Has everyone gone camping?

Submitted: Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 00:26
ThreadID: 32906 Views:2213 Replies:17 FollowUps:31
Not many posts for a Friday is there? Well it's actually Saturday now. So who's stayin' home for Easter and why? It's a great opportunity for many but obviously not for some!
I can think of a few reasons for not hittin' the wallaby at Easter:
1) work. I fall into this category; good ol' hospitality industry - nights, weekends and holidays
2) same reason as Xmas; too many people everywhere! (If I didn't work I would fall into this category)
3) lack of funds. (Yes, I fall into this category as well!)
The upside of working at these times is; the pay rate (but that may change due to the foresight and visionary quality of John Howard), and when it is time to travel everyone else is at work.
So why are you all still here?

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 00:50

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 00:50
Bware,

Much the same reasons as yourself. Generally hold off until it suits both of us although I do sneak away for the odd 'feral reducing' holiday :)))

AnswerID: 167085

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 01:09

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 01:09
Good evening Gramps, I knew I could count on you for a response at this 'ungodly' hour (ooh, that's probably a bit politically incorrect given the nature of the long weekend ;)) (one of those smiles is actually the end of my parenthesis(spelling?)). Oh man , this is turning into a punctuation nightmare!
I hope you don't hurt any pwitty bunny wabbits or puddy cats! LOL!
FollowupID: 422094

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 01:17

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 01:17
Hahahahaha good morning Bware. Looks like most of our usual late night companions have headed bush or got up to no good yesterday.

As for bunnies and cats, ask me no questions I'll tell you no lies :)))))

FollowupID: 422096

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 01:54

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 01:54
So you're like BP 'the silent achiever'(remember that ad?).
Hmmmmm, I'm big on the cane toads personally; I've been on the Nth coast for nearly 7 years and I can't believe how prolific they are. Driving home from work they give me the constant opportunity to check my steering free-play, shocks and springs. When I arive home the outside light always attracts a few and depending on my mood I may pick them up in a plastic bag and freeze them or reach for the axe (depends on what sort of a night I've had at work. In hindsight, better the cane toads than the kids LOL).
FollowupID: 422099

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:53

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:53
The toads have'nt quite gotten this far south yet although I saw something on TV the other day where they predict they'll reach Melbourne by 2020. Don't know why they'd want to go there though :)))))))))))))

Understand they have an annual Toad Roundup up your way at Yamba too.
FollowupID: 422164

Reply By: Exploder - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 00:56

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 00:56
I am stuck in the city till 11:00am Sunday :(, then I am hitting the dirt for 1 or 2 nights up around Paynes Find, hopefully this is the back up plan.

Originally we were meant to be leaving Thursday night for the Kennedy ranges and back Tuesday morning. But that fell to pieces, also it’s a bit wet up that way apparently.
AnswerID: 167086

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 01:25

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 01:25
G'day Exploder, I didn't know where the hell you were talking about so I used the place search on this site and found Kennedy Range NP. The description was 'a great area for camping with toilets'. Personally, I like camping with toilets. Not taking the pi$$ out of your destination, just the way it was worded.
FollowupID: 422097

Follow Up By: Exploder - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 11:42

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 11:42
There are toilets there; well you learn something every day.

When we go away, when possible we generally camp outside of the designated camping zones, just drive down a track till we find a place that we like, or stay outside of the NP or camp out on a station, as it gives you a bit more freedom with what you can and can’t do, and you don’t have to worry about annoying anyone or being annoyed.

FollowupID: 422140

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 04:24

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 04:24
I'll have a crack at the latest response for what could loosely be called Friday night.

I'm at work on night shift 1700-0700 for Friday and Saturday nights. No trips for me.

Though I do dislike the places I like to go when it's busier than Bourke St, so I'm not fussed.

No penalty rates in here on the holidays.

Next weekend you might find me disappearing somewhere though....

