Petrol & Kero don't mix????

Submitted: Monday, May 01, 2006 at 21:49
ThreadID: 33434 Views:3651 Replies:9 FollowUps:7
This Thread has been Archived
Hi all, just bought a Flo & Go syphon pump from Repco. The're on sale at the moment for $20 instead of $50 and the little one is only $10. Anyway in the blurb it says that the pump cannot be used for petrol and then kero or visa-versa and that separate pumps must be used. So, why can't petrol and kero be mixed? A LITTLE bit of petrol in your diesel won't hurt or visa-versa so what's the go with kero?
Cheers Stuart.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 01:26

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 01:26
I remember my old man telling me to stay away from kero unless it was to burn it.

When he worked in the Midland rail yards, in the late 40's, they used it as a cutting agent when drilling or sawing. He told me to never use it to wash bearings or internal engine parts.

When I worked in a factory operating rollformers (making corrigated iron and perlins) we used it as a lubricant when rolling galv between the rollers.

But why the two do not mix is a mystery to me, they come from the same base product. I'd say it would be the additives, maybe?

Someone with petrochemical knowledge will speak up shortly, I'm sure.

AnswerID: 170153

Reply By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 11:39

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 11:39
Used to drive an old International tractor that you'd start on petrol (hand crank too - no starter motor) and when it was running you'd switch it over to the main tank and run it on straight kero. That seemed to work fine.
AnswerID: 170206

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 15:21

Tuesday, May 02, 2006 at 15:21
damn you, you have just brought back some very bad childhood memories, having to use the old inter, an A7 i think it was. yep start her on petrol, once warm switch it over to kero.