off-road scootering!

Submitted: Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 12:24
ThreadID: 33035 Views:1713 Replies:4 FollowUps:1
Hello all you off-roaders...hmmmmmm, well, I guess with the rising price of fuel (which, I'm told is only the start!), perhaps we will all have to get our "explorer" kicks with beefed-up, knobbly - tyred scooters! Not the same, tho, is it?...how macho can you get on a Vespa all-terrain? Still, I guess manufacturers will have a ball developing the tow-along campers!! Then, how many mean, off-road assesories can you purchase for a Vespa?....then there is always the all-terrain models to look at ( pastural thingies)..food for thought....hahahaahha
Bronco

Reply By: Capt. Wrongway - Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 12:51

Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 12:51
G'Day,
You may not be far off the mark! On a similar subject .. beefed up bikes..
pushbikes. On Easter Friday, I had the Prado packed up, with the trailer and two quads behind and was heading for the freeway, when I noticed some bloke
( adult ) on a motorised "chopper style" pushbike. No helmit, no shoes, no shirt, and no brains. He was sitting right up my date at about 50k. I excellerated to 70k before I started to pull away from him. Talk about an accident waiting to happen.
And the comment from my 13yo son .... "I want one of those Dad!"
Bazza.
AnswerID: 167783

Reply By: Member - John R (NSW) - Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 13:37

Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 13:37
Ray I've got a trailer I pull behind my road bike. Weighs <60kg empty. It can carry all our camping gear/food/grog for a few days away easily.

It's shod with road tyres, but wouldn't take much to change over :-))

I get 15-18 km/l on an 1100 road bike, even when towing. AND NO FITCH FITTED :-)

I reckon I could do even better towing it behind a 600 chook chaser..........
AnswerID: 167790

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 14:40

Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 14:40
ahhhhhh I love the smell of a warm Lambretta

AnswerID: 167803

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 17:31

Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 17:31
You could always start with roofscooter2's idea and go bush in an X90.
Maybe it won't be long and he will be driving the biggest beast offroad LOL.
THAT WILL BE FUNNY.

Cheers Trevor.
AnswerID: 167844

Follow Up By: roofscooter2 - Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 18:49

Wednesday, Apr 19, 2006 at 18:49
Don't you wind me up now!!!!!!!!. Lololololol.
FollowupID: 423102