AnswerID: 167088

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 11:49

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 11:49
I have the outlaws in town for a few weeks so I'll probably head off with my 4yo son for a few days after Easter. I'll probably do the right thing and invite his grandpa along though.
FollowupID: 422143

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 07:18

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 07:18
I am

A. Entertaining EO Forum visitors from WA(Nissan 3 lt auto with Bushtracker in
tow)
B. Working part time at the Art Exhibition
C. Packing and repacking the truck and trailer for take off on Saturday 22nd for
Central Australia. Will be gone 3 weeksa to a month.....BLISS!!!

AnswerID: 167091

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 08:11

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 08:11
Willem,

It seems like you've only just got over fixing up the old girl after your last big trip. Some people must have all the luck hey?
Safe and happy trails for this trip, will talk when you get back no doubt.

Regards Trevor.
FollowupID: 422121

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 08:20

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 08:20
Hi Bro, good to see the Sand Gropers have got off the island to the south. Hope they are well and please remember them to us.

Happy Easter to you and Judith too though Bro.

We actually have friends here from Melbourne who are EO forum members too. There were to have been others but with a daughter sick they couldn't make it. Better not to have camped last night actually as we had the best rain in a while as we socialised last night. Just as well they are inside. They are acquainted with Snowy too Bro. We will fit up a 50mm lift for Moses front end today.
FollowupID: 422124

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 08:34

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 08:34
Trevor

Yes, constant work on vehicles which go bush a lot. I think the truck is run in now with 310,000 on the clock. I have checked most things. This coming trip will have a fair bit of off track driving. I forsee less treks in the future as the fuel price will curtail the enthusiasm to travel long distances. Last hurrah for WA this year(making a hole in capital investments...lol) and will have covered most of the state by then. Tasmania towards the end of 2007 and then we shall see where we go from there on, having done most major treks in Oz.

Hey Bro,

Hahahaha...It always rains at your place...lol You have me puzzled about the visitors and Snowy. It has been a busy week with visitors and it is good to have them drop by. Looks like Moses is becoming as Mega Truck...:-). Regards to all.

FollowupID: 422125

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 11:48

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 11:48
Willem,

I'm catching you fast, 260K on mine now and it won't be long till I'm in the 300 club also. As you said, just run in now.

Trevor.
FollowupID: 422142

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:01

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:01
Happy travels, Willem
FollowupID: 422147

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:12

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:12
Bro, I was thinking they had called at your place after crossing the Simpson last year, but of course we caught up with them on the Strzeleki on our way to the National. They perhaps hadn't met Snowy, I had assumed, making an ASS oUt of ME.
FollowupID: 422152

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:17

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:17
Just re-read the earlier post and see I got the phraseology ar$e about. Please remember us to them.

Moses now has his Ironman front end if you hadn't worked out the visitors.
FollowupID: 422159

Reply By: Member - Loco Locums - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 07:37

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 07:37
Bware....we, like you are in the hospitality industry as well and are currently in Rockhampton minding a motel until Sunday week. After that Julie has a week with her parents in Hervey Bay and then.........

We're off to Central OZ for 2.....WHOLE..... MONTHS YIP YAH May and June can't wait.

9 DAZE to go.

Rick & Julie
AnswerID: 167096

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 11:53

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 11:53
Jealous....
FollowupID: 422144

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 08:15

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 08:15
Someone has to keep you entertained. I am self employed, with all the mugs on the road this time of year I would prefer to be off the road for my own safety. I will take some time off when it's not so busy on the road and we can actually enjoy getting to our destination of choice.

Happy Easter
Trevor.
AnswerID: 167097

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:04

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:04
Agree with the road situation; I need to access the highway to get to work so I can't avoid the 'mugs'.
FollowupID: 422149

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:13

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:13
Bware,

I had to go out Thursday (down the gold coast) for work as well and I saw 2 accidents happen right in front of us and another 2 had occurred 10mins before we arrived. I thought that was someone's way of telling me to keep off the road.

Cheers Trevor.
FollowupID: 422154

Reply By: Beast of Bodmin - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 08:22

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 08:22
Very sad to be at home!

