod.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 417746

Reply By: Guedo - Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 16:54

Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 16:54
Hey Bilbo

What are you doing with your old 1HTD-FE?
AnswerID: 162976

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 18:05

Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 18:05
Guedo,

Why? Do you wanna buy it?

Bilbo
FollowupID: 417742

Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 20:02

Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 20:02
It would be a steal.

FollowupID: 417761

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 21:17

Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 21:17
Careful, Exploder,

That's nearly funny ;)

Bilbo
FollowupID: 417782

Follow Up By: Guedo - Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 00:24

Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 00:24
Bilbo

Yeah I'm interested

Guedo
FollowupID: 417799

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 07:28

Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 07:28
Guedo,

I'll put you outa your misery mate.......these blokes are having a lend of ya mate.

Poor Bilbo's 100 series got flogged by some @rsehole......you musta missed the previous threads where he told us all about it and the fact that he is (has) purchased a broken 2.8L Patrol and is gunna treat it to a powerplant transplant.

So, sorry mate, no 1HTZGHTDR (or whatever the bloody thing is) for sale ........ ;-)))

FollowupID: 417815

Follow Up By: Guedo - Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 15:03

Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 15:03
Nice, have a lend of the new bloke who doesn't know how to use this site! Don't I feel like a %&*@head.

Thanks Roachie.

Sorry Bilbo, just looking for a diesel to put in my unquenchably thirsty petrol 100 series, I'll follow your posts to see how you get on with your 6.5 and may go the same way.

Guedo
FollowupID: 417918

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 22:38

Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 22:38
Yeah, sorry Guedo. I was just trying to brighten my life up after 2 weeks of absolute misery. Unfortunately it was gonna be at your expense.

I sincerely apologise.

Roachie!! I was gonna do that!!. You're worse than my Mum at spoling my fun you are!! ;)

Bilbo

FollowupID: 418047

Reply By: TUFF IFS LUX - Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 21:28

Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 21:28
Bilbo,

I dont suppose you could ask the blokes at Brunswick Diesels if they or anyone else has ever done this conversion on a Hilux? I know it'd probably be too big too fit in it, but would there be a smaller version of this motor that us Hilux enthusiasts might be able to slot in?

TUFF_IFS_LUX
AnswerID: 163033

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 22:43

Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 22:43
Tuff,

You can email Brunswicks at:

brunswick.diesels@bigpond.com

Tell 'em I sent ya ;) Just ask about the red Nissan Patrol that's now known as the "The Fire Engine".

They have a website at:

www.brunswickdiesels.com.au

Bilbo

FollowupID: 418051

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 22:49

Sunday, Mar 26, 2006 at 22:49
Ya talkin me into it, been thinking of the 4.8 GU so you get the good tiptronic auto.. that with the 6.5 would rock!

4.8s are droppiong like brides nighties lately due to fuel costs, its awesome!

You would get great $ for a 4.8 with the comp kiddies when you sold it too.
AnswerID: 163047

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 07:12

Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 07:12
The auto in the 4.8 is the US spec model that sits behind the V8 Titan 'SUV' (urghhh - seppo speak) from memory - different from the 3.0TD and 4.5 TB45E variants.

And "roger that".....a 6.5V8 spinning a serious auto would provide a large amount of humour. The turbo model even more so as the slushbox would compliment the power delivery characteristics of the TD.

The other significant and intangible advantage is this drivetrain would sound similar to a Caterpillar 'powershift' transmission, especially when changing gears on the rev limiter so you could squint your eyes a bit and imagine you are operating a Cat D9H dozer or 16G grader and run heaps of stuff over.

The only other addition required would be an Ingersoll-Rand compressed air starter to replace the 12V deep reduction unit. Guaranteed crowd pleaser when out and about (and it would certainly impress the neighbours every morning at 5.00am too).
FollowupID: 417812

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 08:43

Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 08:43
Ya givin me a techno chubby with the air starter - I'll do it if I go the COnversion for sure :D Just for wank value!!
FollowupID: 417830

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 09:42

Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 09:42
THEY ARE WORTHLESS NOW! :D:D:D:D

Shame its a manual!

NISSAN PATROL 2003 GUIII WAGON white, 4.8 litre, 5 speed, bullbar, sidesteps, spot lights, tow bar, long range tanks, limited slip diff, alloy wheels, remote lock, immobiliser, e/windows and mirrors, radio and CD player, cr/control, dual airbags, air cond, immac condition. Priced to sell, $26500
FollowupID: 417847

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 10:19

Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 10:19
Strewth!!!! When I bought my 105 Cruiser they were still fetching around $36K. Thinking I should have waited a bit now. They go like stink, they really do those 4.8's.

A word of caution though, I was looking around the auctions and saw one that appeared to be a plum on paper and from a distance, but closer inspection revealed it was originally purchased by a group of 'traditional landowners' at Useless Loop. It had clear evidence of salt water immersion. Hmmmmmm......all that glitters is not gold.
FollowupID: 417853

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 10:35

Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 10:35
Agree 100% on all that glitters aint gold... I wouldnt go auctions or cheap car yard. I'd probably see Eric and get him to track one down.

I'd rather pay more and get more since this is a long term project.

But the more I read that ad, I expect it to be an error! Must be $36k LRT, etc...
FollowupID: 417854

Reply By: drifta - Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 18:43

Monday, Mar 27, 2006 at 18:43
Hi Bilbo
I can now confirm that my truck is using 3.9 ratio diffs. So what you drove is what you'll get. Enjoy
AnswerID: 163217