IS A 9000lb good enough for a 100 series

Submitted: Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 19:46
ThreadID: 32525 Views:2562 Replies:12 FollowUps:5
G'day All,
My question to you is would a Warn 9000lb winch be suitable for a 100 series.
I am aware that a snatch block eases the load on the winch and it also depends on the way the vehicle is bogged and so on.

All I need is a response from those of you that have one fitted to a Cruiser or Patrol and have successfully winched your vehicle out of a serious bog.

My thanks in advance and safe travels.
Brendan.....

Reply By: HJ60-2H - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 19:53

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 19:53
With 2 or 3 blocks maybe but then your cable likley wont be long enough. 15K Pound is really the best option for a loaded 100/105 in a serious bog and then with a block as well
AnswerID: 164820

Follow Up By: Brendan14 - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 20:07

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 20:07
Thanks for your reply.
What I did forget to add was my 100 series is a dual cab conversion.
Therefore I assume I have lost somewhere around 400-500kg in weight (extra roof,rear door, both rows of rear seats, floor and sides) which will be in my favour.

There is only the 2 of us and we pack light.
Maybe the dual cab setup will make stuff all difference in weight, but its got to help surely.

I have yet to run it over the scales to find the correct weight but I will.
FollowupID: 419725

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 20:00

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 20:00
If you are really getting serious you also have to think what you are going to anchor the other end to !
AnswerID: 164823

Follow Up By: Brendan14 - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 20:09

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 20:09
The wife!
FollowupID: 419726

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 17:43

Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 17:43
if that fails you can use mine
FollowupID: 419910

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 20:18

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 20:18
I've got a 9500lb and have winched my vehicle up a steep slope without a problem, wasn't bogged. Also pulled a mates 60 series which was pretty heavy, roof racks, bull bar, winch and rear drawers full out of a fairly deep bog and up over a steepish creek bed. Both were single line pulls.
AnswerID: 164828

Reply By: Member - Paul P (Bris) - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 20:21

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 20:21
Brendan

ARB suggest 1.5 times the weight of the vehicle should be the winch capacity. I would work on this being the GVM. As an example the 100 series has a permitted GVM of around 3300kg ( see Toyota Web site).

Using the ARB formula your winch needs to be able to straight pull(no snatch block) 4950kg.

Look at the layer pull capabilities of the warn winches. Assume that you are going to be at the 3rd layer when commencing your winch.

In this scenario a 12000lb Warn would be okay with a snatch block( marginal without). A 15000lb would be required for a straight pull.

If towing a camper trailer a 16.5t would be the way to go if you wanted to winch the combination.

Determine your vehicles loaded weigth then calculate the winch needed from that.

AnswerID: 164829

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 20:35

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 20:35
Brendan,

A 9,0000lb winch will be fine.The thing about having a winch is that you hope that you will never have to use it and that should be the way you think when you go out.

Having a winch and then thinking that I can go any where, cross any bog or any river just because I have a winch up front is the wrong attitude.

You should go out with the attitude that if I could not drive that river or bog before the winch went on then I an not going to drive it now. This should reduce the amount of times that the winch will have to be used.

If you go out and something goes pear shape then you have the winch as back up and not as "I can't drive this so I will winch".

Go out and practice using the winch before you have to use it in anger. Always use a snatch block and tree trunk protector and you should have a good time.

AnswerID: 164833

Reply By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 20:41

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 20:41
Got a x9 on ours at moment,pulled us out of a good mud hole easily.I will be selling this winch when we go back to Tassie and fitting my near new Warn 9000lbs to a new steel bar
AnswerID: 164834

Reply By: 100TD - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 20:49

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 20:49
Brendan,
i have a 9500 on my 100 series and winched myself single line pull several times from serious bogs with no problems but not to say it will do it every time.Has to work hard but has done it.If in the market to buy one go for a bigger one(12000 maybe)but make sure youve got battery power to back it up!Cheers Paul
AnswerID: 164837

Reply By: Crackles - Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 21:25

Tuesday, Apr 04, 2006 at 21:25
Brendan. The 9000lb rating of the winch you are looking at is really not important. For example serious 4 wheel drivers often favour the 8000lb high mount winches as in the field they are faster, pull better & have a longer cable than even a 10,000lb. A test I once read showed the best an 8000lb electric winch (brand irrelivant) could pull was only 5500lb because the limiting factor in a 4x4 winch is often the batteries, so putting a thumping big winch in your 4by without upgrading the power supply can defeat the purpose.
But back to your question will the Warn 9K pull a 100 series. In the majority of cases it will get you out of most trouble. It is not the winch I would suggest for multiple hauls up slippery slopes or for getting out of salt lakes, but for winching up a creek bank or dragging the car out of a rut it will do. The Warn 9500lb HS would IMHO be a far better choice for many other reasons than just the extra 500;-)
Although many recomend the 10 & 12K Warns for the cruisers there is a considerable weight increase which would require a spring upgrade & certainly not help the cracking on the lower control arms of the 100 series IFS.
Cheers Craig.........
HZJ105 Ramsey 9500lb electric winch.
AnswerID: 164855

Reply By: Allan R - Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 00:34

Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 00:34
Brendan

I drive a 100 series dual cab at work and had it bogged in a floodway, the warn 9000lb winch was under water, it was quite muddy on the bottom. I kept the engine going and pulled the rope in single pull out to a tree to the side in line with the front doors and pulled the 4x4 around 90 degrees. I then used two other trees to turn the 4x4 180 degrees to go back the way we came. The 4x4 only has a single standard battery, the winch was working hard, I had it in 1st low to give a hand. I gave the winch a rest in between the 3 sessions. It took a total of 30mins to recover the 4x4. It did it, I was impressed. I know some people say you shouldn't winch and drive at the same time, but if the boys at work want to sting me a carton for getting bogged I'll do it, let alone if it was my own.

AnswerID: 164901

Reply By: Richard - Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 08:36

Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 08:36
I have an X9 Superwinch on the 100TD and have used it to winch myself off another cruiser on a slope on Stockton Beach on a day the sand was the softest I have seen it. Dug the sand out from in front of the wheels before the pull. I Had to do it a couple of times on the same day. The winch did the job without any issues.
AnswerID: 164935

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 13:33

Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 13:33
absalutly not a chance. I used one to try and pull a light truck out of a very mild bog and it didnt go close. My 10,000p is not sufficient in a decent bog with an 80 series
AnswerID: 164993

Follow Up By: Member - Robert G (WA) - Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 13:49

Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 13:49
Are you serious Davoe????? I just had a warn 9500 installed on my 80 series and this was what my ARB man recomended. They've always been great to deal with and their advicxe has bee spot on before. I hope I won't be doing lots of winching but I am gonna be pretty pi$$ed if I get bogged and the winch won't get me out.

Rob G
FollowupID: 419870

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 18:52

Thursday, Apr 06, 2006 at 18:52
deadly series. The lower powered winches seem to work ok with utes but with my 80 series they have a really flat belly and once you sit on that ...........
The first bog I ended up using the hi lift anfd the second bog I ended up walking and that is with a 10,000p
FollowupID: 420201

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 17:30

Wednesday, Apr 05, 2006 at 17:30
I'd say 90% of my club that run winches run 9000's without issue on GQs some that weigh as much as roachies.

I have a 10,000 that has no issues - I only got 10k due to the price and what was in trading post at the time.
AnswerID: 165035