Been replacing cyl head on 80 and got dicked about. My planned 2wk running in period turned into under a week, so chose not to go on a club trip to SA beach driving - lost motivation after that became apparent, so will finish off the engine today.

Bought a beach fishing rod on Thurs, hope to get to Kilcunda or similar on Mon (if the bloody rain ever stops)

Maybe a local trip over Anzac might be possible

Happy Holidays
BoB
AnswerID: 167099

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:09

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:09
Ah yes, another reason for not going away; vehicle issues! Sorry to hear about the cancelled trip, better luck with the fishing :)
FollowupID: 422151

Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 08:46

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 08:46
We are inbetween trips (gotta save up petrol money).
Had 4 days at Lake Awoonga near Gladstone, 2 weeks ago.
Absolutely brilliant for Barra - 30lb line + 60 lb trace.
Caught ours off the bank, after the ski and power boats finished the week-end of racing. (We were just unlucky to have picked the same weekend as the racing).
Next one planned - Coongie lakes in June .
Don't mind having to sit easter out.
AnswerID: 167100

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:14

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:14
'inbetween trips', well la-di-da! That's rubbing it in;)
Actually, we are all inbetween trips; some just alot more inbetween.....
FollowupID: 422156

Reply By: Ray Bates - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 08:47

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 08:47
I'm retired so I am on one long weekend. I never go away during public holidays or school holidays. I leave those times for the workers and those with kids and when I am ready I go off in kid free times. Much more peacefull and far less commecialised
AnswerID: 167101

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:15

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:15
Another one rubbing it in, 'one long weekend' ;) Half your luck Ray.
FollowupID: 422158

Reply By: Jimbo - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 08:51

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 08:51
We have too many good functions at Easter to go away. Yesterday a great turn at my cousin's and tomorrow at my brother's. I need today to recover for Sunday.

Besides, the weather in Melbourne is Scheissenhausen this weekend. Hope it picks up by next weekend. We're going bush then.
AnswerID: 167103

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 11:46

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 11:46
"Besides, the weather in Melbourne is Scheissenhausen this weekend"

WHEN ISN'T IT LOL.

Happy Easter Jimbo
Regards TRevor.
FollowupID: 422141

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 11:58

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 11:58
ROFLMAO

I really led with my chin there.
FollowupID: 422145

Reply By: cruiser - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 11:33

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 11:33
We were supposed to be away, but the cook broke her ankle so we cant go anywhere for next 6 weeks.

Bummer

Have a nice one everyone.
AnswerID: 167118

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 11:48

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 11:48
Hello Folks,

Staying at home to relax, do some vehicle maintenance and plan the next few weeks activities. All the troops, bar one, have gone to Longreach, and we are now flooded in. Well, for next 24 hours, anyway.

If our anticipated visitors don't turn up on Monday, Wife & I are going to the Isa, to pick up a new tojo turbo work ute. Ahh, the aroma of new vehicles!

Yellowbelly for tea last night, best I've eaten in years.

Happy Easter, all.

Hooroo...

AnswerID: 167120

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:09

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:09
Bob,

AHHH stop it, don't worry about the aroma of new vehicles, I've got the aroma of a fat yellowbelly haunting me now. Give up your secret little spot to catch this beautiful eating fish.
Mad as it is now, I'm sure your area could have done with the rain.

Regards for a happy Easter
Trevor.
FollowupID: 422150

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 19:00

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 19:00
Trevor,

It's a case of "Stolen fruits are sweeter". Followed the neighbours up the road to some creek crossings, to assist them if necessary, and one channel far too high to cross. Invited them to stay at home last night, to save the extra 50km back to their place. Bloke produces a couple of frozen packs of yellowbelly, he'd been taking into Winton, for the other fellar that had caught them. "He won't miss a couple of fillets"

Followed afore mentioned neighbours up to same set of creeks this AM, water even higher. They headed home, depressed, as they were going to centenary of St Patricks School, in Winton.

