suspension upgrade

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 21:59
ThreadID: 32282 Views:1661 Replies:2 FollowUps:2
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all,
I've just recently bought a Hilux d/c (IFS) 2001 model late last year. I have taken it out for a few trips already, four shocks( Monroe magnum) and steering damper has been replaced when I purchased the vehicle (as the factory's looked worn-70K). An ABS canopy was just installed (roughly 80 -90kg), the lux has a ARB steel bull bar (a winch will be on the list next as well as a long range tank). Some one has sugested that I should get the HD Kingspring rear leaf and torsion bar. Can any one please give me their opions. I am fairly new in fourby - Many thanks.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: simple - Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 22:36

Tuesday, Mar 28, 2006 at 22:36
i would wait until you have the accesories fitted before doing the suspension unless you'r already haveing load carrying troubles. youcan't get much lift out of an IFS lux without spending big $'s. and articulation is the biggest limiting factor in the ifs lux so stiffer springs wouldn't help this.
that's my opinion, see what the pthers say.
cheers, simple
AnswerID: 163556

Follow Up By: mushroom - Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 20:03

Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 20:03
Hi simple,
thanks for the advice.
FollowupID: 418487

Reply By: TUFF IFS LUX - Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 17:17

Wednesday, Mar 29, 2006 at 17:17
g'day mushroom,