Rodeo 3.2 Lt engine.

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 08, 2006 at 23:20
ThreadID: 32694 Views:12355 Replies:5 FollowUps:1
Could anyone give advise on the 3.2 Lt petrol engine that is fitted to the Holden Rodeo,What are they like on LPG,are they a reliabale engine,does running this engine on LPG shorted the engine life span.
I am considering a 4x4 Rodeo D/Cab as a vehicle choice but not to sure about the 3.2 on gas,plenty of grunt though.
Any advice received with thanks.
Peter.

Reply By: Leroy - Sunday, Apr 09, 2006 at 07:54

Sunday, Apr 09, 2006 at 07:54
I was told by my mech that services RACV gas powered Rodeos that if I wan't to buy a Rodeo and put it on gas......don't. He said I'll havethe heads off at 40k.

Leroy
AnswerID: 165898

Reply By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Sunday, Apr 09, 2006 at 11:31

Sunday, Apr 09, 2006 at 11:31
I have 2 customers with vapour gas injection on their 3.5 Rodeo's and they are great.
As for the 3.2 I can't see any probs.
The 3.2 do have head problems in the form of cams siezing. The oil pick up screen is too small and blocks up very easily so an impeccable service history is an absolute necessity.
We have one customer with 260 000 km on his 3.2 and it has never missed a beat. Fuel consumption can be an issue if you are heavy with the right foot but he has never complained as he drives sedately.
The early ones apparently can crack chassis as well as the later ones.
A member on this forum has had this happen and may add something when he sees these posts.
120scruiser
AnswerID: 165930

Reply By: signman - Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 09:31

Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 09:31
We have a 2000 TF V6 3.2 dual cab Rodeo with 190000k- and touch wood- no probs. (Although the clutch is starting to get a bit lazy). I understand the models before/ and the new series have chassis rail issues, although the circumstances are unknown.
The Rodeo is NOT a rock hopping/ stump jumping extreme vehicle- but is a safe, comfortable, reliable and economical off road touring vehicle, with a few minor modifications.
We average mid to hi 13 l/100km around town- blowing out to 18s in 4WD grinding over sand dunes and the like.
Done a few good trips incl. Simpson, Beadell Roads, SA Ranges & Deserts, and just back from challenging tracks in Tassie. As far as fuel goes, we do have a long range tank- Ithink the standard is about 68 litres...
AnswerID: 166111

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 13:35

Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 13:35
Just wondering how it goes on gas?

Leroy
FollowupID: 421078

Reply By: AndrewW - Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 12:21

Monday, Apr 10, 2006 at 12:21
FIL is a courier.

He had two 3.2 Rodeos.

Both had the heads off under 40,000km, for the valves, both under warranty.

The first one had burnt a valve by 200,000km, and he sold it. To buy the second one.

The second one burn some valves at 300,000km, which he fixed, and then sold the vehicle after 500,000km. Not too bad really, nothing else was replaced, except the brakes.

He drives a Rodeo diesel now though.

AnswerID: 166140

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 01:14

Tuesday, Apr 11, 2006 at 01:14
well, plenty were fitted with the holden lpg kit without any dramas, as long as you keep it tuned properly, like any gas car.

working at holden i never saw any come back with valve dramas while i was there, go for the direct injection kit and you wont have any power drop or inlet restriction.

they are a very underrated ute, japanese built (not thailand like the others), once you have worked one hard, its very hard to go back to anything else.

i reccommended one to a mate at work and he got a 2wd 3.2v6 manual on gas, dual cab etc. He cant stop raving about it, he cant believe how hard it goes and how easily it tows his boat etc. It bleep es allover the new 4.0v6 courier we have as a work hack, what a bucket that is - but i'll save that for another post.
AnswerID: 166336