Think they were going to attempt a journey through their place, with 2 vehicles. hope they made it.

Happy with the little amount of rain we did, get, Trevor. Good falls in Winton, Longreach, Stonehenge and Muttaburra areas, which is pleasing.

FollowupID: 422204

Follow Up By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 21:02

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 21:02
Hey Bob, we had yellowbelly (Diamantina barra) last night as well - it was yummy. Really busy here.
Member Paul (Gold Coast) has been here and this weekend Member - Reiner is here - so are lots of others. RFDS has been here today as well.
Good dust storm came in at 8:00 p.m. last night and left about 2:00 p.m. today - that was fun for all the visitors from Poland. Cool change in tonight - see Bedourie topped the state with 36 - we only made 30.
Imagine you being flooded in - thought everyone would have gone to Boulia (not Longreach) for Rodeo.
Lot of breakfasts to do so off to nigh' nigh' land.
FollowupID: 422228

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Apr 16, 2006 at 07:44

Sunday, Apr 16, 2006 at 07:44
Hello Ruth,

Wouldn't mind some bacon 'n eggs, if it's not too late?? And a black coffee, no sugar.

River was up at Elderslie, over the road, so troops went to Longreach. Our bridges have been out here for over a week. The Mayne, and McBrides Creek have flooded well, so will make your river a little better.

Sounds like you're busy, so much for high fuel prices!!! Good to see. Road's quiet here, rain in Winton would have turned any likely campers away from the Lakes.

The main flood should reach here tonight, can't see anything from house this am.

Well, the bacon 'n eggs haven't turned up, I'd better go have some cereal!

Hooroo...

FollowupID: 422266

Reply By: Jo and Mark - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:58

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 12:58
We were going to head off, try and find somewhere remote though to avoid all the noisy campers.....but I just left it all too late. So home it is, we are going to the coast this arvo to pick up a UHF, so if that counts as heading out because we will be on the freeway.. then that is our easter travels.
AnswerID: 167125

Reply By: briggzee (WA) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 17:55

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 17:55
Also self employed in recreation area catering for the hourds of people heading "south"for Easter. Dont mind really as there is only 30 more sleeps to our 4 month trip thru and across the the top of oz. Yahoo, cant wait! Have picked up loads of info from this forum, so thanks everybody.
Craig.
AnswerID: 167144

Reply By: Member No 1- Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 17:57

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 17:57
same reason swmbo closes her eyes while we make whoopie
hates seeing me having fun
AnswerID: 167145

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 18:33

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 18:33
You still make whoopie at your age?.....LOLOL
FollowupID: 422195

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 18:59

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 18:59
yes ...cos i Still Can!
FollowupID: 422203

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 20:52

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 20:52
Great stuff that Viagara.

So I've heard LOL.
FollowupID: 422224

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Apr 16, 2006 at 20:47

Sunday, Apr 16, 2006 at 20:47
what does it taste like Jimbo
FollowupID: 422380

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 20:54

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 20:54
We went camping :)

didnt stop bleep in pissin down from the time we left home yesterday, gave up, came home... didnt stop raining until the time we got home today...
AnswerID: 167166

Follow Up By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Sunday, Apr 16, 2006 at 17:51

Sunday, Apr 16, 2006 at 17:51
You left to early Bruce :) We had excellent evening and great day all day today with sun shining.....
FollowupID: 422350

Reply By: Laura B - Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 21:11

Saturday, Apr 15, 2006 at 21:11
we hibernate for the weekend...in fact.... the entire school holidays!! Im serious !! I did a big shop last week s that i didnt have to go into town for 2 weeks!! and i only live 7km away from the retched(spelling???) place!!! Its bad enough we have the ski park a few km behind us and we hear the boats first thing in the morning!!

oh i wish for our little slanty shanty!! ( we did live on 150acre but the slanty shanty was full of mould and did not get one ray of light due to the 50m + pine trees that surrounded us!!)

hope you eventually got ome sleep the other night!!

Laura B
AnswerID: 167171